We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food, Outstanding service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hungry Tarpon

Hungry Tarpon
Ranked #21 of 91 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the Florida Keys you'll find this old Keys-style marina and fish shack "somewhere on A1A." A true conch atmosphere with many tasty delights, here in this Florida Keys restaurant you'll find yourself indulged in the Caribbean-inspired cuisine, the compassionate people and old Keys tranquility that is the Hungry Tarpon restaurant in Islamorada. The building has been standing since 1947 and with a home like Robbie's of Islamorada, plus a fascinating history, it all makes the Hungry Tarpon a part of the tradition since 1976. Enjoy dining on our bayside deck with tiki torches lighting up the night. Relax with friends over our fabulous appetizers and watch the boats come and go. Stroll our open air shops then wander to our sandy beach, melt into one of our bayside lounge chairs and let the sea air wash away the rush of the day.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good food, Outstanding service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Food was fresh, unique, and really good. Our waitress was friendly w/o being intrusive. Overall a great stop!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MES3605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    318
    130
    62
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I had the alligator reef and it was amazing! I loved the atmosphere. Whe will be back the next time we are in the Keys!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best breakfast I ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This was the last stop on our trip and as it turned out, we unintentionally saved the best for last. Gary made us feel right at home. I stuck with my old stand bye eggs, country fried steak and gravy which was delicious. My wife had the purple isle. A fight almost started because I didn't want to give her plate back to her after she let me have a taste... Incredible!!! Don't make the same mistake as us ... Make this your first stop and not your last.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kstadler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest, NJ
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food and fun atmosphere and waitresses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Loved it! We had French toast, the diablo breakfast burrito, the country breakfast with sausage gravy and biscuits and the spring omlette. One thing was better than the next. Good coffee and great bloody Mary's :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Trails96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food...amazing views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a family friendly outdoor restaurant. Its on the water with a gorgeous view. The food is fantastic and the portions are large. I had the shrimp quesadillas and they were awesome. My boyfriend got the seafood platter and it was great. They use a cornmeal batter that gives the food a great crunch without too much batter and breading.
There is plenty to look at while you are eating. There is the beautiful view, boats, and of course watching people hand feed tarpon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lalu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing