We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Griswolds go Jet Skiing!”

Sunset Water Sports
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Key West Sunset Dinner Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Do-It-All: Key West Priemere Watersports Company Do It All Party Boat from 10:00 Am to 4:00 PM, which includes the following activities: Snorkeling, rafting, kayaking, wind surfing, banana boat rides, water skiing, wave runners and knee boarding. A free BBQ lunch will be served with free water and sodas all day. Free beer on the way back to shore. Also avaible for Wedding, Private Charters and Sunset Sails.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Fabulous, fantastic, amazing, hysterical, etc...Cant say enough about the experience we had with Sunset Water Sports and most importantly Curt! What a great guide and he made me feel comfortable as I had not jet skied before...I was terrified, but Curt took good care of me. Our family loved it so much, we booked with him twice! Our second booking was Christmas day with all 8 of us in our group...what a perfect way to spend Christmas. We were lucky enough to add Caleb to our group for that tour. Curt is very knowledgeable about the island and what we were seeing. It was 1 1/2 hours and it seemed to fly by...this is a MUST DO when you go to Key West!

Thank texasgirl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetkeywest, Manager at Sunset Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review of Sunset Watersports, our waverunner tour and our guides - Caleb and Curt! They work very hard, as does the rest of the crew at Sunset, to provide safe, exciting and memorable water adventures. We are so excited that you felt this way about us and that we helped make your Christmas day more fun!

Thank you again for the great review and we wish you a happy and safe holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,746)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Water Sports
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,929 - 1,933 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

We did the tour around the island. For two 21-year olds and my husband this was the probably THE highlight of the trip. They really enjoyed the adrenaline rush of opening up these jet skis on the ocean. Would echo some of the other reviews re waves/choppiness, expense and the 18% gratuity requested to be added. All still a positive experience. Our guides, Rabbit and Caleb, worked hard to make this a positive, fun experience, with various experience levels and language barriers in the overall tour group. And they succeeded--high praise to all of the employees we met at this location to make thus a great experience--worth the money. Thanks guys!

Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetkeywest, Manager at Sunset Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review of Sunset Watersports, our waverunner tour and our guides - Caleb and Rabbit! They work very hard, as does the rest of the crew at Sunset, to provide safe, exciting and memorable water adventures. We believe that we do this better than any other watersport company on the island - it always nice to see when someone agrees.

Thank you again for the great review and we wish you a happy and safe holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Christmas Day my family decided to go on this dinner cruise. It was raining a little on this night so no sunset. The good was pretty gross instant mass potatoes . The band was good played some bob Marley. Bathrooms were gross guess some girl got sick. The worseeee thing of all we were told to tip upstairs so that's what I did. The captain of the boat as we were getting off SCREAMED at everyone leaving for not tipping as we got off. Which I tipped upstairs thought that was where we we're suppose to.. This was so rude and uncalled for I will never recommend going on this tour. There is better ones in the area! Don't go on sunset watersports. Unless you want to be yelled at by there captain!

1  Thank Brittcurrituck90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetkeywest, Manager at Sunset Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

First off - thank you for taking the time to review our Sunset Dinner Cruise. Second - we would like to apologize if you felt that it wasn't a pleasant experience. Our dinner cruise is one of our most popular trips and it typically gets great reviews.

As far as your complaints, please contact our offices as management would be interested in speaking with you about some of these. Finally, we are sorry that there wasn't a sunset for you to view - we wish that we could provide a perfect one every night - but that is a little bit out of our hands.

Thank you again for your review. We take all of them - positive or negative - very seriously. We also hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you why we are Key West's oldest watersports company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is all money making business and once they have your money they are least bothered. We went in a group of 14 people and had the worst experience. I am putting it down in points:
1. They will allow only once for 5-10 mins on Jet Ski. They only have 5 of them with a crowd of 100 people they take on boat... you can imagine.

2. The staff is rude and not willing to help in water... used abusive languge.

3. They only have 4-5 Kayaks ...you have to wait a long time to get your turn.

4. They will book your tickets even if you dont know swimming and then they will say we will not allow you to do water sports if you dont know swimming.

5. There is no staff member to acompany you and show the place for snorkling.... you have to take your own kayak and find a place for snorkling. How can you leave your kayak in middle of ocean and do snorkling ???

6. They will tell you time from 10 - 4 but it will only start at 11 and at 2.50 PM they told my friends that they are closing down.

7. DO NOT HIRE they photographer ... he will click the worst of the pictures .... do not waste money here.

8. Other then Jet Ski all other sports are waste ...staf will not help you and Jet Ski is only for 10 minutes.

9. They promised 12 sports and they just had 6 ride and gave excuse that because of high current they will not open the other rides.

Think before you book with them !! We had a bad experience with them and it was waste of money .....

4  Thank amitpesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetkeywest, Manager at Sunset Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

First off - we thank you for your review and appreciate each one that we receive as we believe they alert us to areas of improvement, as well as areas that we are successful.

Second - as far as the hours go - the boat leaves the dock at 10am and needs to travel to the watersports play area and then set-up which takes a small amount of time as compared to other companies in the area. The same goes for the end of the day - where there is the time for break-down and the return trip back to the dock.

Third - safety is the top priority at Sunset Watersports - so if our crew and captain feel that same water activities are not safe because of water conditions - than we support them in their decision.

Finally - we are sorry that you do not feel that this trip was to your satisfaction. With that being said - we invite you to contact the company and ask to speak to management so that you can discuss your experience directly. Customer satisfaction is important to us and we would like the opportunity to address your concerns and issues.

Thank you again and we hope that you have a wonderful holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

They just keep selling you the photographs on the boat.

"OK, only $40 for each person." "How about this, only $60 for all you three." "Final deal, $40 for all." We have our own camera and they refuse to touch it. They kept trying until the last second we were about to start the parasailing. Then it turns out that they gave us an EMPTY CD WITH NO PHOTOS OR VIDEOS AT ALL!!! We tried to contact the company, they asked us to contact the staff on the boat directly. We then contacted the staff, they never replied!

Also, we booked a double and a single. To save their time, they just put all us three together. Their excuse is that the wind was too strong to do a single or double. But other boats are doing the single at the same time. They still charged us the original cost.

The parasailing activity is exciting and fun. But DO NOT CHOOSE SUNSET FOR PARASAILING. It was a very unpleasant experience. You can easily tell all they want is to get the money out of your pocket and then quickly get rid of you.

And the owner please do not reply this review by saying "we will look into this issue". Do not pretend that you will look into this issue. If you do, just refund me $200 for this unpleasant experience and select better staff. Do not ruin your customers' vacation please.

1  Thank PoppiLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetkeywest, Manager at Sunset Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We are sorry that you are this displeased with your parasailing adventure with Sunset Watersports as we make customer satisfaction our top priority. We have been in business for almost 30 years in Key West and we are the oldest parasailing company in the country - if we constantly run our business in the manner you suggest - this would not be the case.

With that being said - we ask that you contact us and ask for management so that we can discuss your experience with you and work to make things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Water Sports also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sunset Water Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing