We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Walking into this hotel is amazing. The staff is very helpful and will assist you in finding places to eat or things to see. We checked in after a day of driving from Miami to Key West. Check in was efficient and quick. You do have to pay to park, but you park right underneath the building you are staying in, so you don't have far to go to your room. The security measures in this hotel are amazing. The elevators are keycard activated, the rooms are keycard activated (of course), the gates are keycard activated, and the beach is surrounded by a fence that separates it from the sidewalk (once again, keycard activated). At the hotel you can rent jet skis, kayaks, boats, electric cars, and maybe bicycles. If you do not want to rent any of these, you can take a Marriott bus into Old Town. This hotel is located in New Town, on the east side of the island, whereas Old Town (the location of all the attractions) is on the west side. But since the island is only 4 miles by 2 miles, it is easy and quick to get around. We upgraded to the Presidential Suite, which included a washer and dryer, 1.5 baths (two toilets, three sinks, a shower and a tub), a king bed, a sectional couch, a dining table, a full kitchen (full-size fridge, dishwasher, stove, double basin sink, counter with three stools), two flatscreens, a balcony with a spiral staircase to another balcony on the roof (we were on the third floor) and a sliding glass door in the bedroom that opened (surrounded by a railing). The room features are incredible, but so are all the services and facilities you have access to. A large pool (5 ft deep at the most), a jacuzzi, three open-air cabanas, one restaurant and one cafe, a swimming beach, a pier, and a wellness center. Returning to your room in the late afternoon, you find that it is spotless, that the bed is made, and that all the furniture has been reorganized. All the dirty towels have been changed. Returning in the evening, you find the covers turned down, mints on the pillows, the shades drawn, and even a light on. Every hour Marriott buses run to and from Old Town. Although there is construction in front of the hotel, you cannot hear it and there is no congestion; the road has been converted into a two-lane one-way into Old Town with a spacious bike path/walking path. The location is very agreeable because you are removed from Old Town, so it is very peaceful and quiet. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. We stayed for three nights are enjoyed every minute. If you are considering this hotel but are deterred by the price, I would say that you should bite the bullet and pay a little extra for an excellent stay. In the end, you have have nothing but good memories of this five star hotel.

Room Tip: If possible (considering your finances), upgrade to a presidential suite. They are amazing! They com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,881 - 1,887 of 2,854 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wonderful experience . The hotel was everything it was advertised to be and more. The hotel manager and the staff couldn’t be more helpful, friendly and professional. Restaurant was great even on busy nights. Shuttle to downtown was a not only a great way to get around but also a guided tour of the Key. We’d recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

From check in to check out the experience with the staff and the hotel itself was amazing. Our every need was met and exceeded to include our amazing three bedroom three bath suite. For us the location was ideal because we had an opportunity to control our exposure to noise and bustle of Duval street, and the free shuttle made it easy to get around. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed for 3 days, was suppose to stay for 5 but had enough. I called to ask that my floor be cleaned because it was so dirty. Nothing was done about it. I asked to speak to the housekeeping Manager and was told she would call me back. Nothing.. I called a second time and said I felt like I wasnt being heard, and again no return call and my socks were black with the dirt. When Management ignores the customer like this, I must say they need retraining. This is not how I expect to be treated by Marriott.

Room Tip: Go to the Double Tree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We used points for a suite and it was beautiful. Beautiful kitchen, bath, furnishings and lenai with spiral staircase up to a sun deck For the people complaining about the tile floor - I love tile floors when you're at the beach. There are no stains or sand, but to each their own. Our friends were staying here too and they had just a standard room. It too was very pretty but it does not have a patio and it looks out onto the outdoor hallway, but it was a nice room nonetheless. Who just stays in their room all the time when on vacation? Pack a little cooler and go sit on the dock. It was very peaceful and pretty. Regarding the beach...Key West in general does not have beaches. If you want the typical ocean beach setting you should stay at the Casa Marina but the Marriott does have a sandy "beach" and a dock. I've also stayed at the Hyatt on Front Street and it's the same "beach" and dock. The pool was large and there were lots of chaises, both around the pool and in the sandy area.

Regarding the location....if you want to be constantly surrounded by Old Town and Duval Street this is not the place to stay. However, the shuttle was very convenient and ran like clockwork. It's about 10-15 minutes and you get to see other areas of the island. The cabs cost $4.50 a person (plus tip) and that's another option. We had no trouble when we drove into town finding free street parking, but we did that early in the day.

Our first night in we ordered room service pizza and it was really good. I'm not a fan of hotel pizza but I thought this was very crispy and tasty. We had a coupon for the breakfast buffet and it was fine. I wouldn't pay full price for it though. There's a Publix nearby so if you're in a suite go by some cereal and eggs and make your own (and lots of beer and wine and snacks!) My favorite places for breakfast are LaCreperie and Blue Heaven. Both are outstanding and both are on Pretronia St. I also loved Louie's Backyard. The deck on the ocean is great for drinks and then we ate upstairs in the wine/tapas room. The food was delicious but the waiters were so rude! It became comical to see how much more ruder they could become. For Key West, which has the most laid back people and everybody is so nice and friendly and "no worries" attitude it really did make us laugh to have these 2 male waiters who bordered on being nasty.

Sorry for such a long post but overall I enjoyed my stay at the Marriott and some of the negative posts just don't add up. As with any trip you take, just do your due diligence to make sure you're staying in the right location for your needs. The Marriott website makes it clear what the room types are, where the hotel is located in regards to Old Town, etc. I'm not some huge, pro-Marriott loyalist, but it's not like they're trying to deceive anybody with tile floors and a lack of beach.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank las61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for several nights and liked it. We have Marriott timeshares and chose to spend the extra points and get a suite here (full kitchen, living room and balcony). We thought it was worth it and the rooms were nice. While you are 3-4 miles from Duval St, we did use the shuttle and it worked out fine. We also rented bikes at the hotel for 2 days and enjoyed seeing the island. Would love to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank NebraskaFan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Super small pool. Very small room with no carpet, clammy floors. Not on a beach! Sand hauled in and put over grass or concrete. No ice machines. Window faced hallway. Fridge, but no mini bar(Hawaii hotels actually cheaper with more amenities). Very far from Duval street where all the action and shops are. Cab fare to get there is $17.00. Not much of a view. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,375 reviews
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $228 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing