We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in the ocean view room. Very spacious and clean although just some small signs of wear and tear. Was ordering in dinner from the attached Outback Steakhouse but had problems with the phone. Suddenly a knock at the door and the manager of the steakhouse and one of the servers asked if they could take our order. That done and a second knock which was the hotel service guy (this was at least 7pm) who had come to fix the phone. Check out and in staff were also friendly and efficient. Great service!

Breakfast was ok..hot food was hot and tasty but limited (omelette and biscuits and gravy and do it yourself waffles) and good range of continental items. Clean up was a little tardy and we had to throw out the last person's breakfast dishes before we could have ours. Also the hot water dispenser disappeared just before we were going to get some boiling water to take with us for coffee.

Didn't use the pool area but it looked nice and the views were spectacular. Kitchenette was adequate and there was a full sized fridge.

In summary, a nice hotel in a great location. (Mainly) awesome staff. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ocean front. The higher floors may be affected by the palm trees but may also have more views. Giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueswarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    439
    143
    54
    35
See reviews for
464
545
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here Christmas week when prices down in Key West were three times the price. Very accomadating with free breakfast and a nice pool area. Sits right on the ocean and is a beautiful spot. Easy drive on to Key West to sightsee. Restaurants nearby. Enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat16648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We felt at home there. Six family members vacationed together and every one of us enjoyed our stay. The beds and bedding are clean and comfortable. It is small enough to feel cozy but big enough to provide all the amenities needed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boisestategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location for the entire family to enjoy everything the Key's has to offer. The hotel service was outstanding from the front office at check-in, to the grounds keeper making sure everyone had a chair on the beach. I would recommend for all families and hotel even has a Tiki Bar at the pool!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We decided to try here because of the generally good recommendations, and we were not disappointed. The one-bedroom suite was roomy for our family of 4, and the fridge very welcome. The bathroom could use some simple repairs, like a mirror replacement and toilet seat tightening. The complimentary breakfast was ample. The pool area was not very large, but it was nice. (the bar is at the pool/beachside--but I found my mixed drinks extremely weak. Thankfully, there was a happy hour discount). The "beach" offers another lounging alternative--but there is no sand castle-making here for the kids as the sand is only about 1" thick. Still, the setting is pretty. The staff was very nice and the facility clean. We would come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Clean large suites with 2bathrooms And kitchenette located on the wAter beach was average size for the keys and very clean boats available for rent next door. Service was great. Tiki bar and Outback Steaks on the beach a plus

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kraebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a great experience we had here in Islamorada. This hotel has it all. Nice pool, which you can get a relaxing massage by. The beach is right in the back of the hotel with a tiki bar which has great drinks and awesome service. There is also an Outback Steakhouse in the hotel and a gift shop. The manager, Kara, happened to be out front and really made us feel special when we arrived!!! Thank you for a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasminedawn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,343 reviews
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,763 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Cay Resort is anchored in the laid-back style and carefree atmosphere that makes Islamorada the Sport Fishing Capital of the World. Reflecting the easy tranquility of the Upper Keys, Amara Cay Resort seamlessly blends recreation with relaxation. Hammocks dot the sandy shoreline, palm trees sway in the breeze and a shimmering oceanfront pool beckons early risers. It's no wonder Amara Cay was named the winner of the 2015 Sandi Design award for Design Excellence Hospitality by the International Interior Design Association, which recognized our expert balance of relaxed atmosphere and luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing