We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoothies, muffins, and ice cream galore!!”
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
“Smoothies, muffins, and ice cream galore!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Accommodations, service, location and staff are all exceptional. Our room was consistently kept and cleaned, it is one of the cleanest hotels that our family has ever stayed in. Nardi and dusty are super friendly and knowledgable, definitely speak to them before you plan any trips they will point you in the best direction. This is our 3rd time staying here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Also thank you for the kind words about Nordi and Dusti.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,468
    199
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
695
516
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crosswicks, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Given the influx of people to Key West Memorial Day weekend, the serenity we experienced at Santa Maria suites was a suprise and delight. We had a one bedroom, one and half bath, two floor unit - room enough for 3 or 4 with the sofa bed. For those who may have trouble with stairs, be sure to ask for a ground floor unit. We were a little concerned about the level of noise coming from the courtyard pool; however, once we entered our unit, we were pleasantly suprised at how quiet it was.

As others have pointed out, the staff is wonderful. Everyone was always willing to answer questions or recommend things to do or places to go.

Kitchen is very well stocked. It was also very nice to have a washer and dryer after spending a week in Florida.

The exercise room is tiny. Although, you would probably prefer getting your workout in by walking on the beach or biking down Duval.

My only "complaint" would be that one day housekeeping didn't come until well after 5:00PM. This was a little odd. However, how can you be upset with anyone who brings you muffins and ice cream!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson071004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I apologize for the housekeeping service late in the day. Our staff works from 9am to 6pm...seems like guests get up late in Key West...vacation time! The Dove ice cream is my favorite.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I visited the Santa Maria Suites on a recent trip to the Keys for my bachelorette. While the suites are beautiful with nice touches like the fresh muffins, waters and free near by beach access the service was not great. We had to keep asking for enough towels to be left at our room continuously, the cleaning staff was rude to us when we did ask for certain ammenities and some of the concierges didn't even greet us back in return when we were walking through the main lobby! One of the concierge men even told us to to be quiet when we were returning late one night from dinner, while they let some neighbors of ours blast their music throughout the evening. I don't understand how you can single our your guests in that sort of a manner. Overall, I feel that this place has great potential, but it's not at the four star level for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Syhria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice bachelorette celebration in Key West.

I'm sorry the staff did not respond better to you and your group. I will share you comments with the staff. Please contact me directly when you come again to Key West. Hopefully for your 1 ear anniversary.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Located at the south end of the island, the resort is a delight location to stroll to and from all the sights and sounds of Duval Street without being surrounded by it AND still have access to a close beach area. (In addition, Santa Maria has arranged for guests to get chairs, umbrellas, and towels at the beach).

The european-styled, two-floor, 2-bedroom apartment suite was a perfect find for our family that includes 2 college-age boys. One slept in the 2nd bedroom, one slept on the pullout couch downstairs. Bathrooms were very clean and there were plenty of towels. Housekeeping included turn-down service (which included replenishment of mini-Dove bars and fresh muffins in the kitchen and chocolates on our beds. YUM!!!) The kitchen was full and fully-fitted out with breakfast bar, oven, stove, dishwasher, drawer-style fridge and freezers, wine fridge, toaster, coffee maker, and all the pots, pans, glassware, and cooking items needed for any meal - including dish and dishwasher soap, still-wrapped-new sponges, even paper and cloth towels.
The rooms in the rest of the unit he rooms were sleek, included tons of closets, a stacked washer and dryer set with several laundry soap boxes. Two and half bathrooms and 3 balconies (one - not so useful) made this place instantly comfortable and very-useable.

All of the units surround a central pool and social area that was very well maintained. The friendly, pool-side hosts tended bar, handed out free smoothies, waters, sun lotions, towels (for on or off site activities), and tended to the happy hour free wine and snacks.

The exercise room was small, but with Key West conditions a run along the water was preferred anyway. The Sushi restaurant looked good, but we choose more local flavors at off-site restaurants.

Without trying to take anything away from any of the other friendly and attentive staff (house-keepers, pool attendants, to front desk personal) Nordi, one of the front desk folks, took excellent care of us. He knew which outfits ran which activities and could recommend good fits for our needs and schedule. He orchestrated the reservations for us and arranged for rides. While I can't say that he did anything extraordinary, what he did was provide us with extraordinary, attentive, and wonderfully friendly service. While the whole staff and property created a wonderful visit, Nordi was the icing on the cake for us.

Getting this 2-bedroom unit was cheaper than renting two separate hotel rooms. Having the kitchen, washer/ dryer, and pool-side amenities saved us even more money. More importantly, though, the overall unit provided the perfect amount of individual chill-time and family togetherness.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebTevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The rooms were very nice. Modern decor but functional. Several nice touches, leaving fresh baked muffins in the room in the evening, Dove candy along with bottled water. The afternoon Happy Hour was a big success with our crowd. Wonderful location, several good restaurants within walking distance. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nunder2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Sounds like you had a great Birthday trip.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Two couples were looking for a nice place to celebrate a 40th birthday and found a great place one block off of Duvall Street on the south side of the island. The hotel was located in a perfect spot with easy access to all the hot spots. The staff, service and rooms were top notch! If you are looking for a nice quiet place to relax during the day and hang out by the pool then this is the place to stay.

Rick from Cincinnati

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The rooms are great, the pool is secluded and nicely landscaped, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect as it is a short walk to a public beach, and a long walk to all the noise and nightlife. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby, but a walk to the far end of Duval street is very doable. Ample parking at the property if you feel you need a car. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Key West.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taxmanemc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing