We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent drinks and Superb food!”
Review of Hungry Tarpon

Hungry Tarpon
Ranked #24 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the Florida Keys you'll find this old Keys-style marina and fish shack "somewhere on A1A." A true conch atmosphere with many tasty delights, here in this Florida Keys restaurant you'll find yourself indulged in the Caribbean-inspired cuisine, the compassionate people and old Keys tranquility that is the Hungry Tarpon restaurant in Islamorada. The building has been standing since 1947 and with a home like Robbie's of Islamorada, plus a fascinating history, it all makes the Hungry Tarpon a part of the tradition since 1976. Enjoy dining on our bayside deck with tiki torches lighting up the night. Relax with friends over our fabulous appetizers and watch the boats come and go. Stroll our open air shops then wander to our sandy beach, melt into one of our bayside lounge chairs and let the sea air wash away the rush of the day.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I decided to stop as we were on our way home to Marathon. We had not been here in awhile and we have been hearing great things. We went to the bar and found our favorite bartender Kim! (previously from Post Card Inn) . She recommended the Strawberry Jalapeno Margarita (which was fabulous) and I went with the Trailer Trash Bloody Mary (a meal in itself) which was awesome. Kim always has a smile on her face and is eager to please. She also gave us some menu options to try . We had an order of Cracked Conch and the Tuna roll and it was delicious. We also tried the Lobster bisque which was very good. The food takes awhile but is worth the wait. We will refer everyone to stop by here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Sounds like you all had a great visit! We are always glad to hear feedback from a happy customer. Sounds like you were able to try a variety of things on the menu and we cant wait to see your faces down here again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
There are newer reviews for Hungry Tarpon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 504 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were kayaking from the the Kayak Shack at the marina and took a break for lunch. They were pretty busy and while we were seated right away it took a while before someone took our drink orders and then the hostess brought out drinks to us as our waitress was very busy. Took another while before our lunch orders were taken and then another wait for our food. Luckily the drinks were good and the people watching was great. We were seated right up front where we could see the people feeding the Tarpons from the dock. It was a great time to sit and watch the fish jump out of the water for the food and to see everyone's reaction to the fish jumping. Our food, when it finally arrived, was good. The fries were hot and the order was correct. My husband had a mahi sandwich that he enjoyed and my son and I both had a grilled chicken sandwich. Both were very good. We soon came to realize that the service at all the restaurants in the Keys seem to be a little on the slow side, so just sit back, have a cold beverage and enjoy whatever show you have before you. Welcome to island life!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

That's sounds great guys! So glad you guys were patient with us and the food was worth the wait. We appreciate you all taking the time to leave us with such a great review and we hope you get a chance to come back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We visited this restaurant a couple times on a recent trip to the Keys. Our first visit we sat at the bar and Ryan and D took great care of us. We ordered drinks and had lunch on our first visit. The 'Trailer Trash' bloody mary is phenomenal. We had the blackened shrimp quesadillas and grouper sandwich which were great as well. Sitting at the bar watching all the people feed the tarpon was great. The place seemed very busy too. We also visited after going snorkeling at Robbies and once again had great drinks and service from Ryan and D. On our second visit a few days later we came for breakfast. Everyone at our table thought the food was great. Our waitress was fine and we had no issues. I would recommend anyone passing by or staying near to visit the Hungry Tarpon at least once.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thanks guys for coming down and spending so much time at Robbie's. Sounds like overall you guys really enjoyed your visits and that is great to hear. We appreciate you all taking the time to leave us such a stellar review online. We all hope to see you guys down here again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The food was delicious! We were looking for a good seafood restaurant that was a laid back and relaxed environment and inexpensive. The restaurant has a patio out back that looks over the bay with a live band playing. It was a nice ambiance. We were sitting down for almost 5 minutes before anyone took our order (there were only a handful of people dining at the time we went). Took quite a bit of time to actually order our food. But hands down one of the better places we have eaten at. 4 stars for taste of the food!!! Def would recommend dining here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nurseyaf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thanks for stopping by to leave us such a great review. We appreciate you all being patient with us and we are glad to hear you enjoyed the food so much. Hopefully you guys come down and visit us again here sooner than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We ate here twice on our vacation only because the food was good and my kids really enjoyed the live music, watching the Tarpon feed and seeing lots of sharks as they waited for their dinner. The service is slow and not very polite. One waitress spilled her tray of drinks on a family and did not say sorry.

Thank Tiara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thanks for the positive feedback guys! We appreciate you taking the time to come visit us a second time and hope we get to see you a third. We always enjoy hearing back from our customers and hope you get a chance to come back to the keys real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing