We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bloody mary's as well as breakfast”
Review of Hungry Tarpon

Hungry Tarpon
Ranked #23 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the Florida Keys you'll find this old Keys-style marina and fish shack "somewhere on A1A." A true conch atmosphere with many tasty delights, here in this Florida Keys restaurant you'll find yourself indulged in the Caribbean-inspired cuisine, the compassionate people and old Keys tranquility that is the Hungry Tarpon restaurant in Islamorada. The building has been standing since 1947 and with a home like Robbie's of Islamorada, plus a fascinating history, it all makes the Hungry Tarpon a part of the tradition since 1976. Enjoy dining on our bayside deck with tiki torches lighting up the night. Relax with friends over our fabulous appetizers and watch the boats come and go. Stroll our open air shops then wander to our sandy beach, melt into one of our bayside lounge chairs and let the sea air wash away the rush of the day.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great bloody mary's as well as breakfast”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I usually stop in at the hungry tarpon for a cocktail when we are bike riding around the keys. Great staff, fantastic bloody mary and the ambiance is fantastic. Great view of the bay, feeding the tarpons. They have a great breakfast also with friendly and fun staff. We would definitely recommend if your in the Islamorada area. Feed the tarpon for a real thrill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 13snake13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    337
    141
    74
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Margaritaville and breakfast”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

As a newcomer to the Keys, this was an unexpected, wonderful experience. My wife and I stopped here on a whim about 7:30 in the morning. No one was there but the staff, us, and the birds. Lots of birds. We were seated outside on the docks. I felt like I'd finally reached Magaritaville (Jimmy Buffet was playing in the background). We had a fine breakfast of eggs, bacon and sausage. And the coffee was better than average and the waitress was very friendly. After breakfast, we walked onto the docks and looked at these huge Tarpon fish - very impressive. All in all, a totally chance encounter turned out to be really wonderful, and unexpected.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ponstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, but great fish feeding fun”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

After reading reviews, I figure we either hit the regular chef's day off, or Hungry Tarpon just does not do dinners well. Conch chowder tasted like condensed Campbell's Manhattan clam chowder (still condensed) and my husband's grouper was dry - not the fresh fish we were expecting. On the positive side, the drinks were large and cheap (Cuba Libre only $4.50!) and we had much fun feeding the tarpon and ducking the "Re-pelican-cant", employee armed with a styrofoam ball to shush the pelicans away from the fish.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfasts!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great place for breakfast - good value for money and big portions. Some cute shops and places to rent water activity equipment on site as well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank peartree259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Food In The Keys!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Where to begin! The Hungry Tarpon is located at Robbie's Marina in Islamorada. Completely steeped in Keys character, you'll find yourself on island time in no time. This does not mean your food will be slow to arrive -- it means you'll find yourself relaxing into the atmosphere and ready to enjoy the freshly prepared food. Don't be fooled by the rustic appearance, the food here is delicious. The staff are friendly, and if you don't come for breakfast and order The Purple Isle, you are missing out on one of the best meals you'll ever enjoy. In addition to the great food, you receive a discount to feed the tarpon from the dock, a unique experience and a do not miss. Plus, after your meal, browse the outdoor shops. You will find original crafts and artwork from local residents who may be creating their next piece while you shop. I love stopping here while in the Keys, and now that I've discovered it, plan my trip to include at least one meal here. Stop in, give it a try. You'll come back! Oh, and don't miss out on the two varieties of home made Key Lime pie. Made with real Key limes, you have the choice of the original, or Mango Key Lime pie. Both are equally luscious. Best to order one of each and share with a friend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Five_Meowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing