We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere was terrible, restaurant hard to find.”
Review of Prime Steakhouse

Prime Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Prime Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Grinnell
Description: Prime Steakhouse offers the finest steaks in the Florida Keys! Whether a 24oz Bone in Rib Eye or a succulent Filet, grilled to perfection, Prime is the best kept secret in Key West. Tucked away in the Conch Harbor Marina above Dante's, settle into our intimate dining room and let our servers take care of the rest. In addition to fabulous steaks, Prime serves Fresh Florida Lobster and nightly Seafood and Pasta specials. Nightly specials may also include a 16 oz Bone In Filet, Double Bone Pork Chop and an outrageous 16oz Veal Chop. Don't miss the Crab Cake and the Smoked Gouda & White Truffle Macaroni & Cheese. Noted for it's impeccable world-class service, the finest wines from the USA, Italy & France and a superb Martini and Cocktail menu, Prime has become the locals favorite Steakhouse!
Clearwater, Fl
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Atmosphere was terrible, restaurant hard to find.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The steak was good but not great. All of the food seemed to be missing just one thing. Give it a shot if you're desperate for red meat on a long vacation, otherwise stick with the local fare elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danteskeywest, Public Relations Manager at Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to review. Hope you enjoyed your time in Key West and if you find your way back to Prime give us another go...we're always happy to see a returning visitor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    64
    33
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food but no atmosphere”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I wanted a romantic dinner. The advertisement and on line reservations advertised a sunset dinner. When we arrived we were seated right up against another family with a child. There was hardly anyone in the restaurant and yet we were literally sharing a bench seat. The filet we ordered for 42 dollars was delicious, and the waitress was delightful, however, the atmosphere was very disappointing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nshearer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danteskeywest, Public Relations Manager at Prime Steakhouse, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello and thanks for the review. Our style isn't for everyone it seems, although we have had wonderful reviews on our ambience in the past. I'm glad you liked the food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, LA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A plate of plenty”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

To reach 951 Prime, you must go through Dante's on the Margaret St Docks. It is a bit hidden, but worth the trip. The meals seem a bit on the high end but each dish can feed two. Neither my wife, nor I could finish our meals.

The steaks start at 20 oz and get larger. The faire is traditional American stock, chicken, steak and pork. There was a pasta dish as well. The steaks com a la carte. The food is well seasoned and flavorful. There was no WOW factor, but the food was darn good eating. The wait staff was attentive and polite.

The restaurant is small and the window seats have a great view of the harbor. Reservations are highly recommended, but couples and single can eat at the bar. We went late and the dining room was booked, yet the had room at the bar, separated by a four foot paneled wall.

Overall a very pleasant dining experience

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“speechless”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

absolutely wonderful food. There really aren't any words for this place. You just need to check it out!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KnowsGoodFood18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Best steak you will find outside the state of TX, if not better than TX itself. Wonderful seafood. Fresh. Great wine selection. Great for couples or to start your evening.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KnowsGoodFood18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Steakhouse also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing