We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Edge of Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ragged Edge Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Shared a two bedroom apartment with my son and son-in-law. This is old style beach property. No towel animals (thank God). Just a clean, quiet comfortable place to enjoy all the ocean has to offer. Watch the sunrise with a cup of coffee and watch the sunset with your favorite.

There was a nice kitchen with everything we needed. One night, we did steaks on the outside grill while watching the sunset.

This is not a wild party place. save that for Duval. Rather, this is a relaxing piece of heaven on the edge of paradise.

Room Tip: Upper rapartments have a better view from their decks. Lower apartments have a screened in porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank e3brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 257 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

Had a great stay at the Ragged Edge. Borrowed bikes, BBQed fish we had caught, or just a lazy hangout by the heated pool. We had a studio, with water views (I think all rooms have water views), porch with mosquito netting, and most important, peace. Place was spotlessly clean. Only downside was a noisy fridge in the room (No door to close), and lack of coffee in the rooms. So easy to add two sachets a day.

The Inn is what the Keys is all about. It is not top end, but from someone who enjoys all the top end has to offer, I loved Ragged Edge. Needless to say, we will be back!

Room Tip: Studios are good value at 169.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed in January for 4 nights. Our first trip to the Keys and, having had a chance to look around other islands, including Marathon and Key West, we came away feeling we had chosen wisely in Ragged Edge on the more relaxed Islamorada. The upstairs studio we stayed in, while basic, were comfortable and adequately equipped, although the missus did comment on lack of ovenware. The location, right on Treasure Harbor, is both idyllic and ideal for those with boats or, in our case, launching a rented kayak. Despite not being the right season for bonefish, I even had the chance to wade the flats right off the harbor for some fly fishing. The ever-present Mike was immensely helpful with recommendations and suggestions, even helping us get the outdoor barbecue going!

If it is raucous partying into late hours amongst the crowds that you seek, stay closer to Key West, 2 hours away. If you'd rather have a cold beer in the evening quiet watching the sky grow darker, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lostinhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Mike works in the office of Ragged Edge -- he is beyond nice. He goes out of his way to make you feel welcome, help you navigate the Key and answers any questions. They have games, cards, lending library and bicycles -- which I made excellent use of. It is walking distance to bars/restaurants and also directly adjacent to a walking/biking path. The sunrises are breath taking. The pool is clean and well kept. Ragged Edge is a little piece of paradise. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x-raynancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have stayed here every Christmas and New Years for the past ten years. We love this place. Everyone who works at the Resort goes out of there way to make sure you are comfortable. It is a low key resort with just the right amount amenities. The pool, view and clean rooms are all we need to have a wonderful vacation. At this point we are treated like family and it is so nice to know that we will get the same wonderful vacation year after year. We would not think of staying anywhere else in the Keys. Mike and Rhonda thanks again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This resort represents the laid back keys in every way. Completely self sufficient accomodations with full kitchens and barbecues around the marina. The dock and boat launch are great and provide easy access for kayaking and fishing. It was a great relaxing Christmas week.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

The Ragged Edge is a great choice for exploring the Keys! Mike was as nice as can be, with alot of great recommendations for activities and restaurants. The rooms were huge and had a full kitchen and large balconies. They were a little outdated (who cares, you're in the Keys!), but were absolutely spotless! The view cannot be beat, and the dock was a great place to watch the sunset at the end of the day. I would recommend this place to anyone, any day!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
5.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,333 reviews
1.6 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
748 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,450 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 11 in Islamorada
284 reviews
2.3 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Edge Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Edge Resort & Marina

Address: 243 Treasure Harbor Dr, Islamorada, FL 33036-3137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: $104 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-owned resort in the heart of the Florida Keys. We pride ourselves in our relaxing, pleasant atmosphere in the beautiful landscape of Islamorada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ragged Edge Resort And Marina
Ragged Edge Resort & Marina Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing