We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ann from Annapolis”
Review of Rose Lane Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose Lane Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We loved our stay. The accommodations fit our needs perfectly. We will bring our dogs for our next stay. Very roomy and comfortable. Two minor complaints: the music from Fat Tuesdays went quite late and we could hear it and the beds a little soft. That being said, we were pleased with absolutely everything else. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTownManor, Manager at Rose Lane Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

What a great feeling to see our 100th review is five stars! We’re celebrating. :)

Thank you, Ann from Annapolis, for your honest and positive review of your recent stay in our Villa Rosa. We are happy to hear you loved your stay and plan to be back with your dogs.

Though our Villas are steps away from lively Duval Street, we rarely hear noise complaints and regret that our neighbors’ parties were louder than normal during your stay. We promise a quieter trip next time. We also promise updated mattresses for next time, too!

Thanks again, Ann! Looking forward to seeing you and meeting your dogs soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 226 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay!!! Fantastic!!! Your welcoming gift was brilliant!!! We HIGHLY recommend these Villas to everyone. 1/2 Block from all the action on Duval Street. It was extremely quite, you would never know that you were so close to the vigorous action!!! We stayed in the Villa Vista, perfect pool side location they even have a washroom for pool side use ;). Very comfortable beds, nice bathroom, kitchen, sitting area. The staff were excellent, extremely friendly and were always smiling!!! They have a nice breakfast for $5.00, you can not go wrong with this. Boiled eggs, bacon, cheese tray, sweet tray, toast, fruit, etc. We met and hung out by the pool with other vacationers staying in the Villas which was very nice. Most were repeat customers. If our pool side buddies didn't tell us where to go to eat, sites to see, rent bikes etc., the staff were very informative and more than happy to assist you with anything you could possibly need!
We will be repeat customers!!! Hello to my Irish Aussie Friend :), chatting with you was great!!! Even though we have had the worst weather in Canada since (hehehehe) included a pic for ya girl (Beauti Ice Storm)!
Thank You Rose Lane Villas with all your help to make our vacation a GREAT one!!!
C u again!!!

Cheers,
Brenda and Kevin

Room Tip: Villa Vista.....Large kitchen, nice washroom, comfortable beds in both bedrooms. Pool side unit. Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTownManor, Manager at Rose Lane Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We are feeling so warm and cozy reading this incredible review! ...Sorry about your weather all the way up there in Canada!! :)

Thank you to Brenda and Kevin for these kind words about our Villa Vista at Rose Lane Villas. We love to hear they enjoyed their stay -- from the updated decor and furnishings of the peaceful Villas to the $5 breakfast at the Manor.

Our sister property, Old Town Manor, is a 14-room B&B just around the corner from the Villas. We serve a daily breakfast in our gardens that is organic, vegetarian and (mostly) healthy. Our guests at the Villas are welcome to join for just $5 per person!

Thanks again, Brenda & Kevin. Stay warm, and we look forward to seeing you two again soon!

P.S. … Your Irish-Aussie friend, Sam, says “G’day Mates!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

As a family with spouses and girlfriends, the 10 of us stayed in 3 villas - Villa Grande, Villa Porta & Villa Vista. The half block location off Duval Street was ideal for quickly getting to the energy of Key West while still quiet enough for midnight sleepers to not be bothered. The nicely upkept villas gave the Key West laid-back feeling for us vs the sterility of multiple hotel rooms. We will definitely be returning to Rose Lane Villas for future visits.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dg-castraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Awesome location, clean, comfortable & great staff. This was the 3rd time we stayed here. My only concern is that it may almost be time to replace the mattress as it is starting to get that sag in the middle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terese o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

stayed 3 nights in Villa Aqua, which has 2 bedrooms, 1 bath, small kitchenette/living room. Funky Key West chic - small pool and patio right outside; 1/2 block off Duval Street, but very quiet. Entry is gated, off an alley. Really liked the unit, staff very friendly, nice continental breakfast for $5. Would definitely stay there again. Good value for location. Much prefer this to the sterility of a major hotel chain. Beautiful garden area outside the mansion house.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peseif53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was a first trip to Key West for us. We were there for a family wedding and couldn't have had a better experience. We stayed in Rosa Villa, my husband, myself and our adult son who was best man at the wedding. He slept on the futon in the living room which he said was very comfortable. Since we weren't spending a lot of time in the villa it was a good size for us. We didn't cook our meals but it was nice to have that option. The pool was great, secluded, clean and no crowd. Very easy to walk to all the action on Duval street and parking right by the villa for our rental car. Jenny in the office set up some wonderful excursions for us, jet skiing and a sunset cruise. Staff very welcoming and nice. We will definitely try to make it back here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMeyerWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Don't judge this place by normal hotel standards. Key West is an old town, with lots of old buildings and this is one of them. It took a little bit to get used to the absence of the "Marriott squeaky clean" atmosphere we have become accustomed to when traveling. However, after a brief acclimation, we discovered we really liked the place. Rose Lane Villas, about a 3 minute stroll down an alley (they call it a lane) to bustling Duval Street, really contributes to an authentic Key West experience, (and Key West is an experience). Our 3 bedroom 2 bath unit was roomy, and a bit rustic, which we came to like. There is a nice, secluded, private pool behind the building, balconies in front and back so you can enjoy the outdoor weather when relaxing. The main drawbacks are (1) the kitchen utensils are inadequate if you like to cook any of your meals (2) the beds were not of the greatest quality (3) window a/c units annoying, (it can get hot in Key West, you need a/c much of the time.) One caveat about the window units; they do drown out the 24 hour Duval Street noise, which we could hear very well from our unit. (4) Very limited parking.
The staff was extremely friendly, responsive and helpful. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Call reservations well in advance of your trip. They stay pretty booked up. Stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrison9161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTownManor, Manager at Rose Lane Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

At Rose Lane Villas, we love guest reviews! They helps us to address the areas that need improvement and emphasize those where we do well.

We appreciate the negative and positive aspects of this review. We LOVE that this guest enjoyed themselves and are coming back. Once they fell into the Key West groove, they agreed our Villa Grande was a great find! These guests loved our location, spacious quarters and private balcony space, secluded pool and helpful staff. We're blushing!

As for being a "normal hotel," we agree, Rose Lane Villas is not the Marriott! It is a collection of 6 Villas that were renovated out of two homes built nearly 200 years ago. Each one is unique in layout and decor and has access to the shared pool and outdoor space in the backyard. We're tucked away on an alleyway downtown... the closest thing you can get to feeling like a local, without the high rent and with daily housekeeping services!

Thank you for the feedback regarding the kitchen supplies. When our current guests depart, we will be doing a full inventory and considering additions to make the kitchen more comfortable to prepare meals. We'll also inspect and test our beds to ensure all of our guests have relaxing stays. As for the parking, we generously offer one free parking space to each Villa. In downtown Key West, most guest houses and hotels charge $20+ per night per parking space.

Thanks again to these guests for posting their feedback. We are glad they enjoyed their stay in our three bedroom Villa Grande at Rose Lane Villas and look forward to seeing them again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunrise Suites Resort
Sunrise Suites Resort
#2 of 22 in Key West
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
0.5 mi away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Lane Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Lane Villas

Address: 522 Rose Ln # 524, Key West, FL 33040-6810
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range: $301 - $893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet lane in the heart of Old Town Key West, Rose Lane Villas is easy to find but difficult to leave. Here at the Villas, you have the best of both worlds - idyllic haven located just steps from the din of Duval. It's as close to the action as you'll get without sacrificing a good night's sleep. Our 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Villas are generously equipped for your island getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rose Lane Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Lane Villas Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing