We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun area”
Review of Hungry Tarpon

Hungry Tarpon
Ranked #23 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the Florida Keys you'll find this old Keys-style marina and fish shack "somewhere on A1A." A true conch atmosphere with many tasty delights, here in this Florida Keys restaurant you'll find yourself indulged in the Caribbean-inspired cuisine, the compassionate people and old Keys tranquility that is the Hungry Tarpon restaurant in Islamorada. The building has been standing since 1947 and with a home like Robbie's of Islamorada, plus a fascinating history, it all makes the Hungry Tarpon a part of the tradition since 1976. Enjoy dining on our bayside deck with tiki torches lighting up the night. Relax with friends over our fabulous appetizers and watch the boats come and go. Stroll our open air shops then wander to our sandy beach, melt into one of our bayside lounge chairs and let the sea air wash away the rush of the day.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“a fun area”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had been here two years ago and came back with some friends who wanted to feed the tarpon. Try the shrimp burrito! It's different from your typical burrito. It took a little while to get waited on but after the waitresses figured out who was supposed to be our server, service was friendly and efficient

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phillie_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    332
    137
    74
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish tacos!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Probably the best fish tacos I have eaten. We ate there three times and each meal was well prepared and delicious. Great staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must Stop!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We originally came to Robbie's because we heard they have good prices on charter fishing. We signed up for a boat and had time to kill so we ate breakfast at the Hungry Tarpon. The atmosphere is exactly what we wanted for our trip to the keys - waterfront laid back and relaxing. After our fishing charter the restaurant cooked our fish and I think it was my favorite meal for the entire trip! We came here twice durring our trip and both times fed the Tarpon. It's a mist stop and a very good value, especially in the keys. Staff is very friendly and prompt as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessagrausam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food, awesome location”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stopping by the Hungry Tarpon and Robbies is an absolute Keys MUST!! The food has all of the Keys flavors - highly recommend the Conch Ceviche. Eat at the Hungry Tarpon, then walk out the dock to view the tarpon! Staff is friendly and accommodating. Some local vendors in the parking lot with all different types of Keys katchka...A great relaxing stop!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allentowntoboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wills Point, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a piece of key lime pie while waiting on our fishing boat. It was excellent and the view was fabulous!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MistyLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing