We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watching pelicans and cranes while you eat”
Review of Hungry Tarpon

Hungry Tarpon
Ranked #23 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the Florida Keys you'll find this old Keys-style marina and fish shack "somewhere on A1A." A true conch atmosphere with many tasty delights, here in this Florida Keys restaurant you'll find yourself indulged in the Caribbean-inspired cuisine, the compassionate people and old Keys tranquility that is the Hungry Tarpon restaurant in Islamorada. The building has been standing since 1947 and with a home like Robbie's of Islamorada, plus a fascinating history, it all makes the Hungry Tarpon a part of the tradition since 1976. Enjoy dining on our bayside deck with tiki torches lighting up the night. Relax with friends over our fabulous appetizers and watch the boats come and go. Stroll our open air shops then wander to our sandy beach, melt into one of our bayside lounge chairs and let the sea air wash away the rush of the day.
Rimersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“watching pelicans and cranes while you eat”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stopped for dinner. The food was great and the scenery was beautiful. I had the sear tuna salad, it was very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Our tuna is so fresh because it's delivered daily. Next time you're here, you should definitely try the tuna nachos. A very popular dish among the entire staff. Thank you very much for stopping by for dinner and leaving us some positive feedback. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    338
    141
    74
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Once a delightful location n good eats”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The location of the Hungry Tarpon restaurant adjacent to Robbies' Marina continues to draw patrons in not only for the good food but also because of the attraction of feeding and seeing large schools of tarpon, jacks and other denizens of the sea.
I must say, however, that over the many years (perhaps decades) that we have going there, we have seen the deterioration of the ambiance probably due to heavy patron traffic (good for operations) but that contributes to the detriment to an all too common problem in the Keys and that is proper disposal of waste water. The grounds are malodorous and the physical structure of the restaurant is in poor condition. A laid back and relaxed "keys" environment is one thing but dining and smelling wafts of malodorous air are not compatible. I hope they can improve and solve this problem.

Helpful?
3 Thank lafhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to leave it. Our outdoor restaurant is in great shape and is fairly new. I can't agree that any of the structure is in poor condition or even close to it. I believe you are the first to comment about the smell on property. Sometimes the ocean has a strong smell but it doesn't smell anything like waste water. The city is in the process of installing new sewage throughout Islamorada. This will allow us to install new bathrooms, so we can do away with the porter potties we currently have on property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stopped by a few times!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had lunch here one day, dinner the next. Fun to watch the tourists feeding the Hungry Tarpons! Fishing boats coming and going, herons, cranes, a lot of activity and entertainment while enjoying a meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 3parrotfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Awesome review and next time, come try the breakfast. You never know what you might see when eating here and looking out at the water. Yesterday a large pod of dolphins were acting silly and playing for all to watch. The birds here are my favorite, especially when they try and steal the tarpon bait. Thank you so much for stopping by more than once. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Nice for the kids because the can feed the tarpons in the water.
Its a party for the pelicans and the tarpons to see how they fight for the food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We love seeing children feeding the tarpon for the first time. The utter shock and joy on their faces is priceless. I did it when I was a kid and still remember how exciting it was. You do have to keep an extra eye out for the pelicans or they will definitely help themselves to your bait. I hope you all enjoyed your overall experience with the restaurant and would be delighted to have you here again. Thanks for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We chose the Hungry Tarpon for our son's rehearsal dinner and it was the perfect choice for us. Not only was the price very reasonable for the number of people we had, the food was also excellent. Everyone commented how the food was delicious and the service was great. Because it was July it was hot but with the fans it was tolerable. The location is great and the staff so helpful. We are so happy to have chosen this restaurant. For a special event, you won't regret it. Your wallet and your guests will be happy. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful job.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 18Chantalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Your party was such a pleasure to have here. Everyone was so polite and always smiling. The food that Chef Merv prepared that evening was very delicious...I got to eat some leftovers :)
Thanks again for choosing the Hungry Tarpon and a BIG congrats to your son and his bride. Come visit us again the next time you're down in the Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing