We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Break Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spring Break Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this hotel. If you like beaches, this is not the destination for you. There are a few beaches on the island and all are small and man-made, and you can't really get in the water. The Marriott has a small patch of sand in the back that overlooks the water. The hotel itself is nice. I read a review that summed it up really good: your experience 100% depends on the room that you get. The first night we stayed in a regular King bed walkway room. The room was small, dark, no natural light, and no balcony. We were nicely upgraded on our 2nd night to a 1 bedroom suite. You HAVE to have a suite to enjoy this hotel, in my opinion. Not that we spend a lot of time in our room, but it's nice to have the space, kitchen, and balcony. The hotel shuttle to downtown and the airport is convenient. My wife and I travel to a lot of Marriott properties, and this one was nice, as long as you get a good room. We heard the property used to be a timeshare property before Marriott bought it and I can see that. Key West is a fun town, a lot of bars and restaurants!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    643
    231
    108
    78
See reviews for
537
1,456
51
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a mixed experience at this hotel.

Pros:
1) Our two bedroom suite was huge with a well stocked kitchen (dishes for 8!).
2) Little bit of noise from the room above (tile floors) but generally a quiet stay.
3) Pool is nice.

Cons:
1) The location is 4 miles from downtown and there is nothing nearby worth walking to (just hotels and strip mall stuff, and it's almost impossible to walk right now because of the road construction out front). They offer a shuttle to get downtown but that was often frustrating. It's only once per hour and the drivers fancy themselves tour guides so they take the small back roads, stop to point out flowers and tell stories. What is already a 15-20 min ride because of traffic and construction was often significantly longer, (which consequently made them late for the downtown pick-up more than once). While some people may enjoy it, we were with our two small children who were often tired and hungry; if we wanted a tour we would have signed up for one of the many tours offered around town, I really just wanted the shuttle to be quick and reliable. When I raised my concerns with the front desk manager she told me I should "take a taxi" if I didn't like it.
2) Service was hit or miss. When we arrived the first night late in the evening (after a missed connection) and needed to get to the supermarket to pick up my son's medicine, the valet arranged to drive my husband over there and pick him up - which was well above and beyond the call of duty (and very much appreciated). But other than that, I was unimpressed. The front desk manager's response to my concerns about the shuttle were unhelpful to say the least, and borderline rude. Also the bellmen are very helpful with bags but speak almost no english, so can't answer even the most basic questions, ("how do we get a taxi").
3) Restaurant / room service food was ok but not great. Again hit or miss (pizzas were good, burger was too greasy, chicken entree way too salty).

Bottom line: I'm not sure I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in a presidential suite which had more than ample room for four family members. Mom and dad had a separate bedroom while our children (20 & 17) shared the living room pullout sofa. Two bathrooms were appreciated (though only one shower). Little man made beach was perfect for our family (one of the few beaches on the key). We were far enough from the hustle and bustle of Duval, but close enough via hotel tram. Food and drinks were pricey, but there were offsite options. Overall, highly recommended!s

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WheatonFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

If tranquility is what you are looking for, then this Marriott would be fine. The advertisement was misleading implying it was "close" to all the action. Close, if that means a 25-minute shuttle trip to get to downtown and the Duval Street area. (In fairness, the hotel does offer a very reliable service.) This hotel is far from the Key West Express that brought us over. You will be very isolated here. Our "standard" rooms had no view at all.

Room Tip: Better make sure you have a few of something - not the hallway across from you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArlingtonFluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a gulf view Presidential suite on the first level and it was great. Very large with fully equipped kitchen, large bedroom, large jetted tub, and easy access to the pool and water. An adjoining bedroom would make this great for a family. The restaurant onsite was excellent for dinner and breakfast. Lunch is served poolside and selections are good.

Service overall was quite good, professional and friendly. The shuttle to and from town was always on time and convenient. Airport shuttle was equally good.

Three cautions: 1.Key West is mostly coral and has few and mostly terrible beaches. This property is no exception. There is a nice sandy area next to the sea wall but the only small bit of beach is where the rental water equipment docks. You won't be playing in the Gulf water at this property. 2.The fitness center is very small and usually busy 3.In high season there is pressure on pool chairs and the hotel says you can only hold chairs for thirty minutes. If you believe that you'll have trouble with getting a chair you want. Towels and books appear on prime chairs early and stay there.

We wanted reliable sun, nice accomodations, and good food and got it. If you want a beach don't go to Key West.

Room Tip: Gulf view rooms are worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaneB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in spectacular suite overlooking bay, complete with balcony & crows nest up top. Terrific! Dined at the restaurant 2 nights, was very good. Overall, one of the best Marriotts we've visited -- and we've been to a lot of them. (Full disclosure: we used Marriott points to stay here but got no break on parking price, unlike some other reviewers)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in a presidential suite which was really apartment size. Included a washer and dryer in the room. The patio looked out on the pool area and there were a series of gazebos near the pool for added enjoyment. The pool area was large and well maintained and then there was a sandy beach to also be enjoyed. Bus service was provided to the main tourist area of Key West and was available until 11 PM. You may need a cab back though since Key west stays up until 3 AM.

This was a magnificent location!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Property: Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing