We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind!”

Nancy Forrester's Secret Garden
Ranked #45 of 169 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: OPEN RAIN OR SHINE Come have fun with talking, laughing and dancing parrots. Artist and environmental activist Nancy Forrester has been rescuing abused and orphaned parrots for 28 years. Join her at 10 to 11 AM daily for Nancy's special presentation "Parrot 101" or "Storytelling" where guests can take pictures of un-caged birds, hold them and ask questions. We gladly welcome families with children and animal lovers to the Secret Garden to interact with our endangered South & Central American macaws and other parrots. Open 10 to 3 daily. Guided 10 to 11, Self-guided 11 to 3 PM. Educational material for each parrot is offered. Help inspire the birds by spending time with them. Bring a picnic lunch, play musical instruments, paint, write, sing, and dance. Parrots love music and videos played on smart devices! Well behaved dogs welcome. Please, leave your parrots at home! Thank you
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of a kind!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

don't pass this up. Nancy is so interesting and well informed. This is a really special and totally different experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    66
    22
    17
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
179 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful birds, knowledgeable hostess, relaxed conversation”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our family spent over an hour at this small sanctuary for exotic birds which have been abandoned by their owners or left homeless for some reason. We spent time talking to Nancy and learned a lot about the beautiful birds here. Peaches and Baby were definitely the stars of our visit. This is a small place so I don't think it would be the same with a big crowd. We numbered 5 and there were 3 others there and felt very comfortable. Don't expect a big garden, it is all about the birds. The ones who wanted to had a chance to hold Baby and Peaches, both lovely and very intelligent birds.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Come if you want to help the birds”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Nancy seems like a person who genuinely wants to help the planet and the birds she takes into her care. If you're interested in birds of the parrot family, you can see a number of different species and help out their rescue, but don't come if you're expecting professional, zoo-like exhibits or beautiful gardens. You should definitely come at 10:00 when you can hear directly from Nancy and probably get to hold a cockatoo. One note: we were asked to pay admission rather than make an optional donation, so I'm not sure if this has changed, but I'm sure she can use the funds, with so many birds to care for.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank smithatnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Thing in Key West”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

There has been a huge influx of touristy things that have come to Key West lately, geared toward those with snap-happy cameras and big wallets. This, however, hasn't changed in decades. It is literally a lady caring for rescued parrots in her backyard. These are the most amazing birds, and the bond she has with them is ust unreal. Out of my entire trip to Key West, despite it being in a little secluded neighborhood, it was the most interesting thing I had done. Hands down.
Get there at 10 so you can see her presentation, when she interacts with the birds, you just see how much their behavior resembles that of humans, and the birds will interact with you! Despite it looking like a sketchy little shack, it houses the most amazing experience in Key West.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“This is not a garden, it is a bird sanctuary”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

It is important to set expectations. This is a wonderful women who is taking care of large birds. Don't come looking for a garden. Rather, bring the kids and experience a collection of large birds. There are some beautiful Macaws, Cockatoos, and other colorful birds. This is not a zoo, or a petting zoo, but rather a bird rescue. With that in mind you will find it interesting to see the birds and read their stories. In some cases you might be able to hold a bird. The donation is that - and don't look at it as an entrance fee.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nancy Forrester's Secret Garden also viewed

 

Been to Nancy Forrester's Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing