We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to eat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Turtle Inn

Green Turtle Inn
Ranked #10 of 91 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I ate here on Sept 22 it was the best food I had eaten all weekend, the environment was calm, it was clean, & everybody very nice & friendly. & the service was fast. I def. plan on going here again! The food was amazing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SelmaRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Green Turtle Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
SelmaRF,

Thank you so much for your flattering review. It's great to hear that we were the "best food" you had eaten during the weekend. We are proud of our associates for providing you with such great food and service. We will see you on the next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    363
    138
    54
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Our waitress was vey attentive and friendly and our food arrived quickly. Best tuna melt I've ever had. Fun to look at all of the pictures hanging on the walls and to see how prices and the menu have changed over the years.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bbvign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Green Turtle Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Bbvign,

Thank you for your five star review of the Green Turtle Inn. We are glad to hear your experience with us was enjoyable. Please visit us again if you are in Islamorada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The tradition continues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went here with our parents in the 1960s, and remembered the turtle soup, so we had to go back this spring. Earlier in our stay we did some reconnaissance to be sure this place was still an option, and were happy to make reservations here for our last evening on the island. We were glad we did both. Sid & Roxie's remains a thriving, well-run restaurant, with big city standards of service, food and atmosphere. We had to wait 20 minutes for our table (even though we had reservations) but sat comfortably at the bar. Bar area has high-ceilings, with a sports-bar feel (flat screen TV) but the service was excellent. There was a group of very drunk (tourists?) at the bar that got our attention. We 3 ended up at a very small table about 15' from the bar, and felt a bit crowded, but the service remained excellent. Had to have our last bowls of conch chowder (very good) and grouper (very well prepared).
Go! This place remains a landmark - a nostalgic slice of old Florida.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flicker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Green Turtle Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Flicker42,


Thank you for such a fabulous review of our historic restaurant the Green Turtle Inn. It's always so fun to hear people reminisce about the times they spent here in the past. I am thrilled to hear your experience lived up to your expectations of our restaurant. Thank you for the memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, nice & clean restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Last stop before heading out of town and I'm glad we did. Sat at the bar for breakfast and was promptly waited on. I ordered the biscuits and gravy which was homemade and very good, husband got eggs Benedict. Best part was their hashbrown casserole....delicious!!!!!! Little pricey but the restaurant was extremely clean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Green Turtle Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Code7777,

Thank you for your review of the Green Turtle inn. I am thrilled to know you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Thank you for taking your time to let others know about your experience. We appreciate you and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
360 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Extensive Menu with Turtle Soup & Shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stopped on way home for a quick lunch after seeing many cars in parking lot, Clean, well lit with choices of many different seating options from counter to quiet table. Offered both a large breakfast menu and a lunch menu with too many items to pick from quickly. Fresh mahi, grouper, snapper and multiple preparation and condiment choices.

Service was outstanding with an offer to sample turtle soup prior to ordering , outstanding and ordered a cup. Crab Cobb salad outstanding.

Nice wine shop sharing building.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank c0de7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Turtle Inn also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Green Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing