We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel for relaxation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel - mainly because of Jeff. He works at the pool area and is the best!!! Starting with spraying your feet with a mist of water to cucumbers for your eyes, Jeff knows what service is all about. We miss you, Jeff!!!

Manny also was great - if he's your shuttle driver, expect to learn all kinds of things about Key West. He's more than a shuttle driver, he's a tour guide.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The suite is worth it - full kitchen, so you can make lunch in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,468
    569
    209
    100
    69
See reviews for
474
1,280
45
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Travelled to Key West for the first time with a group of 4 to go Tarpon fishing.

Found the Marriot Beachside in Key West on the 'net. About $300 per night plus taxes.

Truly amazing rooms - one king bed, two washrooms, deep jetted tub, beautiful limestone shower, large kitchen and sitting area, huge balconies, etc.

Service was first rate.

Ate two dinners and several breakfasts in the hotel. Best value in Key West - broad menu, superior preparation and taste coming out of the kitchen, great service. Every dinner came with a free breakfast the next day.

Would definitely recommend the breakfast. We were able to get in at 6:30AM to grab food to go for our days of fishing. A definiite value at $20 per person.

Attractive pool with a large bar area. Not much of beach though.

Room Tip: Ask for the "A" rooms as they have the balconies overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randomvector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just finished spending 8 nights here and absolutely loved it. From general manager to the pool service, the staff here is fantastic. The restaurant is top notch, highly recommend their steaks.
The suites are probably the best I have ever experienced. We will return!

Room Tip: Go for the suite upgrade. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdb0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel keeps the standard you expect from the Marriott brand. Basically all the superlatives in previous reviews are confirmed. As for complaints: No, it's not situated downtown Key West (take a taxi or free shuttle); No: it doesn't have a beach (you don't come to Key West for its beaches) and Yes, it charges for parking (most hotels of this category do, in my experience, particularly in big cities or other locations with restricted parking space). On the other hand, wifi is free. So generally, thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrk011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent a weekend at this hotel and loved our room. We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath suite and we surprised just how nice it was. Plenty of room for a week's stay. We wish our first apartments were as spacious and well appointed. The suite had a washer/dryer and full kitchen including a subzero fridge! All dishes and cook wear were provided too though we didn't cook in our room. The room had a spacious patio and it was lovely to sit there in the evening and enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day. We loved the pool area but didn't make it to their beach. Nice bar right at the pool and attendents are available to bring drinks to you pool side. The Marriott free shuttle service provided by the hotel is extremely convenient to Duval St. and leaves the hotel on the hour and delivers you to Margaritaville on Duval. The shuttle leave Margaritaville at 20 past each hour until 11:20 P.M. Right now, RT 1 in Key West is under construction and we were told that will be the case for the next 18 months. It made it a bit tricky to get around Key West so we were so glad to have someone else drive us back and forth from the hotel to Duval (about a 20 minute ride). I stay at Marriotts frequently on business and always find the quality and service to be very good. This location is even nicer and more friendly than what I've experienced.

Room Tip: Suggest you choose a room with either Ocean view or courtyard view but not directly by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DogLovers1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival, and the woman at the front desk was most pleasant. They offered a glass of champagne as we were checking in. When we got to the room, we felt like the Beverly Hillbillies arriving at the new mansion. This room was way above my pay grade. The room was spotless; 1 and 1/2 baths, whirlpool tub. A full sized kitchen suitable for cooking Thanksgiving dinner for 6, and a dining room table big enough for serving that dinner. ( although cooking a Thanksgiving dinner wasn't in our plans, we could have if we wanted to ).
The bed was very comfortable, and the lanai overlooked the pool. Absolutely perfect, and was such a welcome surprise to a much needed vacation.
The pool area is lovely, and Jeff the attendant was over the top with service, even walking around with a spray bottle, spraying water on sunbathers' feet. The beach area is rather small by Florida standards, but it does have a secluded feel to it.
If doing the Duval Crawl is your main reason for coming to KW, this might not be the place for you; it's located as far away from Duval St as you can be and still be on the island. However the hotel runs a free shuttle every hour, and we found that to be very convenient. ( You can rent a bike, scooter or electric car right across the street, too.) No worries about parking, or drinking and driving. The drivers are very informative and will drop you off almost anywhere in the downtown area you'd like. One night there were too many of us waiting for a ride back to the hotel. We all couldn't get on the bus. So the driver told us to get a cab and the front desk would pay for it. I was a little skeptical but we grabbed a cab, and when we arrived back at the Marriott the girl at the front desk took the receipt, handed me my $20 with no argument, no discussion, just a smile. That kind of customer service is unheard of.
Speaking of which, everyone we encountered at the Marriott was pleasant and accomodating. They don't just hire good people, they obviously train their people. I spend a lot of time in airports, hotels and restaurants, and I see customer service all but disappearing. The Marriott Beachside is, in my opinion, a stellar example of what a hotel is supposed to be.
Our experience here was fantastic and we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: building 6 probably has the least desireable views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHarv_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, texas, USA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a nice property and the shuttle service to town is very good, if however you don't want to wait on the hotel shuttle a cab will cost you between $16 and $20 to the drop point in town. The grounds are well maintained and I would recommend you pay extra for a suite as the room we had was nothing special - the suite friends had however was very nice.

The hotel has a nice pool and sand covered sitting area but their is nothing I would call a real beach, certainly not one you could swim in. That said this is a solid property which is very well maintained and run. The shuttle runs on the hour and takes 20 minutes more or less to get to town. We never had a problem getting on a shuttle if we were on time, in fact they put people in cabs at no cost on the rare occasion the shuttle was full.

Had i selected one of the suites I would have rated this property above average. Its location, which some will like for the quite, and the fact that our room was only average account for my rating and don't reflect the positive staff attitude and general maintenance of the property both of which were above average.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite, they are worth the modest extra fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsthouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#35 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Property: Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing