We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate rooms and friendly staff”
Review of Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Immaculate rooms and friendly staff”
Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed here for only one night. Its a small hotel with about 7-8 rooms, but they are all very nicely renovated with all the possible amenities. we had booked the Purple Isle room, but Mona (the front desk person) upgraded us "for free" to the Islamorada suite as we were traveling with our 5 yr old daughter and Mona felt the Purple Isle may be small for us.
The suite was huge with 2 queen size beds, a big flat screen TV and a beautiful view of the ocean and the beach at the back of the hotel.
The bathroom was also very clean and a good size. The only thing was the water pressure from the shower was very weak. We mentioned this to Mona and she said she will get it fixed right away.
The hotel does not have a pool or gym, but its a very nice place to stay for a short stay of 2-3 nights and if you are just looking to relax in a quiet place.
Mona had very nice recommendations for breakfast, lunch and dinner and everything is less than a 5 minute car ride away. I would recommend the Islamorada Cafe and Bakery for breakfast, the Morada Bay Cafe for lunch and LoreLei for dinner.

  • Liked — the room decor and room amenities
  • Disliked — no breakfast or pool
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sachiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    37
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
321
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We enjoyed our night at Ocean Dawn Suites. It is the size of a very small roadside inn but it is very beautifully renovated with attention to detail. Staff is friendly and accommodating. There is a somewhat run-down looking tennis court that my husband says does not look "playable" but their real attraction is their built-up peninsular beach that is wonderful and quiet and just lovely for a relaxing read or a shared bottle of wine while gazing out in the horizon (the beach also includes a gazebo with lots of seating, including a swing.) Kids could play in the sand and if they have the equipment there could be serious beach volleyball games there! I've read that they want to put in a pool which would add a lot to the hotel's allure. I have to admit that we were disappointed that there is no breakfast. I was under the impression that the place was listed here on tripadvisor as a bed and breakfast but it seems it IS listed only as a hotel so it's my mistake. (There's a little bakery/coffee shop within easy walking distance.) We think that if you're on a budget this hotel is pricey, but if you are looking for a lovely and serene hotel to get away from your worries and just relax this is a nice choice.

  • Liked — Relaxing location on beach and well appointed room
  • Disliked — Bit expensive
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaseAustinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St Lucie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2008

On a whim the wife and I decided to get away for the weekend at 9:30 on a Thursday night. After viewing a number of different websites we chose to give the Ocean Dawn a try. We really didn’t know what to expect calling so late in the evening but a friendly voice answered the phone and helped us with all our questions. We explained we would not be there until late Friday evening , we were told it would not be problem. When we arrived around 10:00 Friday evening we were greeted with a wave and a smile. More important than the wonderful accommodations and gorgeous views was the outstanding customer service that Mark provided from the moment we stepped out of our vehicle until we were getting back in. It’s a relaxing place you won’t want to leave.
Oh my wife wanted me to add "clean rooms! They were spotless!"

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — The loud AC unit
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PortStLucieJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

My fiancé and I chose to stay at Ocean Dawn Suites after reading the good reviews from Tripadvisor. In fact, all of our hotel decisions are based on reviews from this site.

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of November after spending a few nights in Fort Lauderdale. Islamorada is a very nice place to visit if you want to relax and take it easy.

The hotel is easy to find if your rental car has a GPS (perhaps one of the greatest inventions in the world!), otherwise it is located just behind the Post Office in Islamorada.

As soon as you arrive, you know you have chosen a quiet retreat.

Our room looked exactly as it appeared in their website photos. We stayed in the Purple Isle Suite (the rooms have names, not numbers!). Our room was on the bottom floor of the two storey building and had direct access to their small private beach area.

The room was spacious enough for two persons, though it didn’t have any wardrobes for hanging clothes. The large fridge is great for storing drinks and other items, there is also a microwave and a coffee maker supplied.

The bed is very comfortable as well as the pillows. There was also a sofa, which can be used as a sofa bed if required.

As I mentioned earlier, this is a great place to relax and chill-out. The private beach is clean and has beautiful unspoilt views of the Ocean. There are beach loungers and chairs provided, as well as beach towels if you ask for them. The weather in November was wonderfully warm, it can get quite hot in the afternoon, so don’t forget your sun block!

Mona, the Manager is a genuinely wonderful person who will go out of her way to make your stay comfortable. There are no dining facilities at the hotel, but Mona can recommend nearby restaurants if you ask her. I would recommend a nearby Steak House and Grill called “Mad Dog”, they do really good steaks.

Nathalie who works in Reception recommended a nearby place for drinks called “Lorelei Cabana Bar”, which is a great place to watch the incredible sunsets and listen to live music.

You can drive in two directions in Islamorada, either North or South and there are many places to eat and drink along the highway. A drive over the “Seven Mile Bridge” gives you wonderful views of the small islands and ocean.

Local attractions include the “Threatre of the Sea” where you can swim with the Dolphins or watch a show, there is also a History of Diving Museum nearby.

You can fill your fridge up with drinks and snacks (especially Ice Cream!) from a small local supermarket called “The Trading Post”, which is open 24 hours, or drive over the “Seven Mile Bridge” for larger supermarkets and other convenience.

During the day we rented a boat from a company recommended by Mona and spent the day being lazy on the sea and fishing. We have never fished before, but the rental company helped us rent some rods and buy some tackle, our first time fishing in the clear waters was fun! A word of advise if you want to fish, you will need a Fishing Licence (we only found out when we were stopped by a Park Ranger on his boat), the licence can be obtained by telephone and I think it costs 25USD per day, and they also have prices for 2 or 3 days etc… These can be arranged by the boat rental company, or in our case by mobile phone out at sea…

I think the cleaning lady comes every two or three days (we only stayed three nights), though Mona and her team will provide clean towels and change sheets during the interim.

I later learned that the cleaner comes at 10.00am for 4 hours. How do I know this? Well, on our last morning we asked for a late check-out at 2.00pm (normal time is 11.00am), Mona called the cleaning lady and told her that she didn’t have to come that day as Mona would take care of the room herself as well as see to the other three occupied rooms!! Talk about “going the extra mile!”.

The hotel is great, but Mona makes it SUPER!.

  • Liked — Clean and Comfortable
  • Disliked — The room had no Wardrobe for hanging clothes
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escape23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demarest, N.J.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

We loved the location. We were in an upstairs corner sweet. The people were lovely and could not do more to please. Grounds
are nice although it could use a pool and they are putting one in.
There is no beach but an area you can access the water, it has that yukie bottom however. Regular rooms are small with no closets and no king size bed but everything is updated tastefully. This is a small place with not too much to do for kids. For the right price it is a great place to stay if you want quiet simplicity.

  • Liked — newness of accomodations and location.
  • Disliked — no actual beach and swimming.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NikiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2008

At first I was skeptical about staying at this resort because it doesn’t have a pool or a good beach to swim in. But I really like the pictures they have posted on their website, so I decided to book it for 4 nights. Let me tell you…. this is a true MARVELOUS PLACE! When we first arrived there we were greeted by Ms. Mona the general manager who soon informed us that the tv in the suite we were supposed to stay in, the Purple Isle, was not working but we were gonna be upgraded to the Coral Reef on the second floor. We were really amazed by the cleanness of the place and it smells so great! Because it’s located on the second floor the ocean view it offers is spectacular! Every night we left the screen door open and we felt asleep with the sound of the breeze and the ocean waves! We were fascinated with everything inside the suite. In fact, the entire Ocean Dawn is stunning! During our stay, Ms. Mona made sure that we had everything we needed and she kept constantly asking if we needed anything. We felt really welcome. The resort now offers continental breakfast and every morning we ate at the tiki hut located at the very entrance. Lovely! We spent the last night in the Purple Isle, is a nice place as well without a kitchen and a table but it offers direct access to the lush green grass and white sand beach. So we got to experience two suites for the price of one! What else can we ask for??!!! Thanks Mona and the rest of the Ocean Dawn staff for given us a splendid experience!!!!!!

  • Liked — Cleanness
  • Disliked — no pool, & things seen to be hang to high i.e. mirrors.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Katrachita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2008

We found this place through the internet and were amazed at how wonderful this place was! The rooms, staff and overall experience was 1st rate!!! I would stay here anytime and recommend this place as anyones first choice of a hotel! Mona and the rest of the staff provided excellent service and were there to greet us when we arrived! We will be back just as soon as we can... You will NOT be disappointed if you choose this place to stay!

  • Liked — The rooms were amazing and the location was just PERFECT!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tarac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,307 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
944 reviews
1.4 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Property: Ocean House
Address: 82885 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3658 (Formerly Ocean Dawn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, upscale, and adult only hotel and resort houses eight luxurious suites. The right choice for those wanting to getaway and just relax. A perfect location for small weddings and groups. Newly renovated with a pool, beach, spa, cabanas and fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing