We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Moorings Village
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The house was great and very clean. Very roomy...1 bedroom, 1 bath, small kitchen, small living room. Loved the fresh greenery and flowers in the room. Beautiful beach and hammocks. Loved Rosie the cat who stayed on our porch through the storms...she liked our leftover fish!
Definitely go to chef michaels and ma's fish camp for eating (both within walking distance).
Also get a massage with Linda at the spa, very relaxing!
Would love to return!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BucketList_AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of The Moorings on TripAdvisor. We enjoyed having you here on the property this week. Sounds like Rosie enjoyed you being here as well! We look forward to seeing you again in the future as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    27
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
84
160
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Moorings is a village of 18 houses by the sea. Everytphing is perfect! The houses, decoration, the beach, the service....
If you are looking for a perfect romantic week end that's the place.
Although there is no room service, you will not miss it....
We stayed at the the Honeymoon Cottage and it was just perfect for an unforgettable romantic week end with my wife.

Room Tip: Take one of the cottages in front of the beach.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicente s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind review of The Moorings! The Honeymoon Cottage is a beautiful spot with the wonderful views of the ocean from the wrap around porch. I am glad you and your wife had a romantic and special time at The Moorings. We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Let me start with the positives:

The setting is beautiful and peaceful, which I know is the hallmark of this "resort".

Our cabin/cottage was well appointed with high end finishes but very basic and not what I consider luxurious. And I recognize that the Moorings has many many regular guests who love the place, and it would be perfect place for a family holiday with younger children.

However, having said all of that I think it is important to understand what this place is and what one does NOT get for one's $1,100 plus dollars per night.

This resort is what the English would call a self catered holiday rental.

There is NO BELL HOP. One has to lug ones bags into one's own cottage. Forget butler or unpacking services which one occasionally gets at this price.

There is NO TURNDOWN Service.

There is NO MAID SERVICE. One has to make one's own bed and clean up one's own kitchen.

There is NO RESTAURANT. One has to get in your car and drive across the highway.

There is NO ROOM SERVICE. If you want coffee and breakfast in bed you better have bought groceries the night before and make it yourself.

In comparison we stayed at Little Palm Island the night before which for the same price provides incredible world class luxurious amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank MQS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Moorings Village & Spa.

We are glad that you found our setting to be beautiful and peaceful. The Moorings aims to offer absolute privacy and tranquility for our guests. In fact, many of our guests comment that they feel like they are on a private island when they stay here. Our laid-back island style philosophy permits guests to not be disturbed, giving the sense of seclusion – yet the world-class staff and resort setting provide generous amenities and services, that are available as much or as little as you need them.

Our 18 one-two-and three bedrooms cottages include well-equipped kitchens, in-cottage laundry facilities, individual dining rooms and living areas, and plantation-style porches. Each cottage is uniquely decorated with special attention to detail. Housekeeping services are available upon request, for a nominal fee.

While there are no restaurants on the property, the resort’s two sister restaurants (Morada Bay Beach Cafe and Pierre's Restaurant) are located just a short walk from the cottages. Additionally, our staff is happy to stock your cottage with grocery items before your arrival.

Again, we thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked a last-minute trip to The Moorings–less than two days before departure! (we had a passport issue so couldn't make our planned trip to the Bahamas). We often look for very small, very private resorts, so The Moorings fit the bill (and miraculously had availability).

To echo other reviewers' sentiments, the resort really does feel fairly tropical and off the beaten path: beautifully kept grounds, swaying palm trees, etc. The pool is really lovely, you get a wonderful breeze off the ocean, and have the pleasure of seeing the local ospreys up close as they tend to hang out in the trees surrounding the pool. The single tennis court isn't in perfect shape, but it is a beautiful spot; it was great to just walk over and play (w/ borrowed rackets and balls) in the mornings without a fuss. It is first-come, first-served, but we never had to wait. Having bicycles to zip out for a coffee or a ride along US1 was really great, as well.

Our only options for rooms were a large, two-bedroom house (too big for a couple) and Lodge North. The room is 1/2 of a small house with a shared porch. Note that it is pretty tiny, and the finishes were a bit "tired." We paid $700+ per night, which is in line with the places we usually stay, but this cost seemed fairly out of whack given the size and condition of our room. We rationalized the cost by telling ourselves a) we were desperate and–given the high season–lucky to not wind up in a Holiday Inn, and b) we were really paying for the privacy and the beautiful grounds.

On the topic of housecleaning, I do like the idea that you don't have folks interrupting you each day, but given the cost of the resort, a better approach might be to offer complimentary cleaning once or twice per week at a designated time. No cleaning at all included in the price feels a smidge funky, as noted by many other reviewers.

In terms of overall service, the staff were extremely nice and very courteous. They recommended restaurants and boat excursions, and were just generally helpful. The gentlemen (whose name escapes me) who helped us with our bicycles was really great. He put air in a tire when he noticed it was low, and when he saw me walking on the road with two bikes (my husband had a last-minute, no bicycles allowed errand), he took one and dropped it back off at our cottage.

The beach (as is the case in most of the Keys) isn't really a swimming beach. You can hop off the end of the dock, though, and be in about five feet of water. We joined a family who was fishing one early evening off the dock and saw a small nurse (?) shark. Very cool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IslandGirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise! The beauty of the grounds and the natural wildlife you may see here truly makes The Moorings a special place.
We look forward to seeing you next time in one of our one bedroom oceanfront cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

You will feel you are in paradise... the service is great, a lot of natural space, a beach for you and the family with kayak, chairs and hammock...
Clean, peaceful and beautiful! The pool is great, a lot of fruit trees.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smilian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We appreciate your complimentary review of The Moorings on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you had a nice time during your stay. Please come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

As long time travelers to Florida from New England, we have spent time in most of Florida's vacation spots: Naples area on the west coast, Miami to Jupiter on the east coast, Orlando, St. Augustine, etc.... And in each of these areas we've been fortunate to stay at some terrific properties. But we now have a new Florida favorite! We just finished 7 nights at The Moorings Village and Spa with our two daughters (13 and 11). And everything about our stay was truly memorable. The beach is perfect, secluded and private but close to all of the cottages; it is also an easy walk around the corner of the beach to Cheeca Lodge, which is a nice place for lunch or an afternoon drink. The service matches the beach, understated, friendly, accommodating and welcoming. Our cottage gave us everything we needed: full kitchen, washer and dryer, wrap around porch and a certain "Tommy Bahama" feel that contributes to the essence of the place. And the Moorings location lends itself to easy access to wonderful restaurants, especially Morada Bay and Pierre's. Both are a short walk for fantastic food and sunsets on the west side of Islamorada. If you are looking for fancy, say, The Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton, this will not be the place for you. But if you are looking for a cool Caribbean vibe in the Keys, for complete and total relaxation on a spectacular piece of property, then the Moorings is the place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank farviewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for the nice post on TripAdvisor. We are all glad you and your family had a nice time at The Moorings. It is our privilege to take care of guests like you and your family! We look forward to seeing you next March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Californians typically don't think of Floriday as a tropical vacation destination. Too bad. This is a real find. Peaceful. Just steps from a lovely private beach. Lots to do, but also a great place to do nothing. My wife and I spent two days there doing nothing more strenuous than searching for the perfect slice of Key Lime Pie (it was at Mama's Fish Camp). We also went snorkeling. And logged some serious relaxation time in a hammock just steps from the waves lapping the shore. The staff is friendsly and attentive. The rooms are well appointed. I can't wait to get back to the Moorings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of The Moorings on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you had a nice visit and look forward to having you as guests again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
1.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
943 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Village

Property: The Moorings Village
Address: 123 Beach Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moorings Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a coconut plantation, The Moorings Village offers one, two and three bedroom villas, cottages and plantation houses with wraparound verandas, colorful Bahamian-style shutters and cypress interiors, each uniquely decorated. Hidden in delightful seclusion under coconut palms are the resort’s magnificent natural white sand beach, heated pool, tennis court and Island Body and Sol Spa, which offers beachfront massage treatments. The Moorings Village offers guests absolute privacy and tranquility with all the comforts of home, including well-equipped kitchens and laundry in most houses, individual dining rooms and living room areas, air conditioning and ceiling fans. Luxury amenities include large screen televisions, elegant hand-painted tiles, oversized soaking tubs and shower stalls, as well as plantation-style porches overlooking the ocean or views of the lushly landscaped grounds. Guests may enjoy dining at the resort's two Zagat-rated restaurants, Pierre's Restaurant and Morada Bay Beach Cafe, located just across the road. The restaurants share a private beach and are the site of the monthly Full Moon Party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Moorings Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Village Hotel Islamorada
Moorings Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing