We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service I have ever experienced at a Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My family and I are loyal Marriott Reward Members and have stayed at amazing Marriott Hotels over the years. In all of our experiences we have never been treated so rudely as we were at the Key West Beachside Hotel. One example, my wife, children (8 and 10 years old), and I rented Kayaks from the hotel. The first employee had us fill out the forms and select life jackets. As we waited down by the beach for the kayaks a second employee came and took the life jackets back. He informed me we did not need life jackets, shouting "it's not the law". I informed him regardless of "the law" I wanted life jackets for my children. As it turns out the reason he didn't want to provide life jackets was because he needed them for the jet skis he had rented out after we booked the kayaks...he didn't have enough jackets for all. I called and informed the Manager about the issue. I was told the rentals are not part of the Marriott (yet all the employees at the rental center wear Marriott uniforms). If you are looking for a fun and safe family vacation this is not the hotel for you. I have never written an online review and never even complained about a stay but I think families should be aware of the issues here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gfamily785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thank you for your review. Although the Jet - Ski company does not work directly for Marriott, they are certinaly representatives of our hotel. We apologize for the way you were treated and belived that the owner of the jet-ski company has contacted you directly to discuss the situation with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,323 - 2,329 of 2,854 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

We didn't know until we checked in that all the standard rooms face the passageways. So the standard rooms are not that great, though the soft furnishings and bathrooms are nice - but the rooms are not large. For the standard room, at that price, I wouldn't stay there again. It's a nicely air conditioned box, really. We paid to upgrade to a one bed suite, which was lovely, and faced the water. The pool area is ok but not amazing and does smell a bit like lots of little kids have gotten a bit over-excited in it, by the end of the day. My husband went down at around eight am as well, and it hadn't yet been cleaned. The restaurant is pretty fancy looking and the service is good, but the food isnt worth the price. The entetainment is two people and a synthesizer, which seemed pretty retro. HOWEVER, staff are very helpful everywhere and there's nothing really wrong with this place, it's just bland and priced a little over the odds form what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HereOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thank you for your review. Our standard rooms are very comfortable but they have no view; they look out to the open air walkways. We describe this on all websites and it is indicated in the hotel confirmations. We do have lovely one, two and three bedroom suites with a view which we are glad you were ablt to enjoy. We have different live music nightly in our restaurant but usually it is a piano player and live singer. The food is rated one of the best in key west with prime rib as being one of our specialties. We appreciate all of your comments and do hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Very nice rooms, some rooms have great views some do not, staff was very nice and pleasant. Only draw back is that Duval street is a little bit of a ways from the hotel. Some might like this more because the Marriott does not have the loud noise from the Duval crowds!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongboatKey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thank you for your review. Every guest has a different need for when they come to Key West. If you are looking for a hotel that is quite and a quick ride to the "action" we are the place for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We were so happy we didn't stay down on Duval Street with all the hustle and bustle. Exactly what we needed was some down time and quiet. Had a rental car, so we could come and go to Old Town whenever we wanted - only a 7 or 8 minute drive. 1 bedroom suite overlooking the pool was perfect. Very spacious and even had an extra half bath, full kitchen and laundry. Pool was gorgeous and service at the bar was great. We drank Dragon's Passion and was able to grab a secluded cabana. Would stay here again. Add on 1 or 2 more bedrooms if needed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimiThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My family and I stayed here last July also and the service was much nicer then. The hotel is beautiful and it's a wonderful place to stay, just a few things weren't up to par this time. We stayed in the 3 bedroom presidential suite which is amazing. The only complaint was the floors, they weren't cleaned very well even after housekeeping just left. But that's small potatoes. The thing that bothered me the most was the service. A little rude and inpatient this time. We spent a lot of money to get there and to stay there and a little more hospitality would have been nice. Needless to say, we would go back again, the hotel is just beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmacholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for letting us know if the issue you experienced. It is comments such as these that assist us in improving our service and hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We just returned from our week at the Marriott and all five of us (including 3 picky teenagers) were extremely impressed with the staff at the Marriottt - from Arien at the front desk to John who drove the shuttle to the waitstaff by the pool, everyone was really really wonderful - we've done a lot of traveling, and this really makes a difference. We were a bit worried about the shuttle after reading previous reviews, but were very impressed when on a Saturday night, when the line was very long, John made sure nobody was left behind by calling the van and hailing cabs for whomever didn't fit on the shuttle - as well as Arien (sp?) putting us in a cab when the shuttle going to Duvall Street was running late. Everyone was always pleasant, always helpful, really really terrific. We were in the presidential suite on the 2nd floor and loved the room - the room was beautiful, the maids did an exceptional job cleaning and the washer and dryer was definitely a plus - also, the mattresses were very comfortable. The pool area was terrific and always clean. As previous people mentioned, the beaches are not the greatest, so the pool area is important. Great place to stay, we loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shell27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thank you for your review - we hope you stay with us on your next visit to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon in September 2010. As my new husband will attest, I am a loyal Marriott guest and picky when it comes to hotels, but LOVED this property. We used the road trip to Key West package so parking was free and included a $25 gas card. This was forgotten by the staff when we checked out, but a simple email to the hotel and one was mailed to us.

Our 1 bedroom suite did not overlook the water but let's face it, the beaches in Key West are pretty bad anyway. It would have been nice to not face the air conditioning unit behind the pool bar, but as long as our balcony door was shut, we couldn't hear it. The suite was large, beautifully decorated and I can't ever remember being impressed by the kitchen and bathroom in a hotel - just beautiful. We also loved being at the quiet end of the island, away from Duvall Street.

The restaurant was excellent and had some of the best snapper I've ever tasted. Make sure you try the key lime pie martini.

If we come back to Key West, we will stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texas2011a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thank you for your review. Congratulations on your new nuptials! We hope you return to see us for every anniversayr!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,375 reviews
3.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-4534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $228 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing