We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property, but needs a few "tweaks"”
Review of Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed for five nights over Christmas, 2013. Not too many rooms but a wonderful property which is right on the water…modified beach (real beaches in the Keys are hard to come by). The maintenance men do a beautiful job with the grounds and there is a lovely pool and a heated spa pool, as well as a great outdoor seating areas, including a fire pit. They also provide bikes and sit on top kayaks at no extra charge.
There are attendants at the water side all day long. The sunrise views are exquisite. On the downside, the mattresses are soft. If you don’t like this, ask them when you reserve, to put a board under the mattress. We had a lower level room (Key Lime room). There is a bit of a problem with hearing conversations from the room terraces on either side. The walls are a bit thin as well and you can sometimes hear your neighbors. There is no restaurant on the premises but they serve a continental breakfast. This was too sugary for us…fruit-flavored yogurt, fruit, and sweet pastry. We went out for breakfast every day which was actually wonderful because we went to a nearby local restaurant to eat which I will review separately because of the good food. The room was pretty clean, although the housekeepers need to focus a bit more, and socialize less with each other. The rest of the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful; and overall a very pleasant and quiet stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the end on the second level/upstairs.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RonnieSEUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for spending your holiday season with us at Ocean House. Happy to hear that you enjoyed many of our inclusive amenities that we provide for our guests. Your input is sincerely appreciated. We make every effort to accommodate any special needs our guests may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Ocean House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 400 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We recently stayed a week at Ocean House and could not have been happier with our choice of hotels. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed and as if the staff truly cared that we had an enjoyable experience. We stayed in the Purple Isle room which, in our opinion, had the best view of the garden.

On several occasions, we enjoyed sunrise on the beach, a glass of wine by the firepit on the beach, lounging by the pool and having breakfast on our patio or in one of the cabanas. We even had lunch brought in and dined on our patio while we were waiting on our in room massages which the hotel also arranged.

The grounds are gorgeous and secluded. Even though you are in the middle of town, you feel as if you are on a secluded island of your own. We really didn't even bump into other guests very often even though the hotel was full the entire time we were there. Trixie the kitty was an added bonus to give us a pet fix while we were away from ours.

The only drawback was noisy neighbors upstairs. The first night there was a little party among friends above us and then the last two nights had someone with very heavy footsteps who was prone to pacing. Annoying but not a deal breaker by any stretch.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone heading to the Keys. Thanks Ocean House for a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: The Purple Isle has a great view of the garden and then beach beyond. Can't see the water but yo...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed your week’s stay at Ocean House and are delighted to hear that you experienced a peaceful, relaxing vacation while enjoying several of our inclusive amenities. The sunrise over the ocean is indeed equaled to the amazing sunsets in the Keys. We and Trixie hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This place truly deserves top spot amongst the hotels in Islamorada. For us, it was also the best hotel on our whole tour and I only wish that we had booked more than three nights here, as it was our last stay of the trip.
The ambience was fantastic and the staff were lovely; especially sensitive when they heard I had bad news from the UK about my mother en-route to arriving.
The facilities were excellent and the gardens truly beautiful. The beds were soooo comfortable and the little touches like complimentary snacks were a real bonus. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the orchids everywhere were a true delight.We had breakfast on our upstairs room terrace each day and it was a place to truly feel spoilt without it being pretentious in any way. We also felt able to really unwind and just do as we pleased, knowing that the staff were available should we need anything.
Would we go back - yes, yes, yes - not for the keys as such but just because this truly was a real paradise. Thank you for making the last days of our tour so wonderful.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room at the back overlooking the gardens with a view of the ocean - bliss!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tpouvtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

All of us at Ocean House are overjoyed with your kind words. The entire staff takes great pride in working to ensure each and every guest feels relaxed and able to unwind during their stay with us. Thank You for staying with us. We are delighted that you will return to enjoy the gardens, peace and tranquility of our little paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. We had the most wonderful, romantic and relaxing stay at this gorgeous oceanfront hotel. We stayed in the Key Lime Pie room and it was very nice. The fridges and complimentary snacks were nice touches. Our bed was very comfy. We had a nice patio looking out to a lovely garden where we had our little breakfast every morning. Our room didn't have an ocean view but we didn't really care. We spent most of the time at the pool. The poolside cabanas were great for those who don't like too much sun. The spa was secluded and nice. The little patch of beach in front with the lovely white lounge chairs was great. And we loved the beach firepit! Very fun! We took out the kayaks for a bit, although it was very windy. We also rode the bikes around town one afternoon. The staff was extremely helpful and could not have been any more friendly. The only drawback was that we didn't realize there is no bar or restaurant. So don't expect to order poolside drinks. But they did offer a service where they would bring in food from a local restaurant and set it up for you for a fee. (We didn't see anyone doing that, though.) But in the end, we went down to the liquor store and brought in our own drinks, which actually saved us a lot of money. We stopped by the nearby Ceecha Lodge to compare and were so glad we avoided the hustle and bustle of a busy place like that! For anyone who wants a very quiet, restful and relaxing vacation, I don't think you can go wrong with the Ocean House.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mellwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for letting other travelers know about your Ocean House experience. Since your departure we finally received our long awaited beer and wine license. Cool, refreshing beverages are now available pool side for those that love to be pampered. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy several of our inclusive amenities at Ocean House. Hoping to see you again when you are due for a little more R & R time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Ocean House is an absolute paradise. My wife and I got to stay here for a week
We stayed in Coral Reef room it had an amazing view of the ocean; the landscape is simply breath-taking, beautifully design always well-kept. This whole place is always clean and orderly. The staff was friendly, courteous, and very helpful; we were able to relax and thanks to the amenities this place has to offer we also enjoyed kayaking and snorkeling. Ocean House is truly amazing place, words do little justice, you actually have to go and experience it, and we highly recommend it. This was our first experience; it will not be our last!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

We are elated to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. You are exactly the type of guests for which Ocean House was conceived. Our goal will always be to create a quiet, relaxing, all inclusive adult resort where it seems you are a million miles from the hectic everyday life most people experience. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until we left, the staff was fantastic! I can't say enough great things about this place! The views, the pool, the kayaks... Perfection! I highly recommend ocean house to all! Very quiet and makes you relax which is exactly what we wanted! Loved staying here, and we hope to return one day! Beautiful scenery, great room (Purple Isle) Thank you again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ashevillemakeupgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and review. All staff members take pride in working to ensure each guest has everything necessary to complement their stay at Ocean House. As a small boutique resort, it really means a lot to our staff when guests take the time to let others know their vacation experience. We truly hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Ocean House is truly one of the most peaceful "resorts" you can find. The customer service is stellar. Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted in the parking lot. Our bags were quickly taken to our room while we were given a glass of wine during check in. The Key Lime room was lovely and spacious. You have a full sized refrigerator and a microwave, super soft queen size bed and a larger-than-average walk in, tiled shower. The patio is semi-private meaning there is a sheet between you and your neighbors and people walking by can see you, but it has a really pretty view of the garden. I am a light sleeper and was excited to hear that the property was undergoing renovation to remedy the overhead noise for the lower level guests. I was however disappointed when I could hear all footsteps, TV and voices while trying to fall asleep or stay asleep. The pool area is really nice and we took full advantage of the secluded hot tub on a daily basis! We also rode the complimentary bicycles to breakfast one morning and would have loved to take the kayaks out but unfortunately the weather was not cooperating. I was REALLY disappointed that the fire pit was broken as my boyfriend and I were so looking forward to sitting by it and there didn't seem to be a big sense of urgency to fix it. Having breakfast delivered to you anywhere on the property is a fantastic touch. I agree with some of the other reviewers that it's a little/lot high on the sugar side: Fruit, sweetened yogurt, pastry, orange juice. Maybe plain oatmeal with nuts and dried fruit could be an option....At least the pastries were very fresh and tasty :) All in all, this is a beautiful property with excellent customer service. I would stay here again on the upper level.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Key Lime room. Larger than average walk in shower; comfy bed. It's on the bot...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing thoughts regarding your stay at Ocean House. I am glad that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities we routinely offer our guests. Especially glad to hear that you would return. Suggestions are always carefully considered as we work to improve our amenities and service. Once our expanded food handling license is approved we will be able to offer our guests more of a breakfast variety. Again, thank you for sharing with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,372 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,434 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
970 reviews
1.4 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Address: 82885 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3658 (Formerly Ocean Dawn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $318 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, upscale, and adult only hotel and resort houses eight luxurious suites. The right choice for those wanting to getaway and just relax. A perfect location for small weddings and groups. Newly renovated with a pool, beach, spa, cabanas and fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing