We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful”

Saint Mary Star of the Sea
Ranked #9 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

wonderful church- beautiful windows and architecture. Very peaceful- friendly people- a break from all the excitement of key west

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lauramOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    141
    25
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In the name of the Father, and of the Son . . . . .”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Attended Mass here this past Sunday while visiting Key West. Felt welcomed from the first moment we enetered the church. The grounds are so tranquil. Beautiful Grotto, Rosary Garden, and permanent Stations of the Cross Garden. Not to be missed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TortugaFan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited the Saint Mary Star of the Sea Church after learning that it is featured in a James Bond movie. We had passed it several times during our City Tour trips and wanted to see the Grotto up close. It is a beautiful church to check out while there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank flipper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robeck99
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church...relaxing Mass”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We never miss Mass while in Key West...the open air, and lovely service is a nice break from the island "fun".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank robeck99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“beautiful.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It;s a beautiful basilica with a lot of history which goes back to the spanish american war, The grounds are magnificent/

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mocdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Mary Star of the Sea also viewed

 

Been to Saint Mary Star of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing