We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle
1 review
“Gorgeous, start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous, with its beach setting and luxurious palm trees and pool. Service was outstanding, complimentary breakfast was first-rate, room appointments/furnishings were in excellent condition. Mgmt and staff do an excellent job keeping this property in tip-top condition.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    427
    136
    52
    34
See reviews for
444
519
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The rooms are well kept, the staff very helpful. The location in the Florida Keys is a great up point to the north keys and also the keys to the south. It keeps to a easy day trip into Key West. I will look to using this Hampton Inn the following times I am working in the middle keys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is my absolute favorite Islamorada hotel, been going here for years and its always kept nice...with recent renovations even nicer! Great restaurant and tiki bar (Outback) by the pool, always clean and staff are very friendly. There is a lot to do in this area and for the money this is the nicest hotel on this key. Rent a paddleboard or jet ski too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stauggirldrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Islamorada for one night and it was a fantastic hotel. The rooms were great as well as the view of the ocean. They had a very nice pool and also a shallow swimming area in the ocean. There were several hammocks between palm trees to lay in as well as plenty of beach recliners to lay in in front of the sea. There is also a kayak/jetski rental business right beside it. However, the Jetski rentals are a "tour" rather than just taking it by yourself to have fun. The hotel was great and we're going to stay there again when we return, for sure a longer stay next time..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our Stay was above expectations. Will definitely stay again. Everything was Great. Beautiful Ocean View. Will use more of the amenities on our next trip !!! Loved the boat trailer parking, and Outback right next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived pretty much just as Hurricane or TS Issac was beginning to bear down on Islamorada, about 7.30pm. We were down in both August and November so not totally sure which month it was. We booked the hotel for one night with our two kiddies as we were moving into a house the next morning.

Our room was not ready yet but understandable as when that type of weather happens it's all hands on deck to prepare a property safely for an impending storm. We just grabbed a cup of coffee at reception and 10 mins later she upgraded us to a two room suite. I suspect because they wanted all guests off the ground floor in case of any flooding etc.

It was a very welcome upgrade and the receptionist was so nice, professional and accommodating. She apologized that they had to close the restaurants & the pool, again not her fault just mother nature. There was tea, coffee and fruit available at reception throughout the night and we just ran up the road to the local supermarket to grab something to sustain us until the morning.

The suite was lovely, bathroom was impeccable & well equipped with all the essentials, the bedrooms were spotless also and were very comfortable. The kitchen area could probably do with a bit of an update but all in all I thought it was great value. We had good fun with kids telling spooky stories as we distracted them from the thunder and lightening that rolled on all night.

We had a nice breakfast the next morning. The staff were really pleasant and gave individual attention even though they were really busy cleaning up the outside from the storm.

Even though the restaurants were closed this particular time, we've eaten there many times and also get take-out from there as we hit Islamorada about 4 times a year. We've never had a bad experience with the Prime Rib! Love it and their salads are great - fresh as fresh can be.

Because of the time we usually get into Miami, we normally just book a motel in Florida City to lay our head before heading to the Keys early the following day to a vacation rental. This was our third time skipping the standard cheap overnight places in not so nice Florida City and just coming straight to the Keys stopping off at the Hampton Inn. It's super convenient for us for an overnight stay and considering everything is more expensive in the Keys I thought it was excellent value for money.

I wish I could remember the name of the receptionist - my fault but she was great and I don't think it was just random as all the staff we encountered were friendly, professional and hands on.

Thanks we'll see you again next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGirlNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxahatchee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay, relax and get rested up for another day in the sun! The Tiki bar poolside is a very good way to unwind from a hat day fishing, shopping or working! The food at the restaurant is delicious too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tedd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,596 reviews
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.3 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovations recently completed at this oceanfront resort in picturesque Islamorada. Amara Cay is the perfect setting for our guests to unwind, connect with the sea, and make lasting memories. The story of Amara Cay is compelling and distinct. Our guests are inspired by the authentic experiences we provide. Each member of our diverse staff is a local expert empowered to provide amazing and unexpected service. We emotionally connect with our guests by crafting a story that is compelling and extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing