We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could be been here all week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Manteca, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wish we could be been here all week”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We flew into Key West with the plan to drive up the keys and end our vacation with a week in Orlando. We spent two days at this hotel, and in hindsight we wish we would have spent all week here. The hotel is located on the estuary. The room we stayed in was a full suite, and was more of a condo than an hotel. Everything was top shelf from the pool, to the deck furniture, to the pool bar. Our room had an outdoor staircase that took you from the balcony down to the pool area. The beach was about 50 yards away with a pier jutting out over the water. Watersports vendors are right on the property and we had a blast on the jet ski tour.

The only negative I can offer is that the hotel is on the north end of the island on the way out of town, so getting downtown required a car. The property is quiet, the staff professional, and the services first rate. A bit pricey, but you get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks and we're glad you enjoyed your suite and hope you can return sometime and stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,689
    651
    232
    108
    81
See reviews for
547
1,480
51
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the property at the end of May for 5 nights and we had a terrific stay. It was our anniversary and the receptionist made us feel very welcome. We had booked a 1 bedroom suite and were slightly disappointed with the first room we were allocated. The balcony door did not lock which meant it was kind of unsafe as stairs were leading down to the pool and anybody could get into our bedroom. We were lucky enough to be allocated another room with a rooftop terrace. The room was spotless, the kitchen had all you needed (apart from salt and pepper...), they even give you washing up liquid as well as washing powder for the washing machine. There is also a dryer.
The bedroom was extremely comfy and was up to the Marriott standard (great beds)! The bathroom was huge and the housekeeping staff did a great job everyday. The hotel bar was a great place to relax with happy hour in the evening. The swimming pool area is very clean and beach towels are provided. The beach is not really a beach as such, but more of a sandy area next to water. It was lovely to sit on the peer in the evening, only beware of mosquitos!
Parking is available for every guest, although one night we were unable to park anywhere near our room (due to a conference) and reception took the charges off for parking. Every other night, however, there was plenty of spaces for everyone.
The hotel is next to a main road that takes you straight to the centre (you can always use the hotel shuttle to Duval Street). Many people have said the hotel is far from the city centre but we actually enjoyed being away from loud Duval Street for some evenings.
All in all, a great place to stay for a relaxing holiday with great staff and a beautiful room!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room to have access to your own personal roof terrace (if staying in a suite).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olodum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here during a freak stormy week in June. We are not high maintenance travelers!!!

Pros:
-exceptional service at front desk, housekeeping and the shuttle drivers
-champagne on arrival
-tour bus drivers gave us a tour on our way to town
-we stayed in presidential suite with full kitchen, huge soaking jacuzzi tub, beautiful gulf view. Room was amazing ( minus my notes below)
-walking distance to 24 hr Denny's

Cons:
-horrible location, even if there was a shuttle.
- hotel Concierge was awful. Had no clue about local activities, was totally disinterested in us, awful!
- no vending machines (think no place to get a bottle of water).
- the "beach" is actually a small patch of man made sand in an area where you can't swim.
-17.50 per day for parking. Lot is empty, why charge??
- ants found in room
- floor and bathroom tiles dirty and in need of repair

We are huge Marriott fans but this property was very expensive and did not live up to qualities of similar properties. If we had to do it again we'd stay at the Westin for it's location or the Casa Marina (Waldorf Astoria) for it's wonderful beaches. They are the same price and have the Marriott beat!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

On our first night, we stayed in a smaller "resort," and it didn't come close the awesome experience we had at the Beachside Marriott. At the check-in desk, we were promptly greeted and offered champagne. The lobby was nicely appointed with marble floors and flower arrangements. Check in was quick, and the staff quickly got us and our luggage to the room.

The room was amazingly clean and quiet. There was plenty of space for a couple. We had plenty of room in the closet and dresser to store 5 days of clothing and souvenirs. The room was tastefully decorated with dark furniture, floral bedding, and marble floors. A ceiling fan easily kept us cool while we slept. There was a small refrigerator in the room and flat screen TV that offered no hassles.

The bathroom was spacious. The shower was lined with tile, and the towels were very fluffy. Even the soap and shampoo was great.

Our room was on the third floor overlooking the large pool surrounded by tropical trees and plants. We spent several hours in and around the saltwater pool. There were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. Everyone from senior citizens to infants enjoyed the pool. We did see a few iguanas on the pool deck, but they never approached any of the guests. There are also three cabanas next to the pool with a little privacy. They each have a ceiling fan and padded double lounge chair.

Right next to the pool was the Blue Bar. There were some delicious tropical drinks and beer there. They also had good food that was a little expensive. The bartenders were always very friendly, and the covered bar was crowded during lunch. A couple of flat screen TVs were mounted above the bar, but I was more interested in the view.

On the other side of the pool was the beach. It ran along the waterfront behind the hotel, but there was only a small part that was useable. The useable portion was used for kayak and jet ski rental too, so it wasn't a relaxing place to hang out. Most of the beach behind the hotel was about four feet above the water. We saw two weddings on the beach area during our stay.

There was also a small dock that went into the water. There were some chairs there and it was lit in the evening. We watched an amazing sunset there one night.

The hotel had a concierge that helped us plan some activities. There was also a restaurant and bar adjacent to the lobby, but the prices were high. We also took full advantage of the Duval Street shuttle bus that leaves the hotel every hour. The bus drivers were very friendly and informative. They also stopped a little off their route to get us closer to the places we wanted to be.

We had a chance to see a Presidential Suite, and it was amazing. There were two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a full kitchen with stainless appliances, a small dining area, and a living room area. It was more than enough space for two couples.

If I'm ever in Key West again, I'll definitely stay at the Beachside Marriott!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clint D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon in Key West and were extremely impressed with the hotel. Our 1 bedroom suite was amazing! Beautiful decor, great furniture, full kitchen with SubZero fridge, beautiful bathroom, and even a sun deck! We spent 4 nights here and almost didn't want to leave our room, it was so great! There is a shuttle to Duval Street, which is very convenient since the hotel is not within walking distance of downtown. The restaurant on property is very pretty, as well as the lobby. But the room spoke for itself. We were truly impressed. It was much nicer than the typical Marriott. We learned that the property was originally a condo complex which was converted to a hotel, so the rooms are bigger and all offer the full kitchens. (Suites at least... I don't know about regular rooms.) There is a sliding glass door that opens to a balcony, which has stairs up to your own private sun deck. We were on the 3rd floor. I assume only 3rd floor rooms would have the sun decks. The pool is very nice and relaxing. There is a pool bar, which we spent a lot of time at. It offers food also and is well worth the visit. I would return to this hotel, no question about it. It exceeded our expectations by far! I would go so far as to say it is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at in its price range. Absolutely satisfied with our stay! I wish I could go back right now!

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room. They have private sun decks. The extra money for a suite is well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura_d01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Our family had a really enjoyable stay from the 24 hr pool to the shuttle that allows for everyone to drink if you wanted. We had such a great time that some of our family happened to forget the passports in the room. We got a call from Yoli who was just heavenly in every way for us to the entire stay. She informed us of our situation with the found passports and all we saved thanks to her. She really is a star as she dazzled me the whole stay, thanks for making a vacation there in the keys only one could dream of! Thanks Yoli!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiamatZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed in Key West a few nights on our drive through the Keys. We had an amazing time at the hotel (when we were there). The hotel offers shuttle service to downtown (amazing) and will pick up up in front of Margaritaville to go home late that night. The room was amazing and I loved the smell of the hotel room....the aromatherapy was amazing! We enjoyed the pool as well as hot tub...we also enjoyed the pier and watching the sunset (we were too tired to go back to mallory square since we had went to dry tortuga for the day). Great hotel stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Property: Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing