We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting”

Nancy Forrester's Secret Garden
Ranked #46 of 174 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: OPEN RAIN OR SHINE Come have fun with talking, laughing and dancing parrots. Artist and environmental activist Nancy Forrester has been rescuing abused and orphaned parrots for 28 years. Join her at 10 to 11 AM daily for Nancy's special presentation "Parrot 101" or "Storytelling" where guests can take pictures of un-caged birds, hold them and ask questions. We gladly welcome families with children and animal lovers to the Secret Garden to interact with our endangered South & Central American macaws and other parrots. Open 10 to 3 daily. Guided 10 to 11, Self-guided 11 to 3 PM. Educational material for each parrot is offered. Help inspire the birds by spending time with them. Bring a picnic lunch, play musical instruments, paint, write, sing, and dance. Parrots love music and videos played on smart devices! Well behaved dogs welcome. Please, leave your parrots at home! Thank you
ChattyCathyVA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

you do good work. If you clean-up the place, I think you could attract so many more visitors (and make more $).

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChattyCathyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    66
    23
    17
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Scenic Detour”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Nice little detour off the beaten path. Lots of interesting plant life and some friendly birds at the end. If its on your way to your destination definitely check it out but not a make or break destination for Key West.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

As bird people, it was great to get to see all the parrots and her lively garden. Nancy provided great information about all the birds, plants and how we can help save their habitat. A very interesting and informative visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

How to meet someone who lives in Key West. Get out of the mess Key West has become and enjoy the eccentricities of what it means to those who remember it. I do not understand the negative reviews. Obviously the garden is a bird garden if you do a little research. Just because one bird doesn't want to get on you - be grateful she recognizes that now is not the right time for that bird to sit on you. They are animals who do not respond to everyone and she reads them quite well. The only reason I did it give it five stars was it was a little long. We stayed an hour and half and stood. I felt impolite excusing myself because I in no way did not enjoy it I just got hot and needed to move a little. I think she does a great job at keeping true to Key West and providing a much needed service for these birds.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Nancy is very informative and has a collection of beautiful birds. We went at 10am for the presentation. Definitely go when she first opens because you will learn a lot about the birds and get a chance to hold one/feed one. She is kind enough to let tourists into her own backyard.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nancy Forrester's Secret Garden also viewed

 

Been to Nancy Forrester's Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing