We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice, Clean, Sleepy Place - Highly suggested for Relaxation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matecumbe Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matecumbe Resort
Save
You added Matecumbe Resort to your Saves list
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, Sleepy Place - Highly suggested for Relaxation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

stayed here actually in May of 2010 - and had a very relaxing week of vacation.

the room was clean, had a patio, galley kitchen and anything you would need to cook and live like tyou would at home.

The pool was relaxed, clean and the perfect mix of sun and shade, clean bathrooms in pool house area.

Support staff was there business hours and was exactly that - supportive.

I believe this place would be great for fishermen/women with own boat as there is a launch on site. the beach was craggy and nice for a visit, not for building sand castles or jogging. However, the Keys are not short on fantastic beaches and many parks are quite near.

A small playground, indoor recreation amenities and charcoal grills round out this nice place for an affordable Florida Keys getaway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ScottyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

The experience was nice. Price was low, people working there were the nicest anywhere on the keys. Pool was clean. This is an older place but was clean, well furnished, and free of bugs ! Like most all of the keys, the beach is not desireable for swimming, however, over by the boat ramp the kids and I found it quite a great place to swim. This place is on the ocean side of the island and is suitable for Sunset pics. Housekeeping was really pleasant lady.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank happytravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I was doubtful that we would find a clean, comfortable room with a kitchen in the Keys for an affordable price and we did at Matecumbe Resort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N2FUN9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

This is a very "Keysie" timeshare condo that also rents out rooms for the owners on a daily ( sometimes) and weekly basis. It is a converted motel, and the accommodations are adequate, small bathrooms, reasonable air conditioning, a great but small swimming pool, and a fun place to be.

There are 5 buildings, ranging from a two story wing on the waterfront, a one story wing( with the largest rooms facing the ocean, and three other wings with second floor condos and in one building, some first floor studios.

There is not reataurant - but turn left and head down the road two miles and on the left you will find the cleanest restaurant you have ever eaten in during your life. it's a Cuban place at Caloosa Cove, and the name dows not come to mind, but it is fabulous.

Beaches - if you came to the Keys for swimming beaches, you came to the wrong place. but there is a nice one five miles down at Anne's Beach Park.

Food - lots of area restaurants - some excellenet ( Lazy Days and Green Turtle), some known for sunsets, and others for great breakfasts. Gene Hackman has a home there and can regularlyu be found having breakfast at one place, but I'm keeping his spot to myself, yo have to ask round.

Great place to ralax, wireless internet is available as well as a unit in the office, and you will really enjoy it. if you are looking for a pool with a swim up bar - try Key West and add $200 per night.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank BobInFlorida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Matecumbe Resort is a great, no frills place for people interested in the natural attractions of the Keys. Accomodations are basic but clean and roomy. The staff is helpful and friendly.

This is not a property for someone interested in resort style amenties but is best suited for someone that will spend most of their time enjoying the ocean and the bay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alredfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this resort last week and had a wonderful time. If you need someone to hold you by the hand and walk you through each day, this isn't the place for you. If you can use the Internet to find places of interest and places to eat you will love this place. The staff will gladly suggest places to you also but there are no resort planned activities.
We had a large one bedroom unit with central air, island furniture , and a small but adequate kitchen. HD TV in the living room, a large patio, and a nice quiet atmosphere.
There is a boat launching ramp and if you have a boat, you get dock space with your unit. There is a nice pool where we spent a lot of time and charcoal grills and picnic tables.
There was no messy lot at the entrance as suggested by other reviews. There are private homes next door but all are neat and attractive. The resort itself is well kept up and attractive. It is small and quiet and what a location!!
The lack of a decent swimming beach was the only drawback but there is a public beach just down the road.
The resort has bicycles for guests use and there is a six mile bike path across the street.
I had trouble finding their website but it is www.matecumberesort.net.
If you want a beautiful quiet setting to relax and enjoy the keys, this is the place. If you need someone to wait on you hand and foot, find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ohio_couple_movin_on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed at the Matecumbe Resort and I have to admit that I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews. First off the photos on the website are not exactly objective.
Throughout the Island there are million dollar homes with less than desirable neighbors; it's hard to control your neighbors. We stayed in unit 105 and had a sunrise every morning. We were also greeted by "George" the local bird who stood at our patio window. This is a fishing town and not much to do. But that is okay, Key West is only 75 miles south if you are looking for nightlife. I really liked staying here. We spent one day at Anne's Beach which was only 1 mile down the street. There were nice paths for walking and the Sunset from the bridge (not to mention the giant seaturtle and manate we saw)was better than the one we say in Key West. As for the hotel, the rooms were clean and the bathrooms looked as though they were recently remodeled. The bed and living room furniture were new. The decor was a little dated, but I wasn't there to stare at the pictures on the wall. The staff was pleasant and accomodating. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Carrie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
7.9 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina
#10 of 19 in Islamorada
3.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matecumbe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matecumbe Resort

Property: Matecumbe Resort
Address: 76261 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3914
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Matecumbe Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing