We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, Serene, Able to See Both Sunrise and Sunset”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ragged Edge Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton Township, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, Serene, Able to See Both Sunrise and Sunset”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This was my 8th year coming to the Ragged Edge Resort and Marina for a scuba diving and fishing trip with friends. We love the friendly staff and convenience of being able to just get up and go to the marina within step of our roomy accommodations. The convenience of a kitchen and full size refrigerator allow us to make meals too. I love that you can view the sunset and the sunrise from the marina. The view of the ocean is spectacular. Thanks for another great stay!

Room Tip: As far as I know they all have the ocean in view except for one small room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KROSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    49
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
113
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Our crew visits twice a year for fishing & diving . We started 7 years ago & wont stop . Ragged Edge is about location & fun . Top diving & fishing spots are right out your door . The property & staff are top in class . Bring your boat & gear and have the best time for a week .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Want a place that is quiet, clean, with superb management, you need look no further than Ragged Edge. We had a HS reunion there with seasoned travelers and all came away impressed. Rhonda and Mike make it happen; need anything from restaurant recos to boarding passes and they're your source. There is no restaurant or bar on premises, but each unit is a well-equiped efficiency, so bring your own! And restaurants and bars abound in Islamorada just minutes away.

Room Tip: Try the second floor for great views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed at Ragged Edge many times as a teenager with my parents 20 years ago and had many fond memories. So, despite living much further away now, last year I decided to go for vacation and was happy to see that, if anything, it was even better than I remembered. My girlfriend and I just returned from our second trip together to Ragged Edge, and it was a really great trip.

Now, if you're the kind of person who is looking for luxury accomodations with an on-site spa and valet service, Ragged Edge is not for you - continue down the road to Cheeca Lodge. But for those of you who come to the Keys for fishing, diving/snorkeling, and boating, and want clean, quiet accommodations where you can cook your catch and eat outside on your deck or screened porch, you'll love Ragged Edge. The management is on top of things without being intrusive and is a great source of information for things like the best restaurants, boat rentals, and things to do.

For boaters, Ragged Edge offers a small harbor with boat ramp with fast access to the reefs as well as easy bayside access via Snake Creek (a few minutes from leaving the dock). There's plenty of good fishing and diving spots within a few minutes run of Ragged Edge. I highly recommend Alligator reef for snorkeling/diving - it has a huge number and variety of fish to see (we even saw a sea turtle this trip)!

The rooms at Ragged Edge are nothing fancy, but they all have nice views and are kept clean and well-maintained. There are some good restaurants nearby - we love the Island Grill restaurant on the South end of the Snake Creek bridge - but it's also nice having the full kitchen in the room to be able to cook up your catch of the day.

Speaking of the catch of the day, the fishing right at Ragged Edge itself is usually quite good, depending on the tide and weather conditions. This trip we caught snapper and grunts in the boat harbor and on the flats on the other side of the breakwater. Last year we caught the same, plus my girlfriend caught a small shark and I saw (but sadly did not hook) a small tarpon.

Finally, just being on the Ragged Edge property will give you opportunities to see all sorts of marine life, birds, and great sunrises and sunsets.

Thanks to Mike and the crew of Ragged Edge for another great stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but be sure to ask about the bed arrangement if you have particular needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I have been going to this property since I was a teenager with my family. It had been 11 years since I was last there. (I'm 54). We were there this past weekend and it's better than it ever was. The manager Mike just can't do enough for you. The property is well maintained and clean and very nice. It hasn't changed much in the past 11 years which is nice because we always loved it. It is very "Keys" like. You can't ask for more! We are going back again next year. Thank you Mike.

Room Tip: We always stay in the upstairs 2 bedroom units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My girlfriend and i stayed 5 days in Key Largo,5 Days in Key West,and then Moved down again to Ragged Edge Resort.......What a chilled time we had,Rhonda and Mike were very obliging,nothing seemed any trouble.spotless/comfortable accommadation,just a fab setting.The wildlife and Marine life.......WOW!! we dont see many Manatees and Turtles when we look out of our front porch back in England,so we were gob smacked,and we saw a fella fishing for snapper on the dock,almost get taken for a ride by a 4 foot Barracuda which took the small fish that he had just hooked.....that took him by surprise.Always some type of Mammal,Reptile,bird or something in the sea to leave you open mouthed.........All i can say to the lucky people who live in the area "Dont take this beautiful place you have for granted,it is Fabulous.....Im gonna come back soon......Thanks ;-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were part of the 50th Birthday and we had a great time.Jose was the bomb! We all even managed to rescue a turtle Ragged Ronda hope she is recovering well.Thanks again and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
6.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
2.3 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.7 mi away
Conch on Inn Motel
Conch on Inn Motel
#3 of 11 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Edge Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Edge Resort & Marina

Property: Ragged Edge Resort & Marina
Address: 243 Treasure Harbor Dr, Islamorada, FL 33036-3137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-owned resort in the heart of the Florida Keys. We pride ourselves in our relaxing, pleasant atmosphere in the beautiful landscape of Islamorada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ragged Edge Resort And Marina
Ragged Edge Resort & Marina Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing