We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Heaven”
Review of Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean House
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is going to be the most pampering, luxurious experience you can have in the Keys, in my opinion. We stayed in several bed and breakfasts/hotels in the keys and nothing compares to this. Ana and the staff anticipate every need and they thought of every detail down to the complimentary bath/shower items that are amazing! The grounds are beautiful and unlike other places on the island, its really the only property that is "typical" of island paradise living. Beds are comfortable, great food nearby, plenty of activities. There is no way you cannot relax!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meparksnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys73, General Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments. You mentioned our bath/shower amenities - they're by Malin + Goetz from New York who pride themselves for producing products using natural ingredients. They're also available online if you want to use them at home! I'm glad that you were able to wrap up your Keys trip by relaxing at Ocean House. We hope to see you return.
Happy Holidays.
Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 400 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

We normally travel two or three times a year to small, out-of-the way boutique hotels in the Carribbean and Mexico. So this was the first time in 10 years we've gone anywhere that didn't require a passport and/or a ride in a small plane or boat. And yes, we were a little nervous about what we'd find in Islamorada and Ocean House.
The title of this review "Fabulous Little Place" pretty much says it all. It is, at the same time, both elegant and down to earth. From Ed, to Anna, to Rod...the service was both personal and gracious. They're genuinely nice people doing what genuinely nice people do, which is take good care of their guests. We left feeling that we'd met people we'd love to see again...more because of who they were than their service while we were there.
The rooms are uniformly very nice but it is the LANDSCAPING that is nothing short of exceptional. You know immediately that a lot of money has been spent in those gardens and it's just as obvious that they are beautifully maintained. If you visit Ocean House, there's a "story" about them and it's worth hearing.
Bottom line...Ocean House has now made our top-three destinations list. We will most definitely be back at least once a year. But we will fly into Ft. Lauderdale next time instead of Miami. Trust me, the 20 extra minutes of drive time is worth it to avoid Miami International and the surrounding traffic.

Room Tip: Two corner top rooms are the best...but all are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys73, General Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

It was a real pleasure for us to have you stay with us. Thank you for your great comments. We are blessed with a staff the truly cares about our guests and subscribe to the philosophy of giving clearly outrageous service. It was refreshing to have numerous nice conversations with you during your stay.
Thanks for your comments about our landscaping. Our goal is for the surroundings to help put your mind in the right place for a truly relaxing experience while you're here.
We all look forward to your return!
Thanks again,

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beautiful view, sparkly clean, and friendly staff. Highly recommend!! Stayed in the islamorada room... Loved the view from the balcony ... Gorgeous gardens and seeing the ocean. Very relaxing weekend. Hope we can visit again

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jupiter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys73, General Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your comments and for choosing Ocean House. I'm glad that your stay was relaxing. Our goal is to provide the ultimate setting for a quiet, intimate, and relaxing experience.

Thanks again,

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed in the Ocean Dawn room and had a perfect view East to see the sun rise from our bed. Nice breakfast, well appointed rooms with full kitchen. Full sized fridge is a nice touch. There is a cook top and pots / pans, but we didn't use them. The super friendly staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and taken care of.
Landscaping is amazing and perfectly groomed.

Room Tip: upper floor may be a bit quieter and better view over the landscaping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys73, General Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your review. You picked the perfect time of the year to see the sunrise from your bed! Thank you for choosing Ocean House and we sure hope to see you back to stay with us again.

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent a week at the Ocean House for our honeymoon. We LOVED it! We were told they had just finished renovating the landscape within the last year--and boy did they do a great job! From the moment you pull up the palm-lined drive, to the GORGEOUS pool, gazebos, and sand beach, you feel like you are on your own private island! The rooms are lovely and very clean. We spent a lot of time in the hot tub and star-gazing on the beach at night. Half the time we felt like we were the only ones there! We only saw the other guests a few times during the whole stay. There is a very romantic, private ambiance.

We would love to come back again for an anniversary trip, but if we get the chance we will probably stay on the second floor next time, as the walls and ceilings seemed to be pretty thin. If you have an upstairs neighbor with a heavy step, like we did, it made for some noise. The ONLY improvement we could suggest at all would be a bit more variety at breakfast-- it was pretty much just muffins, fruit, yogurt, and juice. But we knew about that when we made the reservation, and it was served to us on our porch every morning, which was lovely.

Overall, we could not have asked for a more perfect honeymoon. Thanks to the staff at the Ocean House for a wonderful experience! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Thin walls and ceilings--try to get a room on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys73, General Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you for your comments and for choosing Ocean House for your honeymoon. I especially appreciated your comments about our light continental breakfast. We take your comments seriously and will strive to add variety to what we serve as we get into the new year. Also planned for Q3 2013 will be building improvements adding sound barriers to the floors.

I hope that you will choose to come back to the Keys and stay with us at Ocean House!

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed in the Key Lime pie room which was perfect for one night--had a small patio with two nice lounge chairs. The small pool area is perfect and there is a hot tub nearby. The beach area is large for the size hotel (which has maybe 8 rooms) and is very relaxing. Breakfast was included and consisted of Yogurt, juice, fruit and muffins.

You can tell they have invested a lot of money in this place---everything is nice and high quality.

They made the mistake of showing us the wrong room first on the second floor corner---which was SUPER nice but obviously more expensive than the one we were in. Would definitely stay in this room if we were to return. There is not a lot to do in Islamorada but it's a very good choice if you want a chill get away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmjpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys73, General Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry for the confusion at check-in when you got to see the other room. That was the Coral Reef which is larger, with kitchen, and has the ultimate second floor view of the grounds and ocean.

I hope that you will return! We have the perfect resort for a quiet, intimate getaway where you can sit back and "chill".

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a phenomenal boutique hotel! Ed, Mike and others are extremely friendly and did everything to make our 5 night stay perfect. The grounds are spectacular, beach front with views that made us feel like we were in Hawaii. The pool and hot tub area with cabanas and many seating/sunbathing options are great. The rooms are beautiful with private patios and recently updated. The firepit, hammock on the beach, bikes and kayaks a real plus. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: First 3 nights on ground level which was a great room and so convenient. 2nd nights on 2nd floor (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmszj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys73, General Manager at Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We're blessed with a staff that truly cares about providing a fantastic experience for our guests - and with guests like you that are so nice and give us good reason to care.

I hope that you'll return for future stays in the Florida Keys and stay with us at Ocean House.

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,411 reviews
8.7 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
714 reviews
2.1 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Address: 82885 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3658 (Formerly Ocean Dawn Suites)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the unfortunate circumstances of Hurricane Irma the Ocean House will be closed until further notice. We have suffered major damage from the storm, once the property is assessed properly we will know how long it will take to repair our beautiful hotel. Thank you for your patience and understanding during this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing