We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beat snorkel trip ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Theater of the Sea

Theater of the Sea
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.50*
and up
Theater of the Sea General Admission
Ranked #1 of 59 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Our mission is to provide a wonderful home for our animals while sharing them with visitors in ways that inspire awareness and sensitivity towards animals, the environment, and conservation issues. At Theater of the Sea watch up close and personal DOLPHIN SHOWS, sea lion shows, parrot shows, and much more! A pioneer in animal interactive programs, at Theater of the Sea you can... SWIM WITH A DOLPHIN... SWIM WITH A SEA LION... Wade, Meet and Paint with a Dolphin... Meet and Paint with a Sea Lion... Swim with the Rays... Swim with the Sharks... And Meet the Sea Turtles! Our 30 minute dolphin swims include BOTH trained behaviors like dorsal tows, kisses, and hugs as well as swimming and snorkeling with dophins. We offer a variety of animal interaction programs for various ages and prices. Programs are available daily and include admission to our dolphin, sea lion, and parrot shows, guided marne life tour, lagoon-side beach, and bottomless boat ride. Theater of the Sea is family owned and operated since 1946 and one of the oldest marine mammal facilities in the world. The lagoons and lush, tropical gardens are home to Atlantic bottlenose dolphins, California sea lions, sea turtles, tropical and game fish, sharks, stingrays, alligators, marine invertebrates, and birds.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
New England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beat snorkel trip ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

What a great tour and snorkel trip ! We had gone on another snorkel trip the day before but this one was much more personal and went to two great reefs. Heidi, our guide was lots of fun and knowledgable as well. We had 4 hours to snorkel and get a tour of the area. There were only 4 people on this tour , so be aware that the boat is relatively small compared to some larger operations (no bathroom ) Heidi let us go at our own pace and there was no rushing. I was really glad we went out to the lighthouse. It was absolutely gorgeous out there and the tropical fish were brilliant. The bay side tour was a different and interesting perspective. It's well worth the extra money to spend the 4 hours on this trip. Great trip.

Helpful?
2 Thank ksez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,839
    680
    167
    57
    60
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dolphin swim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I did the dolphin swim on our honeymoon in the keys. I can't say enough how much fun we had! My husband had actually done it before when he was a about 10 and he enjoyed it even more this time. It was well worth the money!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Go but, don't bother with the sting rays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

If you have small children PLEASE DONT BOTHER w/the Sting Rays! Even w/small kids it's a waste of money! We had a 5,7 and 14 yr old...we thought we could swim w/them, that's not the case...you are made it put swim flippers on and sit by the edge of the murky pond that is riddled with sharp rocks. Instruction was to hold a small fish between ur fingers and let the ray take the food. I was bit immediately in the knuckle and now have a large mark. Both of my small kids got there toes bit. We were given 15 min to feed and 15 min to swim with them. Total waste! After feeding we were made to scoot along the rocky ground till a drop off. Leading to scratches. The water was so murky and green, you could barely see your own hand in front of your face. The trainer kept hesitantly asking if we were having fun. Ahhh NO! The park has a few things to look at but they hold you captive in the entrance till you pay by keeping exit doors to the gift shop you enter threw locked. Very unsettling ...would we go back, yes - to see the animal shows again but we will never waste $350.00 again to swim with the captive rays. If you want to do the Rays right, go to Sting Ray City in Grand Camen. That is wild rays, off a beach done right, no fins, just a bucket of squid and googles.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank celiatripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Attraction with old Florida flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This privately owned park is part of the Keys history. If you are looking for big shows with flashy costumes you may need to head up to Orlando. If you want to see a tropical park that has the charm of an original theme tourist attraction then visit Theater of the Seas.
Be sure to join in on a guided tour. You will make it to all of the offered shows and get great information. The shows are cute and educational.
TotS is also a cat rescue. There are dozens of cats that call the facility home. Most are abandoned, many with issues that make them hard to adopt. So not only does Theater if the Sea rescue and rehabilitate marine animals, they also take care of many cats that society has turned it's back on.
All of the animal lagoons are natural sea water. This has a completely different look than what you might be used to after visiting zoos and aquirums. TotS animals get to interact with with natural inhabitants of the ocean just like they would in the open water. We watched one of the dolphins play with some sea weed as we had lunch on the dock.
Take your time, enjoy this small piece of the Keys and the many creatures that call it home.

Helpful?
Thank Denna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun Stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Swimming with the Dolphins is terrific! You actually SWIM with them and the trainers are very nice. The place is a bit run down but they have a great program. Beware of the cat smell in the gift shop. This place is a rescue mission for them and they are everywhere. There is also a possum in a cage in the check in area not really sure why, but whatever.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theater of the Sea also viewed

 

Been to Theater of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing