We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“See the gold up close!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel Fisher Maritime Heritage Museum

Mel Fisher Maritime Heritage Museum
Book In Advance
$15*
and up
Mel Fisher Maritime Museum Admission
Ranked #19 of 161 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a fully accredited museum in the Florida Keys. Come discover a museum rich in history! We have amazing treasure in our 1622 Fleet exhibit of the Spanish galleons discovered by Mel Fisher and his crew. Also thought provoking Spirits of the Passage and Key West African Cemetery exhibits to glean insights into the transatlantic slave trade and Key West's unique role in it. And don't miss our three new exhibits -- Spanish Coins in the New World, the Real Pirates of the Caribbean, and the Science of Shipwrecks. You can even take a lab tour to see how history is revealed through excavation and conservation of shipwrecks. Make plans to visit. We're open seven days a week, 365 days a year!
Mooreville, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“See the gold up close!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Sure, we may have seen it on television documentaries or in the National Geographic, but here you can get a really close look. If you are in a tax bracket way above mine, you may even buy a piece of history to take home with!!!
If you just enjoy learning about history, you know, explorers, the slave trade and such, this place is well worth a bit of your time! Way cool!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    355
    134
    45
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England - USA
Level Contributor
342 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Fascinating History, Both Well-Known and Little-Known”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This museum had a fascinating exhibit about Henry Flagler on the day I visited. Flagler was the man who built the famous Florida railroad that ran all the way down Florida's east coast to Miami and then continued to Key West. Through movies, narration, artifacts, photos, sound effects, models, etc. the entire story was presented. It was marvelous and I was spellbound. What an outstanding feat of engineering Flagler accomplished. I had never heard of Henry Flagler, and that's a shame because of his incredible work. I wish the whole United States could relearn what he did for the state of Florida. He was Rockefeller's business partner, but he is little-known to the general public today. I had never heard his name until I visited this museum and saw this exhibit. Wow. I intend to read more about him. There was also an interesting exhibit about the well-known sinking of the naval ship Maine, a mystery which remains unsolved to this day, and some paintings and other media by various local artists. My husband and I spent several hours in this museum and really liked it. The exhibits on the day we visited were definitely for adults. There were only two children inside, and they were bored. That's okay; museum exhibits don't always have to cater to children. Parents should check at the sales counter to be sure the exhibit is something a child would be interested in before they bring them inside. But my husband and I found it fascinating. Please catch this piece of Florida history before the Flagler exhibit is over.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KayTee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Amazing Museum. Loved seeing at all the artifacts especially the Emerald Cross. Would highly recommend to Families.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ctoppino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“only if you're desperate for a museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Perhaps this compares favorably to other Key West museums, but as museums go it's not really very interesting and certainly not worth the price of admission. The Harry Potter section in particular is only worthwhile in that it sparks the discussion "What the heck were they thinking putting this in here?" We were in and out in about an hour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tuckova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springboro, oh
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“not as represented”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The museum was darkly lit and much of the information was hard to read. We expected to see more of the loot from the wreck but were disappointed. There was no video introduction or synopsis before starting the tour. When we approached the lady at the information desk she told us the exhibit of the slavery ship wreck was a major part of the experience. It turned out that the largest most interesting part of that exhibit was currently on tour and we did not get to view the remains of the ship and other artifacts. It was not worth the time or the money we spent. I would not recommend this attraction to anyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank buckimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel Fisher Maritime Heritage Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mel Fisher Maritime Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing