We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great staff”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn in Islamorada for 8 nights in an oceanfront suite. We had a block of rooms for my daughter's wedding guests. The manager and staff at this Hampton are amazing. They all bent over backwards to accommodate every request and made all of our guests feel welcome. The breakfasts were great as was the pool, beach and tiki bar. The beds were so comfortable and the living room and kitchen made an 8 night stay so easy. I highly recommend staying here if you are going to Islamorada.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbaPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    426
    136
    52
    34
See reviews for
444
518
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at a few resorts/hotels in Islamorada and this is the best value we have found. The rooms are spacious, clean, well maintained and very comfortable. The property is in a beautiful location and the on-site Tiki Bar/restaurant is a wonderful convenience. You will have to venture out for a meal with a true local flavor since the restaurant is an Outback with their stock menu but you don't have to go far. As a matter of fact one of the local's favorite eateries is a very short walk south. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Upon arriving for our last stay we requested a room on he first floor and a late checkout. Both changes were easily accommodated. Very cool!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etoriello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The staff where not wery interested in booking us in when we arrived, but at last we got a suite. Nice room, and very good bed.
They had a nice TIKI bar, with live music, Micah was playing this night, and he was great! Bought a CD :-)

We had our room in seafront, and the sliding door did not work! And it was blocked in the bedroom!

But it was a beutiful wiew over the beach , and the ocean :-)


Breakfast, and free internet is very ok!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 848Vibeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed on the 4th floor with a view on the pool and the ocean. Was wonderful. Room are very clean. Breakfast was just good. Room are very clean. Staff were great. I recommand and will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomagami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed here for 5 days during a diving trip and had a suite. A perfect solution as you can cook for yourself and you have everything you need to make this a really affordable option compared to other places. With complimentary internet, breakfast and let's not forget the daily cookies, this has got to be a fantastic option for the travel weary tourist.
The staff are more than pleasant and are happy to help ( I asked for a second pot and got it promptly) I also forgot something there and with a single phone call, they sent it to me within a few days. The outdoor pool is right next tot he beach so you can choose if you prefer lounger or sand.
Great location, great service and great staff. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnmaccoolHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Was impressed by the lobby and check in area. Clean and decorated nicely.
Breakfast was good. Do it yourself waffles, some sort of different egg dish each morning, and the usual breakfast fare such as pastries, yogurt and the like.
My room however was not as nice. It was ok, but the biggest problem was the sliding glass door would not shut all the way and wind would whistle through, and the hallway flooded before our stay and big fans were blowing 24/7 to try and dry it out.
The beach is a strip of sand ending at a sea wall with a 3 or 4 foot drop to the water. There is a set of stairs to get down.
There is an Outback attached to the hotel and it was nice to shower and just go there after an exhausting day on the water.
I may possibly stay there again, but for the price I will look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ual95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed on the 4th flloor, ocean view. WOW! what an excellent view of the Atlantic,palm trees and down on the beach area hammocks and lounge chairs. Our room was much larger than expected and had a full kitchen. Very clean! Asked the staff where to eat and get snacks and their advice was right on. Can not wait to get back to the Keys!

Room Tip: Ask for oceanview, queen, double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
632 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,587 reviews
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.3 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovations recently completed at this oceanfront resort in picturesque Islamorada. Amara Cay is the perfect setting for our guests to unwind, connect with the sea, and make lasting memories. The story of Amara Cay is compelling and distinct. Our guests are inspired by the authentic experiences we provide. Each member of our diverse staff is a local expert empowered to provide amazing and unexpected service. We emotionally connect with our guests by crafting a story that is compelling and extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing