We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice oasis in Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice oasis in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated just at the entrance to Key West as you come from A1A so it is not in the middle of the Duval Street Hubbub. But it is pleasant and typical Marriott. The pool is very nice and relaxing with bar and restaurant service. The rooms of course clean and comfortable and cool in the tropical heat. The hotel has a free shuttle service down to Duval Street which is convenient and a nice cost saver. Also saves you from having to find parking which us no easy task. I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,468
    569
    210
    100
    69
See reviews for
475
1,280
45
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
247 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We reserved one of the presidential suites for the last two nights of Fantasy Fest. Naturally the placed was packed. The room was very nice and very clean. Although our icemaker quit working during the night, the maintenance folks were very attentive and brought in a large bag of fresh ice pronto. Another issue which became a non-issue was immediately addressed by Ms. Uma - a truly lovely person. Dmitry at the front desk was also top notch. The onsite restaurant came highly recommended but since they didn't open until 5:00 PM we were directed to the poolside bar. That was very disappointing food. We enjoyed the pool from the far end to be away from the loud music.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinked_10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I hope you had a great Fantasy Fest while here; I will pass your comments on to those you mentioned as well as to our F&B manager concerning your experience at the pool. We regret it was not up to your standard and will try harder, we take all comments seriously it is the only one can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed in one of their beautiful suites, nicely furnished, impeccably clean.......very comfortable, quiet and peaceful. All levels of service were superior from housekeeping, to pool attendants. Wait staff in the breakfast dining area were polite and extremely accommodating. The beach is very small but well kept. The location is not in the busy part of Key West, but it has a free shuttle service to Duval Street, (drop off is right in front of Jimmy Buffett's Margheritaville ). We enjoyed dining and touring on Duval Street, and returning to this hotel for total relaxation after a night on the town. This is a fantastic place to stay if you enjoy beautiful balmy weather in a totally relaxed atmosphere. We loved it here.

Room Tip: Stay in one of their suites for a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your great comments, the staff really enjoys reading what our guest have to say and it makes us happy to know you enjoyed the hotel as well as our island while you were here. Key West is a place like no other and great for relaxing as you did, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in a Presidential suite, ocean view 10/23-10/27/2013. Rooms beautiful, housekeeping wonderful, pool are great.Shuttles ran on time, would like them to run later than the 11:20.We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, no champagne on check in as we are just plain old guests.I think a porter for bags would be the only improvement I would suggest and the front desk was a little distracted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandhaven23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your remarks and I hope you enjoyed Fantasy Fest while you were here; we enjoy seeing everyone has such a great time. I will share you comments with staff and let me know when you return and we will make sure you get that champagne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here early Oct, 2013 for our 30th wedding anniversary. I can't say anything too nice about this hotel. The "beach" was maybe 200 feet long and not very pleasing to the eye. The pool was on the small side for such a large hotel. Road construction, which we were not informed of when booking the hotel, made pulling into the parking lot tricky. The standard room was on the small side. The closet doors could not be fully opened due to the fact that the work desk was in close proximity to the doors. The only good thing about the room was the fact that the bath tub was very deep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanibelbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I'm sorry the beaches in Key West are man made as this is a coral island with no nature sand due to the reef off our coast, we have tried to offer a place to tan while here; they are not at all like the beaches of Sanibel you like. The road construction you mention is actually past the hotel and now that the road is open to two way traffic it is moving much smoother. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay as we do try to help everyone enjoy our relaxing island but we will try harder should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Wonderful hotel, from the champagne at check-in, to the smiles at check-out, everything was wonderful! Ron was awesome taking care of everyone's needs at the pool. Serving fresh fruit and a cool spray on our feet, while soaking up the sun. A+++++. The shuttle was always on time and very convenient. The drivers did an amazing job. Manny was very informative during the ride to Duval. Thank you for a wonderful experience! We will definitely be back to the Marriott Beachside!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a 3 bedroom 3bathroom suite on the second floor facing the pool. BEAUTIFUL!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11jennifer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you we're glad you enjoyed your stay while here, one of our goal is to help you enjoy our island and make it a memorable vacation. I will let Ron know you enjoyed your time at the pool too he does a great job. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanordtown, MD
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Have stayed here three times. We go down for fantasy fest at the end of Oct. Apparently, this place is converted condos. I like it here and would give a 4.5 if possible. Here are the goods:
The standard rooms are nice. Marble type floors. Decent size. Flat screen TV. Plenty of storage space. Suites are unbelievable. As a gold member, we got a free upgrade last year. This is the nicest room that I have ever stayed in. You can tell it was a condo. It has an incredible kitchen. Better than my house. Huge living room. You could have a party for 20 in this room and everyone would have a seat. Nice balcony. Powder room. Off the scale incredible. I would give those rooms a 6+.
The staff is very nice and helpful. Free glass of champagne when checking in.
OK pool area with very nice staff.
Really nice buffet breakfast for gold members. Note that there is a $5 upgrade charge if you want the hot breakfast (omelets, eggs, etc.) vs. the cold. I don’t know if I would pay the price if it wasn’t free, but very nice.
They have a little beach. This is both good and not so good. If you just want to lay out on sand in the sun, it is quite nice. They have a little dock. The rent jet skis, kayaks, etc. If you want to swim, forget it. This is the gulf side. Grassy bottom, etc. Not really a swimming beach.
The negatives (and why I could not give a 5):
Location. On Key West, this is as far from any action that you can get. You can’t walk to anything. I wouldn’t take a scooter, because of all of the construction on the roads. You must drive, take their shuttle, or a cab. However, you also need to put up with the noise from the road. Try not to get a room facing the road side.
They charge a fairly high parking fee.
The shuttle. This is both good and bad. It is great that they provide a free shuttle to Duval street area. However, somebody from management needs to think about this a little more. During fantasy fest there are throngs of very very drunk people. So the hotel provides a shuttle. Very smart, considering what they charge for parking. However, it stops at 11:20 pm and only runs once per hour. This year they ran up to three buses at once. This service would be a tremendous improvement (and would have earned them 5 stars) if they ran every half hour during busy times and till 2:00 am during big events with lots of people drinking. This would improve safety and customer satisfaction.
11:00 am checkout. I always object to this. Asked for an hour extension. Even though I am a gold member and this was Sunday morning, they did not grant it.
No ice machines. I guess because this was a condo, they might not have places to put them. You need to call to the desk, and they will deliver to your room. Minor.
As stated above, the beach is not swimmable. However, Key West is not really the best beach place to go. If you have a car, beach is a few minute drive and has free parking.

Room Tip: The suites are awsome. try to get a room away from the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokerroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for being a repeat guest and the good score, I guess we will need to work harder to get that extra .5. I will bring the shuttle thoughts you had up at a staff meeting to be discussed. Your comments about Key west beaches is correct they are man made as this is a coral island with no waves due to the reef off shore so we do not have natural sand. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to your return next year for Fantasy Fest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#35 of 48 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Property: Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing