We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpowering urine smell in Room 24”
Review of Rose Lane Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose Lane Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2008

We stayed in Suite 24 --3 bedrooms- 2 bathrooms. The urine smell was overpowering. We complained and the maids came twice to scrub the bathroom upstairs and to add bleach as well, however the urine smell must have been deep in the tile or carpet and would not go away. The front desk told us on various occasions that it must be the water, or the airconditioner and suggested we turn the air conditioner off. The smell persisted all weekend even though we had a fan blowing and window open the whole time. There was no offer of a discount for the inconvenience of the smell or an offer to change rooms. It's true the villas are very centrally located but the smell made it awful for all 3 of us.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank IllinoisTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTownManor, General Manager at Rose Lane Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2008

We are always disappointed to learn of a guest's bad experience, and are always open to criticism. One of the easiest ways to improve is to listen and act on customer suggestions.

It is unfortunate that the 3 guests traveling together wrote 3 separate reviews to report one problem. It is even more unfortunate that that their claims are totally false.

It is true that they reported a foul odor, allegedly urine, and we immediately inspected and scrubbed the unit -- top to bottom -- despite the fact that we did not smell any foul odor ourselves.

We did not detect a urine smell, but there was an unusual smell that was not offensive. We suggested that it came from the Air Conditioner. It was definitely NOT urine. Despite our multiple deep cleaning attempts, we were not able to satisfy our guests.

Upon retrospect, we should have given these guests a refund upon report of the problem. However, because we did not detect any foul odor, we assumed the guest would have been able to enjoy everything the property has to offer.

Miraculously, the smell was gone when the guests checked out and we have had no negative reports from other guests since then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 225 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2008

The first thing you see at Rose Lane is the cleanliness. I've stayed in Key West numerous times and never had such a clean unit. Even though it's a "greenwise" villa, the maid was extremely accommodating. Then there's LOCATIONJ LOCATION AND LOCATION!
This is the happening end of Duval Street - close to Mallory Square, great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindatuttle3937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2007

There's nothing bad about the villas on Rose Lane...a historic property...beautiful gardens, pool, intimate and in the middle of everything! 1 Block off Duval...literally down the alley and you're standing on Duval St. in the heart of it all...2 blocks to Sloppy Joes, 1 block to Margaritaville...3 blocks from Mallory Sq. & Sunset Festival...nestled behind Hard Rock Cafe...you won't regret staying here. Comfy beds, clean, well maintained. Great for small groups...the staff was great! The organic breakfast at Old Town Manor was a real treat! We won't stay anywhere else when we go to KW! What a treasure!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank colormecanvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

You'd never know that Rose Lane Villas is half a block from Duval Street. It's amazingly quiet and tranquil. Gorgeous little courtyard with a great pool, nicely decorated suites, functional and well-equipped kitchenettes -- it had everything we needed, and the location can't be beat. Breakfast is available at Old Town Manor, a two-minute walk away, and it's delicious. The owners really know what they're doing! I was impressed with their meticulous attention to detail. It's charming little property. Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_saurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

I've now enjoyed two visits to the Rose Lane Villas and can't imagine staying anywhere else in Key West. The rooms and overall setting are incredibly tasteful, comfortable, and very private. It's amazing to be one block away from all the action of Duval St. and the busy downtown area and be able to retreat to the quiet and peaceful surroundings of the Villas. The presence of a pool with plenty of room to stretch out and relax is a huge benefit compared to other properties within the city. The daily breakfast offered at the Old Town Manor is super tasty, healthy and enjoyed in a beautiful outdoor courtyard. Best of all, the hosts, Runi and Walter are great fun and really go out of their way to make sure you have everything necessary to have a really fun and relaxing visit. This place is a class act.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank arfBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

I've had the pleasure of staying at Old Town Manor and Rose Lane Villas. Rose Lane gave me the privacy and quiet atmosphere I much needed. The accommodations were spacious and modern but with a rustic charm, the kind you would find at a beach house. Sadly Key West doesn't have a beach, but thankfully Rose Lane has a pool.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank TJLoveNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

We booked Rose Lane Villas through their website, which has great pictures of the rooms and pool area. We were not disappointed!

The pool was much larger than we had expected, and very private. The pool area was not visible at all from anywhere outside the 2 building complex, and access to the property is gated and each room has a parking space!

The rooms were clean and well kept, the appliances were all clean and in good working order and the pool area was also very clean and well kept. We spent a good deal of time at the pool socializing with the other residents.

I highly recommend Rose Lane Villas if you are looking for a quiet stay close to all the action of lower Duval. The alley is between 2 of Key West's busiest bars (Hard Rock Cafe and Fat Tuesday's) but we never heard a sound from either place.

My only caveat is that because the property is on an alley, the dumpsters for the buildings were on the alley. Trash pickup is Monday morning at 5:30ish and the alley can be a little smelly, but it doesn't linger. While this issue would not prevent me from booking another stay here, it might be a dealbreaker for others. Forewarned is forearmed.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gypsy3n8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,724 reviews
3.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,808 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 51 in Key West
973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Town Manor
Old Town Manor
#14 of 77 in Key West
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Lane Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Lane Villas

Address: 522 Rose Ln # 524, Key West, FL 33040-6810
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range: $279 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet lane in the heart of Old Town Key West, Rose Lane Villas is easy to find but difficult to leave. Here at the Villas, you have the best of both worlds - idyllic haven located just steps from the din of Duval. It's as close to the action as you'll get without sacrificing a good night's sleep. Our 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Villas are generously equipped for your island getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rose Lane Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Lane Villas Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing