We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint and charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

If your looking for a quaint and charming home-away-from home kinda feel, and not the "hotel-like" stay, then Ocean Dawn is the perfect getaway! With only 8 rooms, it is truly a private little gem. It is nestled in the Islamorada Key, and directly on the ocean. If you know much about the keys, it is hard to find a place that is situated right on the ocean. The rooms are artistically titled, and vary depending on how many are staying. We stayed in the Key Lime Pie room which was adorably adorned, and perfect for two! The bed was comfy, and the sheets were as soft as my own at home! The sliding door in the back of the room leads directly out to the ocean! We absolutely loved the convenience and the ability to step right out on the beach, sit on the sand, and open up a bottle of wine! Their are chairs, and chair-swings for you to sit out and enjoy the water as well. Although a little difficult to find, it was truly a wonderful, peaceful, and charming place to stay. Hal and Susie (I believe are the owners) and were absolutely so kind and welcoming! Minutes away from any snorkeling/diving/kayaking/tiki hut/ etc excursions, I highly recommend Ocean Dawn, and am looking forward to my next trip back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautybythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    37
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
316
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

We absolutely loved this hotel - no bar, no pool, no restaurant s(Not Needed! Its the keys for heavens sakes!) An AMAZING room which looked like a honeymoon suite, an incredible ocean view, Beautiful Beach to relax by, great Tiki Area for shade, comfy chairs, felt like you were visiting someones beautiful beach house. Hal & Suzy , the Hotel Managers are completely at your service and make sure that your stay is perfect. We stayed for 2 nights over the busy 4th of July Weekend. The price was very affordable for such a pretty hotel. Not like most keys hotels (I have been visiting the keys several times per year for several years so I know) who price gauge you to stay in a dump, because it's a holiday - not mentioning any names " Holiday Isle" oops! Holiday Isle was charging almost 300 a night for that weekend and it's a total DIVE these days.. used to be cool, now its disgusting!! )I felt like made a great choice and it worked beautifully. I recommend it a hundred times over and I will DEFINITELY be back!

Great Beach on the property to lay out and enjoy the scenery - would not swim though - low water level with lots of little sea life all around - my boyfriend loved it, I myself don't like things crawling around my feet when I'm in the water!

The Village Gourmet (next door) for yummy meal
CVS right across the street
Ma's Fish Camp for a GREAT meal that won't leave you broke! (down the road)
Robbies Marina for some Fun Tarpon Feeding - you have to see it! (a few miles away

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AListTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

Very well-appointed rooms, a nice, quiet location, friendly and helpful atmosphere. It was hot when we were there, though, and the air conditioning in the room was simply not up to the job. The air conditioner's location right over your head when lying on the bed also wasn't optimal. Maid service was only adequate.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenaroundawhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

On arriving at Ocean Dawn, we were welcomed by Hal and Suzie, they could'nt have been more hospitable and friendly. Our room the Salt Water Taffy was perfectly prepared for us and we were definately not disappointed. Waking up with the view of the beach and ocean was incredable. We stayed for 14 nights and could have stayed even longer, we did'nt want to go home. We would definately recommend Ocean Dawn to anyone who wants high standard accomodation. While we where there we met Charlie and Kelly (Charlie-angel) who have also revieved these suites and I could'nt add anymore to this super review. Hal and Suzie do their jobs over and above what is required and we can't wait to go back and see them again..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pansypotter-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near STL MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

After arriving at Miami International airport and retrieving our bags, my cell phone rang. It was Suzy making sure we made it safe and sound and checking to see if we needed directions from her to get to Ocean Dawn. How thoughtful! My husband and I take two trips yearly and I can honestly say that we have never had a manager from a hotel call to see if we needed assistance after landing.

We rented a car and drove from Miami to Islamorada. I believe the drive was about one and a half hours but seemed shorter. We turned at the Post Office and were greeted at Ocean Dawn with a manicured entrance. Hal and Suzy were waiting for our arrival and greeted us by name the second we walked into the office.

We stayed in the Key Lime suite which was perfect for the two of us. I must note here that I was pleasantly amazed that the towels were fluffy and smelled great...not like hotel towels. Also, the bedding was plush and soft, the bed also very comfy.

Hal and Suzy work extremely hard to make sure that each customer is satisfied. After talking to a few other residents we learned that everyone was made to feel comfortable there. Even when lounging on the grounds by the water, Suzy noticed I was drinking wine from a cup and brought out a goblet for me to drink my wine in. HOW SWEET!

I'd also like to mention that the resort wasn't full the first few days we were there. And because of that, at least I think this is why Hal may have had just a little bit of time, he took my husband and Tony (a new friend of ours) out in his personal boat for a little fishing one afternoon. My husband was ecstatic! They caught a few sharks and had a great time.

Thanks Hal and Suzy for a great trip! We WILL be back!

Places worth going to:
Ocean View - the bar was fun, outdoors, Gloria is the best bartender ever! Lots of locals there. We met Gary, a retired fire fighter from NY, and he took us for a cruise around the island, refused to let us pay him.

Anne's Beach - pretty little strip of beach along US 1. Plenty of places to picnic in the shade. Bring a chair and make yourself at home in the water.

Ronnie's - tarpoons, that's all there is to say.

Lazy Days - had a great lunch here with a fantastic view.

Whale Harbor - fun to go to in the afternoon to see all the boats come in with their catches.

Lorelei - the most beautiful sunsets are viewed from here!

Wahoo's on the Waterfront - Let me just say this - DELICIOUS! We started with crab legs and the shrimp and lobster bisque. AMAZING. We ordered the grouper entree as well as the snapper and shared. AWESOME! The view was nice, we watched the moon rise while having a relaxing dinner.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlies-Angel711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Tecla
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

The hotel itself is centrally located. The rooms are great - very clean, large and comfy. Air conditioning was perfect, as was the tv with cable. They have no restaurant on property yet (-I believe there are plans for one in the near future), but they do have a great menu with a large selection of nearby restaurants with delivery services which compensates for this. They have a beautiful small private beach and say that they are in plans to install a pool soon which will make it even better! The staff (Hal, Suzy, etc) are extremely friendly... Suzy even went out of her way to help me with some stuff I needed done for my friends wedding!
I have been to several hotels in the Florida Keys in the past couple of years and none have really convinced me to return - this one has!!! I LOVED this place and will definitely return...!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton-Freewater, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay at Ocean Dawn. Suzy and Hal Miller were very hospitable hosts. They were very friendly and very concerned that we enjoyed our stay. They worked hard to make sure the grounds and the rooms were kept clean and tidy. When the new pool, and landscaping is finished, this will be a great, small resort right on the Ocean. While the fishing was not too good, the atmosphere and accommodations made up for a lack of fish during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbnjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.3 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Property: Ocean House
Address: 82885 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3658 (Formerly Ocean Dawn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, upscale, and adult only hotel and resort houses eight luxurious suites. The right choice for those wanting to getaway and just relax. A perfect location for small weddings and groups. Newly renovated with a pool, beach, spa, cabanas and fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing