We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Wedding Weekend!”
Review of Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Wedding Weekend!”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The Ocean House is by far the best place to have a wedding in the Florida Keys. Not only is this a first class hotel with gorgeous views, it also has a very nice and accommodating team of professionals to help with every need. Heidi, Lauren, and Brian are a first class act! Everything was beautiful and handled very professionally from start to finish for our wedding. From the moment we arrived till it was time to leave, they could not do enough for us and made sure our weekend was fantastic!

Our guests were greeted with refreshing cocktails and shown around the property and to their rooms by a member of the resort. Each morning breakfast was served in the suites or at the pool (as requested). The fresh pasties were to-die-for and were paired with a nice fruit display every morning. The fact that this boutique resort has 8 rooms, which accommodate between 16-20 people, make this the perfect private resort to have a Keys wedding. The rooms are newly remodeled and the landscaping surrounding the property is breathtaking. The property is extremely clean (both the grounds and the rooms) and is very well maintained. The property offers a nice variety of amenities including the cabanas, lounge areas, tiki hut, gardens, infinity pool, hot tub, fire pit, beach, etc.

The property lends itself to a phenomenal view for a beach ceremony and reception. The resort is quiet and romantic and it was almost like having our wedding on our own private island. Our ceremony was set up at the tip of the beach facing the ocean and the reception was in the sand. The atmosphere was great for our luau - from the pig roast to the polynesian and fire dancers - the night could not have been better. We had a nice and relaxing atmosphere for guests to lounge on the pool deck and under the tiki hut throughout the night and the fire pit lends itself to a great social area. It was PERFECT!

The team was extremely easy to work with and coordinate all of the details for the wedding. This is a HIGHLY recommended venue. Everyone at the Ocean House made our wedding weekend amazing – the guests loved the hotel and the rooms, and especially had so much fun at the wedding. We’d recommend the venue to everyone and anyone!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are FANTASTIC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    37
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
318
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
COlorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Ocean House is a small, quiet, lovely surprise. You are seconds away from the honky tonk of Highway one, and it is as quiet and sequestered as if you were in a much more remote place. The rooms are clean and comfortable- nor particularly inspired design- wise, but fine. The garden is absolutely magnificent. The whole layout of the outdoor space works beautifully, and the small # of rooms make you feel like you have your own private getaway. We ordered lunch 2 days poolside and it came from the Spanish Garden restaurant - perfect soup and salads.We followed that up with a Paella dinner at Spanish Garden which was absolutely delightful. I highly recommend Ocean House for a family gathering - we were a group of 5 and the layout and ambience were just right for all of us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JODYGur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Beautifully landscaped with well appointed rooms. Gorgeous tropical landscaping throughout the property. Lots of opportunites to relax in the pool, jacuzzi or hammock, sitting by the fire pit, or enjoying quiet time on the lanai. The staff is very attentive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoxieGal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My spouse and I stayed here recently for 5 days.The hotel is fairly new (well, new management that undertook a major renovation) and don't have their website established yet, so we had to find all of our information through TripAdvisor or internet searches. We were a bit leary as the hotel is small (8 total suites), but I am so glad that we stayed here!

First, the property is beautiful. The landscaping is very lush and welcoming. The grounds are very well maintained and nothing is out of place. It's really one of the more beautifully landscaped properties that we've stayed. It includes a saltwater pool (it's listed as an "infinity" pool, but I wouldn't consider it such as the "infinity" section was only a few feet long), a hot-tub, a firepit area and a sandy beach-like area (the only entry to the ocean is a small boat launch to the side so the beach is only functional for sitting and relaxing....not for swimming).

The rooms are also recently renovated and had very warm feeling. Our room had a kitchenette with stove top, refridgerator, microwave and all the dishes/pans needed to cook a small meal. It was nice to have the extra space with a kitchen table and couch also (the room felt really big). The balcony was also nice, but not private. They do have curtains that you can close between the balconies though. The bathroom was nicely done with tile work (including a stand-up shower) and included very basic ammenities (shampoo, soap, hair conditioner, tissue, body wash, hair dryer).

The property also includes bikes, kayaks and snorkeling equipment (free to use), so that was a nice touch (and the equipment is in good condition). The staff was very helpful--absolutely no complaints on housekeeping or front-desk.

Breakfast was included daily. I can't complain since it was "free" but it was the same thing every day: croissants, fruit and orange juice. Again, it was free, but it would have been nice to have more variety like bagels, muffins, a variety of fruit (rather than just banana and pineapple), etc.

The only complaint I have is the bedding. The bedding was, by far, the worst bedding I have ever slept on...which was even more disappointing given the hotel's high-class branding. The pillows were old (they looked to be at least a few years old....yuck!) and extremely flat. The mattress and linens seemed old and cheap also--certainly not a comfortable experience (let alone a luxurious one!).

Bottom line: it's a great place to stay for the price and I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will definitely be back.....but only if the bedding receives a major upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is a very small, private, classy boutique resort. Beautiful rooms are surrounded by lucious, well taken care of grounds. The grounds include several wonderful sitting areas, private hot tub, fire pit, infinity pool, water fall, and alot of white sand that leads out into the ocean. We were offered a cocktail on arrival and brought breakfast every morning at our calling. Kayaks, Bicycles, and paddleboards are available at no extra cost. The staff is friendly, approachable, and accomodating. They will also assist and advise you in making arrangements, reservations, etc throughout the keys. This is definitely a resort that makes coming to the keys a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish41_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The staff were wonderful. Let us check in early. Gave us fresh ground coffee to make coffee in our room when we arrived and offerred us a refreshing cocktail. Fresh fruit in the morning at the pool or in room if prefer. Cabanas, tiki hut, gardens, pool, hot tub were amazing! Had kayaks and nice bikes to use for free. Offerred snorkles too but we never needed to use. Rooms were spotless clean, with white sheets. Let us stay after checkout to get massages by the pool until we had to leave for our flight, which they arranged the massages for us. Only minus is no bar as dont have liquor license yet. Nearby are some really great restaurants and a sea lion/dolphin sanctuary where u can pay to swim with either. Basically this place is a clean,amazingly gorgeous , totally wonderful, retreat into paradise. Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margoritaville11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Ocian Side, this property is for people that want the option of experiencing the Management Style of Heidi Praver from Casa Morada that is Bayside. The landscaping and amenities are just the best: Heated salt water pool and jacuzzi. Nicest cabanas, gazebos and footpaths anywhere. This is quiet, the staff is attentive but not in your face like resorts. You will NOT be pummeled by unwanted music that is never turned off (think Chica lodge) so you can hear the rustling of the lush landscaping and palm fronds in the wind. The ocean just unfolds before you. This is where we stay when we want a kitchenette for longer stays in the upper keys.There are only 8 spacious units so everyone has lots of room. We had no reason to venture farther south, and this is coming from a former resident of Key West who was the diver on the Glass Bottom Boat. We just keep going back as there is no better property management that understands what people who KNOW the keys want to experience!

Room Tip: The upper floors have the best ocean views. The Coral Reef is a queen on the end and has a kitchenet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.3 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House

Property: Ocean House
Address: 82885 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3658 (Formerly Ocean Dawn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, upscale, and adult only hotel and resort houses eight luxurious suites. The right choice for those wanting to getaway and just relax. A perfect location for small weddings and groups. Newly renovated with a pool, beach, spa, cabanas and fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing