We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great foodie find in the keys”
Review of Spanish Gardens - CLOSED

Spanish Gardens
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We use Imported ingredients and the freshest seafood and produce..Along with Grass Fed Beef....We put a lot of care and love in our authentic dishes and we enjoy our guests...Spanish wines, Homemade Sangria and a Full Bar add a nice touch with a romantic artsy backdrop. So come in and enjoy our Tapas!
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spanish Gardens Cafe in Islamorada is a great find for foodies. After a week of fairly typical Florida Keys fare (seafood, burgers, conch fritters, cuban, etc.) the Spanish Gardens Cafe provided a nice palate cleanser. While the outside is unassuming, located in a strip mall, once you step inside the atmosphere was reminiscent of past trips to Spain. The service was outstanding (thank you, Manlio!) and the food sublime. My military husband and I were there with our three teenage daughters, who after years of travel and life overseas, have very- well developed palates. Our server did a great job entertaining the girls while steering us in the direction of some exceptional dishes-Florida wild shrimp with garlic sauce, succulent mussels, imported Spanish meats and cheeses, mediterranean sunshine salad- it was all outstanding. Even the key lime pie baked in a terra cotta dish was exceptional. We were none of us fans of the local dessert but let ourselves be talked into it- a twist on the original and the caramelized flavors from the broiler toned done the usually very sweet pie (although the bitter chocolate cake was still my favorite!) If you want a break from the beach scene and you appreciate a good meal, and a lovely glass of Spanish red then this is the place for you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TSD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnyThompson, Owner at Spanish Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

i remember your family and I know Manlio enjoyed waiting on you all, thank you so much for the great review and look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Spanish Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 231 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

For us, a trip down memory lane as we lived in Spain for 2 years. We had a cup of the fish soup for appetizer, then we had the Shrimp plate and the Mussels plate entree. The food was excellent but for what was served and the price, they didn't match! If we had not had 2 portions of bread, we would have come away hungry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnyThompson, Owner at Spanish Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

that is so nice to hear that our place reminds you of Spain!! Thank you for dining with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Amazing experience on the way to Key West. Great place to eat the flavors off spain. My vegetarian friend says that the mussels was so good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank molsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnyThompson, Owner at Spanish Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

I remember you all and how you Loved the mussels hope you enjoyed Key West Thank you for your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

First day at the keys and looking for something good and different to eat. Spanish Cafe delivered!
Reservations are encouraged.

We had paella, sangria, the wine is good. We asked for the flan dessert. It was great!
Thank you Brian for the seat.

Thank you everybody!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jomets3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnyThompson, Owner at Spanish Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for finding us and I remember Brian giving up his seat for you!! Enjoyed your visit and I'm so glad you enjoyed us and the cuisine...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

When in the Keys, namely Islamorada, this is just about the only place we eat. The food is beyond amazing!!! Not only does it taste great, as one reviewer accurately stated it's "clean and fresh"--nothing heavy or fried on this menu. The service is also unprecedented. Chef Jose is accessible and Lynny is always there to take care of your every need. While everything is delicious, we especially loved the "Soup of the Day," Peppadew Peppers, Seafood Paella, Zarzuela, Meatballs, Fresh Fish Salad, and Beef Tenderloin Sandwich. The latter three items from the lunch menu are my seven and ten year old boys' favorites. Also, be sure to try the unbelievable Key Lime Pie and Valencia desserts. The Spanish Gardens must be experienced to be fully appreciated. It's unlike any other restaurant in the Keys or anywhere else for that matter. Words fall short of adequately describing this hidden treasure. Unfortunately for us, our favorite place to eat is some 1,200 miles away from home. See you next summer, folks! Until then, would it be possible to get the Sweet Pea Soup recipe? Ours doesn't taste anything like Jose's. LOL!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nechmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnyThompson, Owner at Spanish Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

WOW!!! What a very nice review...Just as your visit was enjoyable with us we feel the same way about you and your family...So nice to have a guest that enjoys what we do and you and your family are so open to trying everything!! Thank you for your visit and see you next time your in town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanish Gardens also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing