We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean House
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Charming hotel - excellent service - beautiful grounds - very clean - extremely relaxing. Resort grounds are amazing. Only drawback need some more space for personal items in room. Would return. Overall a superior hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Owner at Ocean House, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
The rooms on the main level are slightly smaller than the upstairs. You may have stayed in the smallest room (Key Lime Pie) which is challenged for space. I will investigate possible solutions to this problem. Thank you for staying at OH and we look forward to your return.
Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    37
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
307
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Outstanding, quiet, unbelievable...The Beautiful Ocean House Hotel is truly a Isamorada Key a Treasure: A "Five Star Boutique Hotel" 10 out of 10. My wife and I were on our way to Key West, called, lucked out and got a room, then never left. Wonderful a quiet little oasis of comfort, after a busy day of fishing, or swimming, boating, or after long night of too much fun. It's the perfect place to come "home" to a relaxing night, to spend a night, weekend or week or month. A beautiful exotically manicured property and gardens are exceptionally exquisite, an abundant varieties of gorgeous flowers and exotic plants, and infinity pool looks overlooking there own beach area. A fireplace hot tub all he amenities breakfast, etc.. You can be alone as you want, the Landscape Architect designer did an unbelievable job, a comfortable and wonderful oasis, including 8 areas to be alone, beautiful quiet lounges in cabana areas, secluded and surround the pool. The staff are very professional are trying really hard to please everyone, and very polite, they can not help you enough, they are well informed, very helpful, quietly effective staff will insure a most enjoyable stay. The Hotel is on the Old Highway, near all restaurants, other Hotels the beaches, fishing, marinas, all the action is strategically located a short distance of one -two mile markers,located south of near Mile Marker 82, its location is close to the many fine restaurants, many within a short drive the area has he Bst Fishing World Wide recognition. The Islamorada Key has many bars, but was surprised about how good the fine dining restaurants were and the truly fun, a great experience. Parkng is available.This is truly a five star boutique hotel.
The days are dreamy long summerd days long hot and quiet, the night the sky is full of bright stars, the sunrise, hve a midnight swim, the moon! Oasis Atlantic waterfront location with exceptional in an exotic garden setting that is truly amazing. Sunsets can be seen at many other restaurants within a two minute-five minute drive across the street.Ocean House staff are all wonderful including Jennifer, Brian and AJ are great and Trixie meeting you upon your arrival!. By the way the rooms are great beds are comfortable, we slept in 5 out of 8 rooms, we did not plan this trip it was spontaneous, but we loved it so much after the first night we wanted to stay on way to Key west and on our way home. Full sized refrigerators, alcohol welcome, kayaks and snorkling gear available and bicycles. Taxis are available so you visit other restaurants/bars and you dont hae drive.. Don Bremner St Petes Beach, FL and Markham, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: Only can recommend five out the eight, but they are probably all just as beautifully appointed and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Owner at Ocean House, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
OH must have not had one room available for your entire stay. Sorry that you had to do some room hopping. We are overjoyed to hear that you decided to stay with us. We try to tell guests that Key West is only a 1.5 hour drive and can be experienced in a day, maybe two. If you want real relaxation, peace and tranquility then OH is where you want to be. It appears that you took full advantage of the experience that we have been working towards for the past five years.. It was wonderful having you and please come back again.
Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a gem tucked in a residential street on the Atlantic side of Islamorada. The property is beautifully landscaped and maintained. The 8 rooms are decorated tastefully, and some have a full Kitchen. But truthfully the rooms, while clean and inviting..it is the pool and beachvarea that will capture your heart. The staff welcomes you at check in and stays attentive and helpful throughout your entire stay. Although there is not a restaurant on premise, fear not the meals offered poolside catered from local restaurants is a great alternative. We enjoyed fresh salads served under the tiki hut. Peaceful and luxurious. We felt like we were guests at a private villa tucked away in paradise..time stood still. We will return often....
Within a 2mile radius there are wonderful restaurants..sunset at Loreileis...
And the porch at Pierres...search no more!
and the bikes, umbrellas, cabanas, SUP and kayaks are all
Included! A lovely breakfasts is served promptly when requested
And served in your room, porch or on the beach!
Paradise...most definitely

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lake1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Owner at Ocean House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are happy to see guests enjoying our hidden treasure as much as us. Owners and staff are working hard to make sure your every need is satisfied. We are also glad to have so many returning guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

During a weekend fishing trip to the keys we stayed at Ocean House, selected based on trip advisor reviews. It is a really cute little property. The grounds are noteworthy, the pool and beach are lovely. The hot tub was not working during our 3 night stay.
Jennifer and Brian offered great service, accommodating our early morning breakfast requests.
I have to comment on other reviewers noise comments. It is an issue. We had a suite on the first floor, and we could hear EVERYTHING upstairs. We addressed this concern with the staff, but really, there is no way to remedy, tile floors are not forgiving. Also, their laundry facilities were outside of our room on the bed wall. Not good for sleeping in.
Book an upstairs room and you'll have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jschmidlapp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Owner at Ocean House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We apologize for the spa not working during your stay. Unfortunately we needed to order a part to fix the problem. We always strive to have all operations of the property in working order. Yes, we have had acoustical engineers out to assess the noise problem and plan on closing OH in September and October resolve it. We appreciate your review and know you will be 100% satisfied when you come back on your next fishing trip.
Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
207 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a great place if you want to relax in peace and quiet. The setting is perfect with a lovely pool area looking on to the beach and sea and the gardens are lush and immaculately kept. The service was good and the wine and beer on arrival a welcome sight. The room was clean and well appointed although I think we had the same room as one of the previous reviewers who commented on the soft bed. It was very soft, with a dip in the middle and an odd squeak. Was ok for one night but might have struggled for any longer. I would recommend this hotel if you really want a restful place to chill or if you're passing through to the lower Keys. We would have appreciated the opportunity to buy wine and beer on site as you rather took your life in your hands crossing the Ocean Highway to the shop! There also aren't a lot of places to eat in walking distance - we went to Bentleys which was good - which rather limits the options if you don't want to eat at the hotel or drive further afield. And the building work going on next door was a bit of a nuisance and spoilt the atmosphere but hopefully that will be finished soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wowfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Owner at Ocean House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are currently working on figuring out which bed is having the problem. All beds are new with a 25 year warranty. Also, the beer and wine license should be in place soon. We felt the property and amenities took precedence over the beer and wine license. Now that we feel comfortable with the direction of OH, it's definitely time to move forward. We are happy to hear that your stay was relaxing and peaceful. Hope to see you return soon.
Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband & I recently spent 5 days at the Ocean House and the stay was nothing short of exceptional. From the moment we pulled into the drive the grounds were lush, tropical and beautiful. Todd stepped right out to greet us and we were given a beer and wine- off to the best start! We stayed in Sandbar and it was clean and super comfortable. The ocean was so peaceful we spent most of our time in the cabana and were completely RELAXED. Todd & Brian were super attentive always there when you needed them. The breakfast was excellent and very filling; we ordered lunch as well and it was delicious and worth the price.We cannot wait to return to this beautiful property!

Room Tip: upstairs room ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Owner at Ocean House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Bryan and Todd will be very happy to hear that you appreciated their efforts. They are both really wonderful employees and we value them greatly. In fact, all the staff works very well together and are team players. As an owner, it's comforting to know that we have such a great staff who are attentive to the guests needs. We look forward to your return.
Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We are just back from 3 memorable nights at Ocean House. Even before we arrived, we had emailed to get some recommendations for places to eat and the response was not only fast, but spot on. The property is absolutely beautiful. The gardens are amazing - clearly a lot of love has been spent on them, and the pool area is great too. We ate lunch here, by the pool, on a couple of days and it was really very good. We can particularly recommend the spicy fish taco! What makes this place particularly special however are the people who work there. Nothing is too much trouble and your relaxation and happiness seems to be their sole goal. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: I would go for a room on the upper floor to get a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akmonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keystothegarden, Owner at Ocean House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff works very hard to make your vacation special. Glad to see our newly added lunch menu items are being well received. Thank you for choosing Ocean House and we hope you come back again soon.
Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.4 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,126 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Moorings Village and Spa
The Moorings Village and Spa
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Property: Ocean House
Address: 82885 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3658 (Formerly Ocean Dawn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, upscale, and adult only hotel and resort houses eight luxurious suites. The right choice for those wanting to getaway and just relax. A perfect location for small weddings and groups. Newly renovated with a pool, beach, spa, cabanas and fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing