We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel..bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ok hotel..bad location”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

as someone who has never been to key west, i expected the hotel to be on the beach as it says marriot "beachside".. this hotel is NOT on a beach..it has a little man made beach section..and a dock, so the title of the hotel is misleading. the pool is ok, nothing special. the location is probably the worst part. the island is small and hotel does have a shuttle that takes you to duval street..but if you want to be in walking distance from all the sights in key west and where the action is then this is not the hotel for you. On the plus the rooms where nice and clean, but the hotel basically feels like one giant parking lot with rooms attached.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Thank you very much for your comments. Once you get to know Key West a bit better, you will find that it is actually not known for its beaches. The island itself is surrounded by a reef which prevents waves from hitting our shores, thus few natural beaches are created. We are actually one of the few hotels on the island with any type of beach at all. It is, in fact, man made and primarily used for sunbathing by our guests. Regarding our location, that is one thing we can not change. As you mentioned, we do provide the shuttle, which leaves our hotel every hour on the hour from 8am to 11pm. It drops off right on Duval Street. Many of our guests love the fact that they are staying in the more serene part of Key West but are still able to easily get to the action of Duval Street in a matter of minutes. We have heard that it is "the best of both worlds!" Every traveler has their own preference and I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Hopefully next time you are in Key West, if you decide not to stay with us, you will at least stop by for our 2 for 1 happy hour, daily from 5-7pm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,722
    661
    232
    109
    84
See reviews for
560
1,502
53
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This is the first hotel as you enter Key West. The rooms were very well furnished and maintained. We had reserved a 3 bedroom / 3 bathroom suite for 6 friends. One of the BR was small but it was as described on the hotel website so no surprises. The living room was roomy; one time we had about 12 adults in the room but it did not feel too crowded. The balcony off the living room is quite large and could easily sit 4-6 adults. The pool side was great and very clean and well maintained.

The only downside is that there is no beach as advertised on the hotel website. It claims to have a 'private beach' but it is absolutely useless. The bay water is really dirty and you probably wouldn't even want to step in.

Overall, a beautiful hotel was excellent rooms and service. A bit pricey but worth the extra $$.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripADave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We booked this hotel on Priceline (name your own price)-it was one of the few "resort level" hotels in the area. We got a terrific price but there was a huge catch...our teenage daughters had to sleep on the floor! Be aware that if you book through Priceline that what you will receive will be: one room (part of a closed off suite) with ONE queen bed. This was not one of the options, as the hotel staff reiterated several times upon our check in: it is the ONLY option. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was roomy, however the accomadations just do not work for a family of four. Luckily we were only staying one night so we made the best of it. There are NO typical "2 double beds" to a room situation unless you call directly to book the suites.-at an enormously increased expense. The amenities and pool /common areas were nice and the staff were professional. This hotel would be fine if you are a couple looking for a romantic place to stay, or have a young baby with a pack n play. However, if you need a second bed, you should call ahead to verify-particularly if you book online.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Thank you very much for your comments. We pride ourselves on having some of the most professional and hospitable staff in Key West. We are truly sorry that you were unaware of our standard room set up before you arrived. It is true that all of our standard rooms have a King bed. There are no queens or doubles at all in the hotel. We do our best to let guests know about this, as it is stated several times on our website and on the websites that sell our rooms. Unfortunately, with Priceline, because you don't see the hotel before you book it, you are unable to see all of the information first. They do say that bed type is not guaranteed. On a hotel level, if you realize this after your booking and call us directly we will do our what we can to accommodate you in the best way possible. For families, we are actually one of the most family friendly hotels on the island, offering two and three bedroom suites. Of course they will cost more but they all have a full kitchen, living room, dining room and balcony overlooking either the island, resort grounds or Gulf of Mexico. The master bedrooms are magnificent with a king size bed, jacuzzi bathtub, stand up shower and double sinks. The second bedroom in both the two and three bedroom suites have a king bed and a private bathroom. The third bedroom in the three bedroom suite has another private bathroom and two twin beds. These suites are perfect for 3 - 6 people! Of course for the honeymooners and couples, we have the luxurious one bedroom suites with incredible views. Next time you are visiting Key West, please call our reservations directly so we can accommodate your needs and help make your stay more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Very friendly staff, extra clean rooms, and a beautiful view of the Gulf. A true gem of Key West. Their restaraunt was great and very reasonable. Downtown was a $12 cab ride.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snookbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2009

The hotel is accessible to everything and has a beautiful view of the bay with a fairly decent beach. The rooms are very clean and well decorated. The service is top-notch. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting luxury with the comfort of home.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weaselette32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for three nights, July 2, 2009 thru July 5, 2009. We reserved on-line on our way therre. Got a great rate of $144 per night for the three nights for the king room. The room description is right on - there is no view (other than of the hallway). We asked about and were offered an upgrade to a one bedroom suite for $60 additional but we passed. Went to the room and it was wonderful. Quite upscale. However, we really wanted a balcony. We walked around the fantastic pool area and saw that the first floor units (which start on the second floor above the parking garage) had a spiral staircase to a path leading to the pool. Just to our liking. We went back to the front desk and asked for a one bedroom suite on the first floor overlooking the pool. We were happy to pay the $60 per night additional fee and when we saw the room, realized what a deal we got. It overlooked the pool, and had the staircase we wanted and took good advantage of. The "suite", which is a one bedroom condo, was spectacular. It must be 1,000 sq. ft. Master bath (yes, there are two bathrooms - the other one being a half bath) had a large separate shower, two sinks and a soaking whirlpool tub. The king size bed was so comfortable we both slept well each night. We had dinner in their on-site restaurant, which we greatly enjoyed, and had dinner in the unit the second night, eating on the balcony. We had breakfast each morning at the restaurant (very good). We also made good use of the pool, which is a saltwater pool (not heavy salt). We brought our bikes with us and biked to downtown Key West each day. There is a very nice wide bike path and the distance is only 3.5 miles. We liked staying away from the craziness of downtown. For those not bringing their bikes or not wanting to drive downtown, the hotel offers a free bus from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. which leaves hourly. This is truly a lovely hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFortMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We were there on our anniversary and used awards since my husband is Platinum.
They did nothing special for our anniversary and originally placed us in a “standard” room.
Beware that all standard rooms are part of a 2 room condo, with the standard room being the 2nd bedroom. All standard rooms have the same “view” NONE….you look out your window to a concrete wall. We had arrived late the 1st night so we felt we would address the room situation the following morning. We did speak to a manager and he found us another room with a view which was overlooking a man made beach and the gulf; much more romantic for an anniversary.
To make clear on the room set ups. When you unlock the door from the outside you walk into a very small foyer, straight ahead is another door that unlocks to the 1 bedroom suite with the full kitchen, living room, dining room & separate bedroom/bath. To the right or left depending on the location is the door that unlocks the standard bedroom which is fairly small with the one window that overlooks the cement wall.
My advice is to make sure you ask or reserve the 1 bedroom suite. What I understand is that you can upgrade for 60.00 and get both rooms.
We ate breakfast buffet daily ($16.00), the pool food was good but service could be slow, we usually just walked to the bar and ordered. Didn’t eat dinner the restaurant so can’t comment on the food, but another couple did and they said it was good.
We did cook a few nights in the beautiful kitchen. We went to a fish market and bought fresh grouper fish off the boat and baked it with garlic butter and blackened spice along with a bottle of wine on the patio watching the sun set; very relaxing the best fish I ever ate!
One last note, if parking a car the elevators are not marked and you can search for a long time trying to find them. That was a frustration for us and many.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,337 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,369 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Property: Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing