We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Lemont
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great family experience. The hotel and its amenities were terrific. Location of hotel is great and their staff is incredible, especially Nordi. Nordi made our stay in Key West a trip to remember with all the advice and help he gave us. He certainly is an asset to the hotel. We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Stay in the slightly bigger suites on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13MEG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for recognizing Nordi in your review…staff love to see their names on Trip Advisor.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,521
    206
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
733
527
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed recently at the resort for many days to relax and enjoy the quiet side of Key West. We have stayed at many properties in the area and thought it would be great to try this one since we had been by it many times.

Check in was fine as we were able to get in a bit early. We brought kitchen items with us as we knew the suites have a very large kitchen in it. Wow - great kitchen if you want to have space and actually use it which we did. While we never made any large meals, it was great to make breakfast, read the newspaper they deliver daily and sit on the patio and chill.

All the amenities you want are here for a "condo" sort of feel. Kitchen items, laundry, bedroom, safe for valuables and well laid out bathroom with two sinks.

Pool area is lovely. Pools are heated so there is no cold surprises here at all when you set into the pool. Small bar by pool has great prices for adult beverages - $3 for beer - what a deal in Key West, although brands are minimal. Like the wine happy hour from 4 - 5:30. We did get a glass every day for sitting on the patio and relaxing.

I would have given this resort another star but the housekeeping service was a bit iffy at times. First day they cleaned our room around 2 pm which was fine as we were at the pool. Later in the trip it kept getting later and we would leave the pool late in the afternoon 4 pm "ish" and room still had not been cleaned with fresh towels. One day we saw they were nearby and we came to the room and they rushed over to start but we were done at the pool and just took the fresh towels.
Also, one day the patio door was left open when they left. We knew we had not done it because we checked every day to ensure it was locked.

The housekeeping issue was certainly not a deal breaker as you are on vacation so - hey why worry about timeframes - but we just didn't want to have to sit and wait for service.

Otherwise we love the location, great rooms, and nice pool layout for a lazy, relaxing time in Key West. Easy to walk to Louie's Backyard for drinks and small plates, La Te Da is not far away. Mallory Square, while it is a 20 minute walk, is very do-able too.

Fitness center is not really a fitness center here but it was so easy to run in the park nearby that we didn't care. If it is raining and you want to work out inside, that could be difficult.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I've reviewed Housekeeping procedures with the manager and staff. Being in a destination resort city, guests come in early to check in so we clean arrival rooms first unless we have a scheduled cleaning. Next time you stay, please let us know what is a good time to clean your room and we will.

Our fitness room has a multi-weight machine, treadmill and elliptical with bottle waters, 46" flat screen TV and towels for your use.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Glad I read the reviews on Trip Advisor, all were true. This is great hotel in a very good location with some nice perks like getting muffins for next day breakfast, Happy hour with free smoothies by the pool, free beach access from the hotel next door and great service overall.
We stayed in a lovely 2 story suite for 4. Very nice first class kitchen & porch overlooking the pool.
The 2 bedrooms on the 2nd floor were a little on the small side and each had 1 bed (so our kids had to share a bed). Watch out for the wooden bed corners.
Why 4 stars. I really don't like 'resort fees' it is only $20 per night, but if it is mandatory why not simply add it to the room fee?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Many resorts in Key West have Resort Fees more than ours ... and many have Parking and WiFi Fees too.
We really provide lots of amenities so you don't get nickel and dimed to death and ours are pretty much unlimited. Bottled water, Dove Ice Creams, Smoothies, Fruit, Parking, Turndown, Muffins, Coffee, Newspapers, Beach Services, WiFi, etc....

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I spent two nights here in October 2012, and it was wonderful. Although its a bit far walking distance away from the action, the hotel couldn't be nicer. First, the apartment/townhouse was huge and the two bedrooms, living room, and kitchen were all nicely appointed. The pool area was well designed and the pool was so nice that we spent quite a bit of our time in the pool in the evenings. The free smoothies pool side are a nice little treat, and deliciously refreshing. It's the small details like this that cause the Santa Maria Suites to really stand out. As others mentioned, they put ice cream in the freezer as a treat, and provide muffins for breakfast. All of these little extras make guests feel valued and just make the stay feel more special. They serve a wine during happy hour poolside, and everyone who works there seems relaxed and helpful. The hotel is across the street from a little cafe/shop where you can get more hot food for breakfast if you desire. Overall, the Santa Maria Suites is my new favorite place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ackaiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Our guests are our favorite people in Key West!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Rooms are great! Laundry in the Room is a huge bonus! Complimentary smoothies poolside! Forgot your sunscreen? No worries, they have you covered. Complimentary access to beach at hotel next store. Staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Only negative keeping this from a five star rating is our room could have been cleaned more thoroughly before check-in. Nothing we couldn't remedy ourselves but had to mention.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

I've reviewed and will monitor our per-check in cleaning with the Housekeeping Manager and staff. Cleanliness is #1 along with Guest Service at the Santa Maria Suites.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our family of five spent the week following Easter at Santa Maria Suites. We loved the atmosphere...beautifully-landscaped central pool area around which all rooms are situated. The staff was consistently relaxed, friendly and professional. The little touches bridged the gap between being at home and on the road...complimentary breakfast muffins, Dove bites, and wine with hummus/chips (or alcohol-free smoothies) at happy hour (thank you, Jenya!) Nordi and Christie gave us spot-on recommendations on restaurants and excursions...always with a smile.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, or simply like to sleep in past 8am, use your sound machine apps because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for the kind words about Jenya, Nordi and Christie!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the SMS from 3/27 - 4/1, w/ our 2 kids, strictly based on the great reviews here. Our expectations were very much exceeded! We have visited KW a dozen or so times and have never stayed the same place twice...that will change. The SMS was beautiful - from the 2 story/2 1/2 bath/2 BR suite, to the 2 pools, to the gardens. Having a full kitchen was wonderful - it was fully stocked w/ everything we needed. The front desk staff was amazing - they booked several things for us - from scooter rentals, to trolley tours, taxis, a boat charter, etc. The service was impeccable. To top it off...a very small, but over the top detail...on Easter Sunday, the staff put out a huge amount of Easter eggs filled w/ treats for the kids, hidden all around the garden at the resort. What a nice touch! Highly, highly recommend the SMS.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyday85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

We had fun on Easter day putting out all the eggs...we are glad your children liked finding the eggs. We tried to hid the eggs without anyone seeing us but that did not work to well. FYI...The landscaper was happy on Monday too.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#14 of 51 in Key West
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing