We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Reasonable, Great Location”
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, Reasonable, Great Location”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have been to the Keys several times and have stayed at a several different locations. The Hampton was clean, the staff was friendly, and the view from the room was nice. This location around MM 80 is perfect in Islamorada! It is close enough to all the local spots for good food, great fishing, kick back and enjoy the plam trees and ocean breeze!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLaidBackTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    446
    146
    57
    42
See reviews for
479
553
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My family & I stayed here in April. We reserved the Ocean front room suite on the upper floor.
View was spectacular.
The room was a bit odd though. The main room and the bedroom were extremely large but seemed like it could have used more furniture.
We had room for a "large open dance floor" in the living room.
Also, looks like the room could have used a little "pick me up" especially the bathroom tub.
Although overall the room was clean and the beddings were nice.
Having the Outback steakhouse next door was also a plus.
(For those people that are looking for a nice beach. Yes, this is a beach front hotels, but the Keys are not known for their beaches, so you may be disappointed. The beach front is a large concrete boardwalk covered with sand.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just back from spending a glorious week here. The room was a little tired but otherwise we couldn't fault the place. The staff are amazing, went out of their way to accommodate us and our various requests; they even made our Son "Guest of the Day"!
All rooms extremely clean and tidy, like I said - no complaints - couldn't ask for more.
Great location to visit all of the Keys.
Hope to return sometime!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaT654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Perfect location. it has a corona grade beach with palm trees, hammocks, pool and tiki bar. Nice rooms and great service. This is a great family location. There is a good dive, snorkel, jet ski and sailboat rental spot right in the parking lot. fishing charters are availible right on the dock. Bud and Marys docks are about 100 yards away.

Room Tip: I liked the view in all directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were on the ground floor, had a patio area, and were close to the pool, the lobby for the included hot and cold continental breakfast, and just steps from the beach. There is an Outback Steakhouse on site, as well as an outdoor covered thatched gazebo bar. The pool was kept at a comfortable temperature for March 30 - April 2. There was also a hot tub under a covered thatched gazebo. The beach has hammock and chaise chairs. There is a pier that can be used for fishing in the Atlantic. A couple of manatee's visited my friend while she was wading in the water. : -) You can also rent scuba gear, kayaks, and some other items on-site.

We had a 2 bedroom suite. It has one in-suite bathroom and one that is not in-suite. Oddly, the bedroom with the in-suite bathroom was the smaller bedroom and bathroom, and contained no windows. I think that was my only complaint - no windows in our room. There is a kitchenette with a full size fridge, micro, stove and breakfast bar. There is a big living room, with a couch that makes a sleeper.
We were pleased with the room and the accommodations.

I would, however, suggest a rental car to get around if you are not driving there. There are not many cabs, and only a couple of cab companies. We would have to wait anywhere from 15 - 45 minutes to get a cab. If you just wanted to run to the grocery store for a couple of items, that was frustrating, time-consuming, and costly. They charge a pick-up rate, a per person rate, and a fare. It is island time, and one female driver didn't even wear shoes. Most drivers do not offer to help load and un-load your luggage or shopping bags for that matter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyInFrswd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Used this Hampton as my base on a dive trip. Great location, close to good restaurants and the Florida Keys Dive Center. Nice beach with palms, hammocks and lots of chairs. Outback with outside Tiki bar onsite. Staff is friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the ocean to cut down on road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our first (of two) Hampton Suite Hotels in the Florida Keys.

At the end of the Easter weekend the hotel was busy with many families staying as a base for the beach and water attractions nearby.

It is a basic hotel with a pleasant beachfront to the Atlantic side of the Keys. The Outback Restaurant on site offers good, large portion meals which are averagely priced and the free breakfast in the hotel is very adequate and, naturally, very American in content and style.

Accommodation was in a standard room of very generous size, two comfortable double beds, settee, and with a partial sea view and narrow balcony.

Moderate speed Internet access is free within each room, but has to be (easily) renewed each day. There are two free access computers and printers in the lobby for airport check-in, booking trips etc.

The hotel was clean and tidy but looking a little tired and dated in parts. The grounds are lushly planted and well maintained with ample, easy parking. There is a swimming pool, watersports franchise and bar on site.

Luggage trolleys are available for self use, a safe is provided in each room.

The location within Islamorada puts most local facilities within easy reach by car. It is about a two hour drive to Key West and a similar drive time to Miami Airport.

In summary a very adequate, basic hotel, well suited for families and tourists.

Room Tip: Lower odd numbers (201, 203, 205 etc) on each floor are very near the noisy (and food smelly) air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,409 reviews
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
699 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,811 reviews
5.0 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Cay Resort is anchored in the laid-back style and carefree atmosphere that makes Islamorada the Sport Fishing Capital of the World. Reflecting the easy tranquility of the Upper Keys, Amara Cay Resort seamlessly blends recreation with relaxation. Hammocks dot the sandy shoreline, palm trees sway in the breeze and a shimmering oceanfront pool beckons early risers. It's no wonder Amara Cay was named the winner of the 2015 Sandi Design award for Design Excellence Hospitality by the International Interior Design Association, which recognized our expert balance of relaxed atmosphere and luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing