We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Sunset Water Sports
from $59.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $48.38
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
Reviews (3,222)
Filter reviews
3,051 results
Traveler rating
2,343
341
114
88
165
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,343
341
114
88
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jet ski tour parrot key resort party cat dinner cruise wave runner tour banana boat smathers beach free beer sand bar atlantic side snorkeling trip a lot of fun these guys dolphin watch paddle boards recommend this trip awesome experience
Filter
Updating list...
2,331 - 2,336 of 3,051 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

After booking this we read the reviews and were really concerned with some of the bad reviews. Overall, for $59/pp with a coupon, we had a really nice time.

We got there to check-in about 5:45 - there was already a short line. Yes, it is very hot standing outside in the sun. We read this in other reviews so we brought an umbrella to stand under - made a world of difference. The line moved quickly enough and by 5:55 we had our wristbands. You have to wait to board until about 6:20. We waited in the shade and then joined the line in the sun about 6:10 - again the umbrella really helped.

Boarding was kind of slow because they take your picture before getting on board. I have no idea how much the sell them for (available after the cruise - and there was no pressure to buy them) as we were not interested.

After boarding, we opted to go into the downstairs level to secure seating for dinner (we read about not having enough seats in other reviews). They were still setting up the food and the bar downstairs did not appear to be open. Upstairs the bar was open. After a very short safety explanation, we sailed away. Shortly after leaving, the buffet line opened. Luckily for us, everyone was orderly and friendly. BTW, the line starts from the left side - we opted to sit on the right so we weren't sitting by the line.

There were lots of choices for the food and all of it was hot and surprisingly quite delicious. The standout items for us were the yellow rice, black beans, fried fish, and the pulled pork - oh yeah, and the plantains! We were pretty hungry so we took 2 plates to begin with and we both finished everything on our plates. Of note - we are not picky eaters, but do have standards - and although this was served with cardboard plates and plastic silverware - doesn't mean the food isn't good.

As for the drinks - well, they do serve them in small plastic cups - but there was no limit and you could easily order 2 at once. We are not big drinkers at all - and didn't go on this because of the unlimited drinks. We had a rum punch and a margarita - nothing special.

Service was friendly throughout the evening - one worker even offered to run upstairs and get our margaritas and bring them to us in the front of the boat. Also, other then the mention that "we work for tips as that's a big part of our wage" there was never a mention of tips again. Yes, there were tips jars on both bars and when getting off the ship there was a tip jug they held - but again, no serious pressure. When we dropped a tip in the tip jug, we were thanked.

Finally, the sunset and the cruise - which is why we went. It was excellent - really so happy we chose to take this. The waters were very smooth - we were in the lower level front of the ship and could see many jellyfish in the clear water. Also, we were very lucky to see 6 dolphins off the front of the ship - they swam very very close to the boat - truly a highlight! For the sunset, the front of the ship wasn't the best spot as the captain did not turn the boat for us to see it (so the top would have been better). We were able to stand at the side and look over and just catch it going down. It was really beautiful.

The ride home was slow and enjoyable - again we stayed at the front of the ship.

Overall, we really had a nice time and felt it was worth it.

1  Thank johnjovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetkeywest, Manager at Sunset Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review of our Calypso Cruise & Cocktails sunset dinner cruise! We believe that is a great value and a fantastic time - it always nice to hear from someone who agrees.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on another Sunset Watersports adventure the next time you are in Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Did the waverunner tour yesterday and loved it. Went fast, small group, so much fun. Decided to do the all day activity today, not the same experience. Had a great day, trip offered everything. Super crowded boat, about 125 people all trying to do the same things. It was fun to get on the waverunners again, parasail and knee boarding were great.. The slide was much smaller than it showed on their website. I would recommend going, but only on days when it isn't so crowded. The masses today almost made it unbearable. Especially when you're a bit of a germaphobe like me :-). This day trip is clearly the walmart of day trips, as they offer everything at a great price - but you get what you pay for.

Thank dkuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetkeywest, Manager at Sunset Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for the great review of Sunset Watersports and our waverunner tour … We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the crowds during your Do-It-All experience - however it was a holiday weekend and we tend to be at capacity during those weekends. We know that if you participated in our all-day adventure on a weekday or non-holiday weekend - you would find the numbers on the boat to be more to your liking.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you out on the water with Sunset Watersports the next time your travels bring you to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The day before my family and I were scheduled to leave Key West we decided to do the early morning snorkeling trip. Check-in was supposed to start at 7:30 a.m. Thirty minutes later we are still standing outside the office doors and none of the staff have arrived. Once staff do arrive the doors stay closed and no explanation is given why check-in hasn't begun. At around 8:15 a.m. they finally open the doors and announce that the vessel we were supposed to sail on broke down so they had to downsize to a smaller craft so they were looking for volunteers to change their snorkeling times. Needless to say no one wanted to take them up on that offer so we herded in like cattle with no organization on the staff's part to make sure that people who were in line first got checked in first. After getting on board the boat the ride out to the dive site wasn't bad and the captain did a good job of explaining the equipment and safety rules but because they were running behind schedule we only did 1 dive site for 60 minutes vs. 2 dive sites for 30 minutes. It was ok but with so many people on this excursion we were always bumping into each other in the approved areas for diving. I can check this off my bucket list but it wasn't all it was cracked up to be. Would consider diving again but I would probably not arrange it through Sunset Watersports.

Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetkeywest, Manager at Sunset Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Sunset Watersports and your snorkeling trip. We are sorry that you didn't have the time you were expecting and that you felt the trip was too crowded. Equipment breaks down sometimes and since your safety is our number one concern - we do our best to make sure you are safe and still able to enjoy the trip you were scheduled on.

We hope that you will give us another try the next time you are in Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Sunset has a lot of different adventures to go on, Some great and some are completely a waste of your time. our family of 25 went on the sunset dinner cruise and wish we didn't. We arrived to the dock a hour early just to make sure we had everyone there, We wondered into the sunset booth and immediately were yelled at to sign in, some of our families were outside smoking and the lady started yelling at us to get them inside NOW or we cant go.... Now keep in mind, we all are a hour early, Why the rush and threats? So we all pile into this small room to have this lady yell at us to keep close and to all sign in, So we all started signing in, As one would get done and walk away she would yell at them to make sure they actually signed in....? I don't get it, Whats with the hostility? Maybe I should have offered her a xanax or maybe she should get a different job. As we got done with getting our heads ripped of verbally for no reason we all go and wait to get on board, they did not let us on until fifteen min after the scheduled time, Keep in mind it's hot outside and we are sweating through our nice clothes. Once on the boat it was ok. Looked cheap felt cheap... We barely went out into the ocean, More just along side of the island. So we venture down to go eat.... Ew. The food is something like from a high school cafeteria. The drink were watered down and tasted like regular fruit juice. the entertainment was a bummy looking man playing a metal drum. The boat was a little too crowded for the size and it was hard to see over everyones heads looking out to the sunset. the other attractions they have are better, as in the jet skies. the beach. and so on, but please save your money, unless you like overcrowded boats with poor food and drinks and poor attitude workers. one last thing, The decorations in this boat...as in the fake plants and flowers need to go back to the 80's where they belong.

Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Wow! definitely not what I expected. We cruise alot and take excursions on both big and small catamarans all the time. This company offers a two hour air conditioned dinner cruise with all the drinks you can drink with a full open bar. It sounded to good to be true and it is. We took our cruise in late August....hot. We reserved our spot the night before at a small stand near Mallory Square. Our paperwork said check in time was 6:00 and the cruise started at 6:20. We arrived at the dock area about 5:45 and saw the line we had to stand in for the next 20 minutes to finish our purchase. The line was out side in the sun. So now it was after six , and they were not letting us on the boat....I guess check in means buy your ticket not get on the boat. We all stood on the dock until about 6:40 in the heat and they finally started letting us on, but after a wedding party arrived and went to the front on the line. As we are getting on the boat we are thinking thank god we can get a drink......well sort of. The bar tenders...two girls for the crowd of about 80 people...just stood there and stared at us. The bar was not "open". there was a cooler with warm water and and little pointy paper cups.....really. There is very limited seating and no one could go down to the A/C inside area we were all on top in the sun. We were happy we got a seat until we realized that the seats are beside the A/C units for down stairs and blow hot air on you....really??? Who designed this boat. So 15 minutes later we finally take off from the dock and the bar opens. Two girls 80 hot thirsty people. I get a Margarita...well no...I get a small plastic cup with ice, bad tequila, horrible sour mix, some orange juice, and no salt. Worst drinks I've ever had. The drinks were so small that with the ice it was literally two sips. Then back to the bar to fight for another bad drink. We were so hot that we thought we would move to the back and get a nice breeze. Guess where the vent is for the kitchen stove and oven is....yep the back of the boat. There is almost no where to stand on the top deck that isn't next to something hot blowing on you. I could go on but why bother. The food is eatable but by then everything else sucked. Awful time couldn't wait to get off and get to a decent bar. My back hurt from standing and a think I was dehydrated. Maybe if you start off drunk it is more fun.

1  Thank FoodFunBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetkeywest, Manager at Sunset Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We appreciate your review and will look into all the concerns that you brought forward. We also would have appreciated if you had contacted management and given us the opportunity to make things right.

We at Sunset Watersports work very hard and take a lot of pride in providing fun, safe and memorable watersports adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews