We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A reasonable option for staying in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A reasonable option for staying in Key West”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The major drawback to this hotel is that it's not downtown and it's on one of the major roads leading into Key West. Other than that it's a reasonable option for your stay in Key West.

Our room was comfortable and clean but definitely on the small side and had no view at all. If you want an ocean or pool view make sure you ask for it. And, although there is a beach, it's small and not well-used at least while we were there.

On the plus side, the pool area is nice. There's a bar and the staff will bring drinks and meals to you. The food's good and is reasonably priced. The staff are very friendly - Robert in the bar in particular was great.

The hotel compensates for its location by operating a free shuttle that leaves every hour on the hour. The pick-up is on Duval Street and the last pick-up is at 11:20pm. A cab ride from downtown costs $20.

Parking is $17.50/day and you self-park in a covered garage close to your room.

The hotel offers free Internet in rooms (unusual for a Marriott) and in common areas. The gym is just about adequate but suffers like many hotel gyms from not enough free weights that people actually use (i.e. 10lbs to 20lbs) and only one bench.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ral999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are appreciative of all comments and suggestions and take each one into consideration. We will be sure to recognize Robert for his great service to you. We hope you stay with us on your next visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,646
    643
    231
    108
    77
See reviews for
535
1,454
51
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
824 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Wow... What a GREAT place! This has become our FAVORITE hotel and the fact that it's a Marriott makes it all the better.
The restaurant is AMAZING... Great bar, great food and very friendly staff.
The rooms are beautiful with all stainless appliances in the suites... SubZero and KitchenAide are two of the brands they feature. This property also has a great pool, hot tub and poolside bar.
It's located on the other side of the island from the "downtown Duval area" but they offer a free shuttle bus.
Definitely worth staying here!

Room Tip: Use Marriott Rewards to get upgrades. Also, Use dated specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. We hope you stay with us on your next visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

There is very little to recommend this hotel. It is in an inconvenient location, about as far as you can get from Duval St and the major attractions in Key West, and its "beachside" consists of man-made sand and a retaining wall that overlooks some water, a Comfort Inn, and some kind of satellite installations.
Please do yourself a favor and don't book a standard room. While it has fairly nice soft furnishings, it is the smallest thing I've stayed in anywhere and overlooked the outdoor corridor like we were in a cheap motel. It seems that anything with a decent view and decent amount of space is a suite or better. Don't count on your Marriott status to assure you an upgrade - my husband's did nothing for us.
We found the front desk staff to offer wildly inconsistent information, as we were told one day that we could pay for an upgrade and switch to a suite with a view since tons of people were checking out, and then told the very next day that this was not possible because they were almost fully booked. Huh? Another petty annoyance was that were locked out of our room on the last day. In spite of calling and receiving an extra hour after checkout, when we returned to our room to pack up and leave, our keys no longer worked. The front desk staff explained that the keys are automatically deactivated at a certain time. Apparently, no one had made a move to combat this even after assuring us a late checkout would not be a problem. To top it off, the airport shuttle that we had requested on 3 separate occasions was nowhere to be found at the end of our stay. Quite a great impression to leave on your guests! Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do not book a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Skifree619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is very unique when compared to other Marriott hotels and it is our Elite members who realize this the most. We do value our Elite Status Guests, and do our best to communicate with them how the standard rooms are configured and offer them in advance the opportunity to pay for an upgrade to a suite. Complimentary upgrades are not always available due to the high demand for our beautiful suites. We hope you took the time to address your concerns with a manager while you were here as we do like to try to rectify any guest issues before departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Love Marriott Beachside. We have been going 3 to 4 times a year for the last 3 years...even before it was a Marriott. We always get a 1 bedroom suite...spend the extra money. It is worth it!!! Great pool, small but nice beach and free shuttle to downtown. I personally love the location because it is off the beaten path. Don't stay here if you want to walk to everything. The shuttle is so easy though. Good food, nice and friendly staff and watersports on property. Great establishment! :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you so much for your review - we will see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and I just spent three marvelous days in Key West and loved staying at the Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel! Our room was spotless, the amenities were numerous, and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Within minutes of landing, we were picked up in the airport for the short ride to the hotel. I had requested early check in, and was pleasantly surprised to find that the room was ready at noon, especially since we had been up since 3:00 a.m.! We spent a relaxing afternoon at the pool and had a delicious lunch at the pool bar; they even bring your food and drinks to you, if you wish! Each evening we were there, we took the shuttle to and from Duval Street and enjoyed complimentary champagne while waiting. The drivers were very punctual, accommodating and friendly, and one evening when there wasn't enough room for everyone to get on, the driver hailed a cab to take the rest of us back to the hotel.

Because it was just the two of us, we stayed in a standard room with a king bed. Although small, the room was beautifully appointed and we had plenty of space. After all, we didn't come to Key West to sit in a hotel room! As with all Marriotts, the bed was extremely comfortable. My only disappointment was that the room had absolutely no view. The description did say that it faced a walkway, but I didn't realize that there would be a wall on both sides and as a result, it was difficult to get phone reception. Nevertheless, we just slept there so it wasn't that big of a deal.

We will definitely return to Key West and will stay at the Marriott Beachside Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynney74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your review. Hopefully the next time you visit us you can spend more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I just returned from Key West. During the first five nights, we were treated to one of the nicest and most comfortable resort rooms. We were treated to a spectacular view and were able to enjoy our own Sunset Celebrations. Although it's a little far from the Duval area, there is a shuttle with a friendly & knowledgeable driver (the ride was enjoyable!) We were able to take a Wave Runner tour from the Marriott property that was a great deal of fun! Try the pizzas from the property's restaurant. - we ordered them two nights in a row ... thin crust & tasty. Having a well-stocked kitchen was also a plus!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgorey828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is right off of highway one right when you enter Key West, it is NOT close to the center of town (Duval Street, Mallory Square, etc.) BUT did have a free shuttle that ran until 11pm that transported us to the center of town, which was VERY convenient. And the shuttle driver was AMAZING! It was like a free tour guide, because he pointed out important sights to see, great restaurants to eat at and was very knowledgeable! We did have to pay for parking at this hotel which was about $17 per night – kinda steep! But Key West is NOT a driving town, so we had to leave our car somewhere!
Our room was AMAZING! Clean, new and spacious. Absolutely no complaints about the accommodation’s! The hotel has an amazing pool area, but NO beach. The water by the hotel is not very nice or clean and not swimmable.
We chose this hotel because it was new, more affordable than other hotels that had better locations, had a free shuttle and free internet. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but if you’re looking for something closer to the center of town and all the action, this would NOT be the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missa019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,613 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Property: Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing