We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This Hotel , is absolutely heavenly , the staff ,, excellent,,,,,Steve , Christina, Amber, ,,everyone there, is Friendly , Efficient ,knowledgeable ,,,you will not want to leave,,,quiet, beautiful landscape, the suite we were in was absolutely, gorgeous.kitchen, bedroom bathroom, all were modern, new , clean ..I cannot stress enough how beautiful this place is

it is the Hotel to be at in KEY WEST,,,,,

Room Tip: ANY ROOM is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablohcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I'm glad Christina and Amber took care of you so well while visiting with us....and thank you for my name in the review too...but really all of the staff which make it happen for our guests!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    175
    46
    15
    6
See reviews for
595
455
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We didn't have a reservation. Checked out a few on the TripAd list including the Ibis Hotel (not too impressive--located in the commercial district--booo!) Went on around the Southernmost area--much better with a cautionary notes--there is pretty much a brothel in the midst of shopping and dining--wouldn't recommend bringing children here. We checked several other options and chose the Santa Maria Suites. Glad we did--$100 less than the Southernmost Hotel next door and....it was Fabulous! 2 nice bedrooms with King beds--very comfy. Beautiful open kitchen/den--nice balcony overlooking the lovely tropical-tasteful pool area. Very up-to-date and upscale. Dusty at the reservations desk was great. She was the kind of person you want helping you when checking in.
From the Santa Maria it's just a short walk to the southernmost point for pictures. We only got to stay one night---too bad--this place is great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feltoneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I'm glad you saw the value of Santa Maria Suites...I think we are a great deal in Key West for a 2 bedroom suite. Dusti (and I) said thank you for your comments about her.

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here recently with a few friends I was vacationing with. From the moment we entered the courtyard we knew it was a special place. Our quarters were more like apartments than than hotel rooms. Very modern with everything including kitchen, washer dryers fridge and freezer. The staff was great and really went the extra mile. I loved that we had fresh muffins in our room every night when we got back in too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

FYI...our muffins are baked fresh daily by a local baker...Key West Cakes.

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great place, clean, all the staff were helpful in our needs, beautiful clean room, excellent location. The suite room that we stayed in had two huge bedrooms and two complete bathrooms, full equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Castroamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Housekeeping staff tried real hard to keep the suites and resort clean...thanks for noticing it.

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Santa Maria suites for Labor Day weekend. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We had two bedroom suite that made you feel like you were at home versus a hotel. We have stayed at many locations in key west and this is by far the nicest. Hotel Includes free parking, great pool, unlimited smoothies, water and lemonade, free sunscreen. Happy hour included free wine and the beers were only 2.50. You can't beat it!! The staff was great. If you are looking for a wild, crazy place in the heart of all action this is not the place. It is a little bit of a walk to get to all the craziness on duval street. We rented scooters for the weekend and was able to get wherever we needed. We would highly recommend Santa Maria Suites.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbmarquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Sounds like you had a great time...at the Santa Maria Suites and Key West! That's great!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed for a getaway weekend and took advantage of the Florida resident rate. Rooms were well appointed, very clean, and best of all very quiet. I woke up one morning to go for a walk and it wasn't until I opened the door that I realized it was storming outside. Never heard a thing.
Location is perfect as you are far a way from the Mallory Square insanity, and yet you can walk there if you so desire.
Pool side service is great. Water, smoothies, lemonade, all included. Cocktails are so cheap they are practically free.
Great place and worth a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Glad you enjoyed the cocktails pool side. Lowest prices in Key West is at our pool....only for our guests!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights . We got lots of freebies like ice cream and muffins. We stayed at the pool for a day and it was so nice because barely any people were there and it was clean. We also got free smoothies by the pool that tasted really nice! The rooms were really nice and each bedroom had an ensuite there was also a balcony that looked on to the pool. It is also very near too the beach and lots of places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bharat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating! Glad you enjoyed the "freebies".

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#3 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites

Property: Santa Maria Suites
Address: 1401 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Maria Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing