We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Coastal retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorings Village and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moorings Village and Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Coastal retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Sandy white beaches, stunning villas with rustic island charm, and tranquility in the Florida keys at boutique hotel standards. Perfect Miami get-a-way to restore the batteries from the hustle & bustle!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEL2012173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village and Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for the nice review! We appreciate you coming to stay at The Moorings and hope you will relax here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    22
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
77
154
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balboa Island, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Moorings has become our family holiday spot going on 5 years now. Our son was 16 months when we first came to stay in the Maroni House. Each year he has explored & learned something different as he roams around the beautiful white sand beaches and exquisite habitat. This year he learned how to ride a bike as well as catch his first barracuda off the dock. We call him the 'Wizard Lizard' as he chased the little creatures up and down the trees. How wonderful to cook out on the grass in front of your cottage, watch your son chase crabs, all the while enjoying the peace and quiet of this paradise.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are perfect for whatever type of getaway you are looking for. Their website spells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village and Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Moorings! We are fortunate to have you and your family as our guests for the past five years. We are so happy that you have enjoyed many wonderful memories here at The Moorings. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

It is rare that you can think of nothing that could be improved. From the friendly and efficient welcome this was a superb but too short a stay. There is lots to do, but doing nothing was better. To hours lying in the hammock at the end of the dock, enjoying the absolute peace and beauty of the place. The grounds are impeccably maintained without losing its jungle like feel. Excellent large swimming pool. We were in South Lodge set back a bit from the beach, but none the worse for that. The room was well fitted out, and spotlessly clean. We loved the fact that we prepared our own breakfast to eat on the porch. Also a benefit that the two restaurants are on the other side of the Key, benefiting from glorious sunsets. Excellent food as well. All in all, a wonderful stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lambo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay at The Moorings. We look forward to having you as our guests next time you're in the Keys! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The Moorings, and its definitely more of a peaceful romantic retreat than a hotel/resort due to the large grounds and comfortable cottages. For us it was perfect. Overall we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabbynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village and Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We are so pleased this was the perfect place for you. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

You can make what you want from a trip to the Moorings. We rented the Lodge North for 2 nights and to be honest, I would have liked longer. The resort is so peaceful, we hardly saw another soul. Everything is very nicely taken care of and the level of service is upto you. We barely saw the staff but we wanted it that way. You can have your accommodation serviced as you wish, but it's on request.
The pool is absolutely one of the best I have ever seen - I spent most of every day there. The beach is also idyllic although it was quite windy most of the time we were there, which can get a bit much after a few hours.
Pierre's restaurant is a short walk away and is owned by the hotel - that is highly recommended too. Just make sure you are there to see sunset...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village and Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Moorings! We are glad you experienced the beautiful sunset from Pierre's Restaurant. One thing unique to The Moorings is being able to wake up and watch the sunrise and go across the street to our restaurants and watch the sunset. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This resort is absolutely wonderful with separate properties hidden within the trees. It is very secluded and ideal for a romantic break. The beach is beautiful and totally unspoilt. It was rare to see anyone else around. There is a lovely swimming pool and a great range of bars and restaurant across the road. A beautiful venue to unwind and completely relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village and Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Moorings. We are pleased you enjoyed our resort! The beautiful surroundings and quiet found here truly make it an unforgettable romantic vacation. Come relax with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have traveled the Keys for years and have come to realize that the Moorings stands alone in accommodation, service and location. The staff are all top shelf and the front desk with Natasha and Kelly could not have made us feel more at home and relaxed if they had poured us our evening beverages themselves. The beach staff was exceptionally personable and helpful at every opportunity to be of assistance. We have stayed at every mid to upper level resort in the Keys and there is no second best. Looking forward to going back soon, very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words! It is our pleasure to help all of our guests here at The Moorings. We are so happy you enjoyed the property. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
1.5 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
2.8 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Village and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Village and Spa

Property: The Moorings Village and Spa
Address: 123 Beach Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moorings Village and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a coconut plantation, The Moorings Village Resort offers one, two and three bedroom villas, cottages and plantation houses with wraparound verandas, colorful Bahamian-style shutters and cypress interiors, each uniquely decorated. Hidden in delightful seclusion under coconut palms are the resort’s magnificent natural white sand beach, heated pool, tennis court and Island Body and Sol Spa, which offers beachfront massage treatments. The Moorings Village offers guests absolute privacy and tranquility with all the comforts of home, including well-equipped kitchens and laundry in most houses, individual dining rooms and living room areas, air conditioning and ceiling fans. Luxury amenities include large screen televisions, elegant hand-painted tiles, oversized soaking tubs and shower stalls, as well as plantation-style porches overlooking the ocean or views of the lushly landscaped grounds. Guests may enjoy dining at the resort's two Zagat-rated restaurants, Pierre's Restaurant and Morada Bay Beach Cafe, located just across the road. The restaurants share a private beach and are the site of the monthly Full Moon Party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Moorings Village and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Village Hotel Islamorada
Moorings Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing