We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Key West and spent over $300/night for what would thought would be a decent room. While I was not expecting a water view, I did not expect to be in a dimly lit room the size of a closet with only one small window that overlooked the parking lot and building walkway. Cheap blinds covered the window and it reminded me of staying at cheap motel. Doors slamming during the night and people on the walkway made for a noisy sleeping experience. There was no sliding glass door or balcony. While the furnishing inside were okay, no thought was given to the small space (you could not open doors unless you moved furniture out of the way). The small fridge was placed on the floor next to the entrance door. The bathroom reminded me of the type you would find in a hospital room. A stark white sink was mounted to the wall (no vanity) and the shower was made for wheel-chair access but overflowed despite using the curtain. The lighting in the bathroom was horrible (reminded me of a gas station washroom). We paid over $300.00/night for this room and had just stayed for 4 nights at a Waldorf Astoria in Naples for about the same cost and had a spacious suite with a balcony overlooking the Gulf so this was truly disappointing. We requested a different room but was told this was not possible because they were full. Funny, when we checked in, a couple next to us was inquiring about room availability and were told that there were rooms available.

The common areas were nice but there is no beach just a man made sand area overlooking a cove. You cannot swim in the ocean here (weedy). The pool is on the small side and the hot tub is kept a scorching temperatures so you can only sit in it for about 2 minutes before feeling like a boiled potato. The wait staff at the pool were very pleasant but the front desk people could use some re-training in the customer service area. The shuttle is convenient for visiting Key West but there are too many people for the service. My husband and I would arrive 15 minutes before the scheduled departure to make sure we would get a seat. Guests would arrive last minute and cut ahead of the people who had been waiting and some people who got there first were not able to get on the shuttle. Marriott should come up with system so that line cutters do not get rewarded for their rude behavior. The shuttle drivers were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Do not book a standard king room as none of these rooms have a balcony or adequate natural lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvtravel60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,882 - 1,888 of 2,893 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights but wish we could have stayed longer the hotel was lovely,great location comfy bed and very clean,
we booked a Standard room but it was a good size room and bathroom lots of storage for all your things.
The food in the hotel resturant was really good we were also given a voucher for the buffet breakfast included in the price of dinner.(don't know if the voucher was a seasonal offer so please check if you are looking for breakfast to be included)
The icing on the cake for us was the free buss to take you around the town and pick you up to bring you back running untill 12 at night.
Great hotel will be back .
Will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We upgraded our room to a suite. It was spacious, immaculate, and well appointed...living room, dining room, full kitchen, 1 1/2 baths, balcony and washer and dryer. We have rarely ever been disappointed with our stays at Marriott Hotels, especially their category 6, 7, and 8 hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaasi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is not ideally situated, being about 20min from the buzzing downtown area. However they have an hourly free shuttle bus with very accommodating drivers. They provide information to help you find your way around and history lessons about Key West. All the staff were very helpful and courteous. The room we had at the front of the hotel looked out onto a busy road but the insulation was excellent and we heard nothing.The restaurant was very good and the hotel provided free breakfast if you ate dinner the night before. A nice touch. The swimming pool is surrounded quite closely on three sides by the hotel so the sun is lost quite early in the day. You cannot swim in the sea which is basically weed beds. Our room was excellent, plenty of space, well decorated, with clean crisp linen.

Room Tip: Basically comes down to price. However even the standard rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family just returned from a week long stay at the Marriott Beachside Resort. We stayed in room 525 an ocean-view 3 bedroom suite. The suite was gorgeous and have all the amenities you could ask for: full kitchen with high-end appliances, full-sized dining room table, large capacity stack-able washer and dryer, a deep, jetted bath tub, and an ocean view balcony.
The pool area was very large with an adjoining beach area for sunning, and a full service pool-side bar. The pool-side service was outstanding. The one-site restaurant was upscale, and the food was delicious. The criticisms I had of the resort are (1) the beach is almost non-existent, (2) the exercise was too small for the capacity of the resort (2 ellipticals, 2 treadmills and 2 stationary bikes), and (3) the common areas were poorly maintained - cigarette butts litered the stairwells and walkways the entire week.

Room Tip: Ocean view are over rated, choose a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dupers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights early this month. We were set to book a standard room and realized for a relatively small sum,we could upgrade to a suite. Which we did. Well upon arrival we were upgraded to a TWO bedroom suite. It was really nice. I wish we were staying a week. Two bedrooms,two baths,two balconys. The bathrooms were over the top. We got our money's worth all day long. We had some snacks and drinks at the pool. Great service and nice area with lots of chairs and towels. Champagne upon arrival. Shuttle service too and from Duval St.
I would stay here again in a second. Not sure about Key West in general. Nice place to visit once,but....I will be doing a trip report soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank napatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent the last week of February (2013) at this hotel. We (there were 5 of us) had the 3 bedroom Presidential Suite, on the Gulf, and it exceeded our expectations in just about every way. The rooms were spacious, very clean, and the beds very comfortable. The Staff - Front Desk, Housekeeping, Shuttle Drivers, pool, and all wait staff seemed to go out of their way to please. It was a very enjoyable and extremely pleasing trip. We would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: The first floor on the Gulf is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QTIPNUM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,416 reviews
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#9 of 51 in Key West
258 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
3.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $282 - $942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing