We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2009

we had a wondeful time in key west. the appartment was awesome. beautiful, quiet , clean, high standard. would be nice with some friend and with kids.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
Thank sansik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,620 - 1,626 of 1,891 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2009

The main reason for choosing this resort was the ranking on Tripadvisor, including the many positive reviews from former guests. And at a first glance the resort seemed to meet our expectations. The physical surroundings were very good with great rooms, a nice pool area, plenty of parking, nice and quiet location etc.

Hovever we soon discovered that this was not the entire picture. Especially housekeeping was poor. In fact, during our stay it did not seem that our room was washed properly one single day. Also we did not receive any new towels, nor did we get sufficient toiletries. We had to call for this at the front desk every day. Our room had two balconies. Only one had chairs. We know for a fact that there should have been 2 chairs and a table on the balcony. The free internet access did not work inside the suite, only at the balcony and the pool area.
One of the light bulbs over the sink in the bathroom was not in order upon arrival. We had to report this three times before it was taken care of. Surely one has to expect more of a resort of this standard and price range.

Although Santa Maria Suites has a great location and offers delicate and spacious suites, the property should be careful and not rest on old merits and Trip Advisor laurels.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PusurOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Booked as Late room deal and were originally offered smallish suite with Queen bed on 1st floor - quickly moved to Suite no 1 which was on the ground floor and was much more upmarket, trendy and spacious.
Loved the kitchen / lounge facilities.
Quieter end of Key West. Rented cycles took us quickly wre we needed to go.
Definitely a gem!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANGELA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We have stayed here before and we LOVE IT! The staff is so friendly... we end up chatting with them all the time and they get us extra water and toiletries when we need them. Cleaning staff isn't always on time, but they get there and do a great job! We got the villa this time instead of the flat. I think next time we will get the flat again because the rooms are bigger even though both masters don't have bathrooms. The kitchen is large and fully equipped... there is plenty of room for extra drinks and frozen food. We went by the pool and got our slushies on Saturday which are awesome. So overall this place rocks and it's right by Duval... not too far from Mallory Square (but take a cab). This is definitely the place you want to stay when you're in town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

my husband and i stayed at the santa maria suites. we fell in love with the place. the place is more like a very modern condo. we were blown away with the architecture. very modern and detailed architecture. you can tell that the space was very well designed. very clean. our two story suite included two bedrooms, two full baths, one half bath, full kitchen with appliances, laundry closet with washer and dryer, mini living room, three large screen televisions and two balconies. it was great. they also provide complimentary chocolates, mini ice cream bars, bottled water and smoothies. it is also located in a pretty good location. very close to duval street (where the bars, restaurants, shops are located). there is a bike/moped shop right across the street. wolfgang, at the front desk, was very helpful and very friendly! very nice guy and was able to answer any and all questions we had about the area. my hubby and i both agreed that santa maria is the best hotel we've ever stayed at in a very long time. thank you santa maria suites for a great key west experience! we hope to visit very soon again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washingtondc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

This was the best hotel we have stayed at in a very long time. We were in Key West for our first visit and had stayed the night before at the Reach Resort, right next door, and were really disappointed with that property (small room, surly staff, overheated pool, muddy beach). We had seen the Trip Advisor reviews for Santa Maria and came in to take a look. It was even better than the reviews had described. Our two-bedroom, BEAUTIFUL, luxuriously appointed apartment was available at the same rate as our simple room at the Reach next door. We could not believe the difference. Tatiana at the Front Desk was amazing -- she helped us with all restaurant arrangements, provided free smoothies for our kids, and made us feel completely at home. The rest of the staff were also wonderful. We can't recommend this place enough!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank Traveler1024_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This hotel is worth every penny. The apartment is beautiful and the kitchen nicer than mine at home! The kids loved the fruit smoothies and ice lollys that the lovely lady by the pool brings to you. Although we struggled in Key West to find child friendly bars the hotel made up for the lack of evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floyd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,214 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#9 of 51 in Key West
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,842 reviews
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $448 - $902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing