We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Beautiful hotel Large rooms with free car parking. Nice pool area free towels and soft drinks during the day. At one end of Duval street near the southern most point in America
The drive from Miami South Beach was over 5 hours as so many miles are driven at the 45 mph speed limit. There is little view on the drive south or north, so stay 2 nights in Key west. Try eating at Hard Rock

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourstaronly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for Santa Maria Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,536 - 1,542 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2009

Amazing attention to details and the staff is motivated to maintain it pole position. The property and rooms were immaculately clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCUBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Our love of Santa Maria Suites (SMS) started before we ever arrived...Lindsay went shopping for us so we would have breakfast items and cocktail hour snacks during our stay. I just emailed our shopping list to her and the items were waiting for us when we arrived on Thursday evening - how wonderful is that? We were only charged a service fee of 10% of the grocery total...a fantastic bargain and a value-added service to be sure!

We were blown away by the quality of the two-bedroom, pool view suite and immediately made it our home. Our balcony was a great place to unwind with a glass of wine and watch the breeze in the palms. The king beds were comfortable, the linens soft and the bath towels outstanding. The kitchen had high-end appliances and was well-stocked with all the accessories necessary. One tiny little downside is that in comparison to the other appliances the tiny four-cup Cuisinart coffee maker didn't make much sense BUT Wolfgang made sure we got another one so we could at least make two pots at a time (there were four of us - all big morning coffee drinkers.)

We also took advantage of the in-suite washer and dryer to give our swimsuits a cold water rinse and dry after a day of parasailing, snorkeling and kayaking...all arranged for us by Lindsay! Because each of us had carry-on bags we didn't have sunscreen for our day in the sun, but no worries, Stephanie by the pool made sure we had plenty of 50 spf sun protection before we left!

Nightly turndown service includes Dove ice cream treats, chocolates on the pillow and fresh muffins for the next morning...see what I mean? The list just goes on and on with amazing guest services!

Thanks SMS for making our annual girlfriends trip an amazing experience...we'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onthelam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Where to begin! From the moment you walk into this hotel, you know you're a very welcomed guest. Check in was very smooth, and they even give you a little card with a poetic welcome - very cute detail! We rented two 2-bedroom pool-view suites, and the proximity to the pool made us spend more time at the hotel than the actual streets - and we were there for Fantasy Fest! They have free poolside smoothies and water, and the suites were absolutely AMAZING - we made good use of everything in them: the washer and dryer, wine cooler, refrigerator and freezer, TV, stove and oven, microwave, dishwasher, and even kitchen utensils! We had brought our own food and drinks, so all this made it very convenient for our large group. I do have to extend a BIG thanks to the hotel manager, because even though it was only 12 of us staying between both suites, we attracted many other friends to our hotel, and he never gave us a hard time about it - instead, he was very attentive and involved, but without it feeling intruding! They are also very organized when it comes to cleaning - they have a cleaning "team", so it's about four people at a time that come clean up your suite! Bedrooms were very comfortable and spacious, and having two sinks and two shower heads in the master bedroom was an absolute plus! Parking was free the entire weekend, as they do have a lot right by the hotel. The location was just perfect - less than a block away from Duval, and within walking distance to all the restaurants and bars... You WILL love this hotel, because you will find yourself wanting to spend more time enjoying it than you've probably ever have at any other hotel you've stayed in! Definitely booking again next year!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgraterole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Everything about the Santa Maria Suites in Key West is impressive. One block north of Duval Street, its location is walking distance from the majority of attractions in the city. The exterior and interior of the buildings is sleek and stylish - it had a sophisticated South Beach appearance mixed with the comfortable feel people expect when traveling in the Keys. Our particular unit had 2 bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths w/ three balconies, a kitchen and a living room. One of the most refreshing apects of the Santa Maria Suites was never feeling as though I was being 'nickle and dimed'; there was no additional charge for parking, the turn down service included complimentary ice cream, muffins and bottled water in the refrigerator and chocolate on the pillows. There were also 'extras' given out around the pool - a steel drum band, wine, and appetizers. The staff was helpful and welcoming so we felt at ease upon arrival and throughout the duration of our stay. At a time when many businesses are cutting back at the expense of consumers, it was wonderful to be pampered.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaGirl073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

If you are seeking a first class suite for two couples, don't look any further than Santa Maria. We were spoiled royally by poolside concierge with iced towels, fruit smoothies, sunscreen (no extra charges); the great sushi restaurant on site, Ambroisa (very convenient for finiky eaters); the extremely cordial front desk staff who greeted us each and every time we passed, and who patiently answered all our questions, since this was our first trip to Key West. The room was very chic with back-lighted milk glass in the kitchen area. Granite countertops, refridgerated and freezer drawers including endless ice cubes. Three large wall mounted flat screen TVs. Our marble tiled bath included two rainfall shower heads and double basins. Everywhere we went, we were told Santa Maria is the best place to stay in Key West and we agree!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrettyPickyPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Cons - Dirty carpet, blood stained sofa pillows, no internet access in buildings 18-21, too many stairs if you stay in the villa (walk up stairs to the front door and walk up stairs once inside to get to bedrooms), no turn down service and ice cream the second night we were there, showerheads were way too high (unable to reach them) the shower heads in the ground floor rooms hang from the ceiling and not the side of the wall like in most homes. The water literally drizzles down on you without any pressure. I don't think it was worth the price, $299 a night.

Pros - Management was very nice and accomodated us. The first floor rooms are huge and spacious with king size beds. The rooms have a full size kitchen complete with pots, pans and utensils. Smoothies were delicious!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watchmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $323 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing