We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”
Review of Hungry Tarpon

Hungry Tarpon
Ranked #24 of 94 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the Florida Keys you'll find this old Keys-style marina and fish shack "somewhere on A1A." A true conch atmosphere with many tasty delights, here in this Florida Keys restaurant you'll find yourself indulged in the Caribbean-inspired cuisine, the compassionate people and old Keys tranquility that is the Hungry Tarpon restaurant in Islamorada. The building has been standing since 1947 and with a home like Robbie's of Islamorada, plus a fascinating history, it all makes the Hungry Tarpon a part of the tradition since 1976. Enjoy dining on our bayside deck with tiki torches lighting up the night. Relax with friends over our fabulous appetizers and watch the boats come and go. Stroll our open air shops then wander to our sandy beach, melt into one of our bayside lounge chairs and let the sea air wash away the rush of the day.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stopped in here to feed the tarpon - one of the most memorable experiences of our trip to the Keys more than 20 years ago. We had told the kids about feeding the tarpon, so they were excited to get to see what we were talking about. The kids loved getting the chance to feed the tarpon and even more the opportunity to feed and touch a wild manatee who stopped in to visit! This was better than any aquarium we've ever visited.
After feeding the tarpon, the boys were hungry also, so we headed over to the restaurant. Had a great view of the water and were able to relax and enjoy the boats coming and going. The conch fritters started us off - our trip in the keys was all about conch fritters and key lime pie. The conch fritters were comparable to other places - and everywhere we visited they were all good. My husband raved about his grilled grouper sandwich. The kids enjoyed their cheeseburgers. The key lime pie was the absolute best in the Keys. The creaminess of the pie had the perfect amount of tanginess from the key limes. Adding a touch of raspberry sauce created the perfect melt in your mouth dessert.
We were there over spring break, which means that there were crowds of people everywhere we went. This may be one reason for the somewhat slow service - but we weren't in a hurry to get anywhere and it was nice to sit and relax and look at the turquoise blue water and watch the birds swooping around.
After eating, we had to go over and feed the tarpon again. The boys were fascinated by these huge fish who act almost like pets.
If you're in a hurry or looking for something fancy, this is not the place to visit - which is probably something to say about anywhere in the Florida Keys. It is a place to stop, feed the tarpon, relax and enjoy the view, and feed your family a darn good meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travelingmom1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

We really appreciate your business and feedback. Very glad your husband enjoyed his grouper sandwich and you all loved the key lime pie....both are my favorites on the menu. Thank you all for coming down and making Robbie's a part of your vacation. We look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 516 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch hear on Monday after a morning of fishing. we were a group of six. we were seated right away with no greeting or eye contact it was awkward. once at our table it took 45 minutes to get menus and drinks and about 2 hours for food after ordering. the food was pretty good but the wait staff seem to be there against their will and not want us there. later that night at dinner(somewhere else) we discussed how we all just wanted to get up and leave but none of us want to be that guy. In closing the food is good and the view is as well but the service is like dead fish. The rest of the marina is nice and friendly and the fishing was great as always

2  Thank Rudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

We really appreciate your feedback and apologize that your service was not above and beyond. We will personally conduct a meeting for the wait staff about their attitude. We are continuously working on having less of a wait time for food. The keys is known for being a bit slow paced but 2 hours is definitely unacceptable. Thank you for coming to Robbie's and hopefully you'll be back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Fish and chips was good, I wasn't too fond of the fish taco seasoning. Food took awhile, though nice to relax and enjoy the scenery.

Thank Doc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

We really appreciate your feedback and business. The taco seasoning is usually a big hit for most of our customers. Maybe next time you come, we can hold off on the seasoning or try something different just for you ;)

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

While visiting Islamorada, my husband and I stopped by The Hungry Tarpon for drinks and appetizers. I loved the view and the relaxed atmosphere. The food was a little pricey, in my opinion, but our spinach, artichoke and crab dip was fantastic and well worth it. The best part about eating at The Hungry Tarpon, however, was the excellent customer service. The employees were friendly and helpful, much more so than the employees of some of the other places we visited while we visited the area. I'm definitely going back if I ever find myself in Islamorada again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tallygirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Very honored to have such great feedback from you. I can definitely agree with you that both the view and relaxed atmosphere at the restaurant are great. We strive to have outstanding customer service from our employees and it seems they were on their "A" game the day you visited. Thanks for the awesome review and we really look forward to having you come back in the future. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I were there in February, and the breakfast was huge and awesome. We ate inside, as it was super hot out that morning. Inside definitely shows the age - it's a bit rustic and banged up, but we were there for the food. Top quality and great value for the dollar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JerseyJulie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Killer Breakfast...what an awesome title! Thank you vary much for your feedback. I'm spoiled and eat breakfast here almost every day. If you haven't yet, try the Purple Isle on your next visit. We look forward to having you back for breakfast and maybe even lunch or dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing