We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard room is a huge disappointment!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Standard room is a huge disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights the week before Thanksgiving 2012. We usually love Marriott hotels, but we were hugely disappointed in this location. First of all, when we arrived, everyone else checking in was offered champagne but us - not a good first impression. Secondly, the room was extremely overpriced at $250/night! We booked a standard room, knowing we would not have an ocean view, however when the room description stated that we would have a view of the "open air walkways", we assumed it would be a view of the courtyard walkways, etc. when in fact it was a view of the stairway and hallways leading to the rooms. There was one tiny window in the room, on which the blinds could not be left open due to people constantly walking past. We have never stayed in a Marriott with a room so very tiny! It was barely big enough for the bed, a chair and small desk. It was even hard to access the small closet due to lack of space. The bathroom was relatively small, as well. One thing I did like about the bathroom was the large lighted mirror. It was the only mirror in the entire room. These rooms are obviously designed to be lock-out units to accompany the larger suites - not really intended to be booked as individual rooms. Immediately upon seeing our room, we contacted the front desk to tell them the room was unacceptable but were told they were completely booked and that we would need to check back daily to see if they had any cancellations. Finally, after calling the front desk daily, we were told we could move to a larger suite on the last day of our stay. We tried to move after breakfast but were told we would need to wait until about one p.m. We planned our day to return to the hotel at that time so we could finally enjoy a spacious room with a pool view only to be told that the room would not be ready until three or four. After that we did not return until dinner time and had to leave before eight the next morning. The suite was beautiful, an unbelievable contrast to the closet-like room we had just spent three nights in, but we did not even get to enjoy it at all! Another of the many problems we encountered was that for some reason they would only supply us with one washcloth per day! No matter how many times we requested more, they never supplied them! They must have a shortage of washcloths! Also, you have to go all of the way to the front desk in a completely different building for ice or wait up to half an hour for it to be delivered. The hotel is pretty far from Duval Street and the shuttle can get pretty crowded. This property should not be called "beachside", as there is only a very tiny manmade beach overlooking a bay - not the open ocean. Overall, we would never return to this particular Marriott property, nor would we recommend it to anyone, and I have to admit that I will even think twice about booking at other unfamiliar Marriotts for fear of a terrible experience such as this again. This location is a poor representation of Marriott hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid the standard rooms at all costs! If you can get a suite at a decent price, that is the only r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,624
    634
    226
    106
    77
See reviews for
525
1,430
51
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The staff greeted us when we arrived and regularly held the door when we went to the clubhouse. They were friendly and courteous. When we missed the hourly bus a second came and picked us up right away then offered to drop us off anywhere on the island. The second time that we went to a bus, there were too many people and they again immediately pulled another bus for our group (6 people).

We left a charger in our room and the staff called us to let us know they had it and could send it back if we needed. The breakfast for platinum members is a free continental which has good fruit and a few other items, or you can upgrade to one that includes eggs, bacon, and a few other hot items for $5.

The beach at this location has nice sand with a great view of the sunset (just sit more to the north). The water has a significant amount of weeds in it but the pool is large and nice if you want to swim.The only drawback to this location is it's distance from downtown Key West. They have an hourly shuttle but if you're planning on staying later than 11:20 you'll need to take a cab. Still the cab ride was only $4.50 per person back to the hotel, so it's not expensive.

Room Tip: There are plenty of beach chairs and space available, so I wouldn't worry about a beach view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

PROS:
- Friendly staff from start to finish.
- James assisted with my reservation and he couldn’t have been more accommodating. He even sent the kindest handwritten note welcoming us to the resort.
- The front desk clerk, I believe his name was Jeremy, was very friendly and very welcoming to my partner and I - and he suggested places in the area we may want to visit. All other staff we encountered were equally as professional and helpful.
- Complimentary champagne is given at check-in – always such a nice touch.
- Gorgeous grounds – the entire hotel, common areas, guest rooms, and grounds are meticulously clean and well polished. I travel often for both work and pleasure and have to say this is probably the cleanest room I’ve ever stayed in. I didn’t find one thing that seemed “off”
- Breathtaking, huge, comfortable, luxurious, homey, suites. We stayed on the 4th floor where the rooms have a two story balcony. The kitchens in the suites are fully stocked with everything.
- Location was great in a quiet spot at the entrance to the island. The shuttle was a breeze to take in to Duval Street and the shuttle driver couldn’t have been more friendly. It takes about 10 – 15 minutes to get in to town. We ended up renting mopeds and it was really easy to get around the island.

CONS:
- None to speak of. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wouldn’t look anywhere else when returning to Key West.

From the incredible room, personable service, and impeccable cleanliness….I had a phenomenal time at the Marriott Beachside Resort. Thanks again to James for making our stay so special!

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have 2 story balcony/private sundeck
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAXcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nothing is too much to ask in this property from any department, the team work is exemplary and a benchmark for all others to aspire to...you will certainly not be disappointed by location, service or experience.

Room Tip: They are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robincmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked the standard king room..., don't bother, it's dark small and cramped. If you go you really need the one BR suite. Some staff were exceptional!! Manny the shuttle driver gave us a better tour of the island than any tour company could have. He is a fantastic person! Happy, energetic, and enthusiastic, the Marriott is lucky to have him. Jeff the pool attendant is right up there with Manny. He couldn't do enough for the guests at the pool! He somehow managed to make you feel as if you were his only priority! Unfortunately this behavior is not across the board at the hotel. Too many argumentative staff at the front desk, too many excuses for less than adequate service. We had a great time in Key West, but I would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bette598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The room was nice and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful with the exception of the concierge who barely lifted his head when asked a question. Instead, the shuttle drivers were all knowledgeable and gave great suggestions on where to eat and provided us with a guided tour of the city and talked about its history and interjected lots of humor in the process The bartender at the pool had great suggestions as well including one of the best dinners we had on this trip which was the Square Grouper restaurant, Nice touch at the pool: they provide you with suntan lotion, fresh fruit bites, and cucumbers to cool your eyes (for the ladies}. Breakfast was good but way overpriced. The shuttle provided an excellent transportation mode to and from the action on Duval Street particularly given the road construction and lack of parking that makes driving challenging.

Room Tip: If you can negotiate the room with the balcony and view, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalev14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent property, as noted by most of the reviews .... DEFINITELY get the upgraded room, called "Presidential Suite" on the Marriott web-site: The residential feel and spacious area along with balconies (2) and in-suite laundry, kitchen, etc. are well worth the up-charge.

Hotel shuttle is prompt and on time, both departing and returning from Duval. No need to drive into the "Duval" traffic chaos. However, since you have a kitchen, the Publix is just a short 2min drive to acquire groceries (thus avoiding the Marriott $$$ for tabs). Other than that, park the car and forget it -- especially because KW/Roosevelt Blvd. is undergoing a 2yr re-construction project, driving is temporarily "unfriendly".

Pool is crowded, so stake out sitting area early. Dinner at in-house restaurant is good, but noisy and somewhat disorganized.

Room Tip: High Floor - upgrade to suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Property: Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing