We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View & Good Food”
Review of Hungry Tarpon

Hungry Tarpon
Ranked #23 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the Florida Keys you'll find this old Keys-style marina and fish shack "somewhere on A1A." A true conch atmosphere with many tasty delights, here in this Florida Keys restaurant you'll find yourself indulged in the Caribbean-inspired cuisine, the compassionate people and old Keys tranquility that is the Hungry Tarpon restaurant in Islamorada. The building has been standing since 1947 and with a home like Robbie's of Islamorada, plus a fascinating history, it all makes the Hungry Tarpon a part of the tradition since 1976. Enjoy dining on our bayside deck with tiki torches lighting up the night. Relax with friends over our fabulous appetizers and watch the boats come and go. Stroll our open air shops then wander to our sandy beach, melt into one of our bayside lounge chairs and let the sea air wash away the rush of the day.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice View & Good Food”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very cool little restaurant & bar. Great views of the bay, you can see the Tarpon swimming around the dock. You can buy fish to feed them.I had the grouper sandwhich, great choice.
The beer is cold. Great place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPH200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    337
    141
    74
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Funin the sun”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Super fun atmosphere, just what I pictured for the Keys. Wait staff are friendly and very attentive. Sat outside watching the fishing boats come in with their catch, pelicans and tarpons hanging out to collect any "leftovers" from the fish being cleaned. Kids can pay 3.00 to feed the Tarpons. Simple menu but food was good and reasonably priced (unusual for the keys) and quite tasty. Recommend the MahiMAhi sandwich

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dewdrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood and the nicest waitress in town!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 10. Sat outside, under the trees. Maria was our waitress, she was so nice and friendly. She recommended beers and cocktails that were delicious. All the recommendations she made regarding the menu were amazing. I had the conch ceviche as appetizer and fish tacos. I tried everyone's plates and everything was fresh and tasty. Maria was on top of everything! Is one of those places that makes your trip great! Go and ask for Maria!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lourn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Breakfast tortilla topped with green chili was the best I ever had!!! Portions are large and service very friendly. If you have a meal at the restaurant you can watch the fish free.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mirggus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“SUPER FUN PLACE”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent a few days at Robbies, kyaking, snorkeling and taking in the sights. We had lunch at the Hungry Tarpon one day and the food is really good. I had the Fish Tacos and they were great. Prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is very entertaining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHANE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing