We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, contemporary digs with great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our family of five spent the week following Easter at Santa Maria Suites. We loved the atmosphere...beautifully-landscaped central pool area around which all rooms are situated. The staff was consistently relaxed, friendly and professional. The little touches bridged the gap between being at home and on the road...complimentary breakfast muffins, Dove bites, and wine with hummus/chips (or alcohol-free smoothies) at happy hour (thank you, Jenya!) Nordi and Christie gave us spot-on recommendations on restaurants and excursions...always with a smile.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, or simply like to sleep in past 8am, use your sound machine apps because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for the kind words about Jenya, Nordi and Christie!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the SMS from 3/27 - 4/1, w/ our 2 kids, strictly based on the great reviews here. Our expectations were very much exceeded! We have visited KW a dozen or so times and have never stayed the same place twice...that will change. The SMS was beautiful - from the 2 story/2 1/2 bath/2 BR suite, to the 2 pools, to the gardens. Having a full kitchen was wonderful - it was fully stocked w/ everything we needed. The front desk staff was amazing - they booked several things for us - from scooter rentals, to trolley tours, taxis, a boat charter, etc. The service was impeccable. To top it off...a very small, but over the top detail...on Easter Sunday, the staff put out a huge amount of Easter eggs filled w/ treats for the kids, hidden all around the garden at the resort. What a nice touch! Highly, highly recommend the SMS.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnyday85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

We had fun on Easter day putting out all the eggs...we are glad your children liked finding the eggs. We tried to hid the eggs without anyone seeing us but that did not work to well. FYI...The landscaper was happy on Monday too.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Before Arriving in Key West on Vacation with my family, I was unsure of this hotel we were staying in. It wasn't some name brand chain or anything so I didn't know what to expect, but I never should have doubted the Santa Maria Suites. The room it self was one of the most modern hotel rooms I have stayed in. It was so luxurious, clean, and had everything you could have ever needed (I knew this was a good place when I saw the Bath & Body Works products in the bathrooms). It would be a great place to stay as a family, with friends, or as a couple, especially newly weds! The concierge was amazing and took care of booking all the activities for our vacation. They had an insider knowledge on what was really the best and most fun things to do in Key West. One great thing was them booking us on this sunset cruise that only about 15 people went on instead of the other sunset cruises that had about 70. Very romantic and my girlfriend loved it! Also, since there aren't very many rooms or guests at the Santa Maria Suites, even during spring break, the pool was never crowded. We loved just laying by it drinking our freshly made smoothy they provide for free by the pool, and occasionally jumping in. Definitely wouldn't mind staying here again.

Room Tip: The lower floor suites are very nice and the perfect location. You will want one right next to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseyScull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

The Santa Maria Suites had a world-wide designation brand called "Small Luxury Hotel of the World".

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Second time in Key West with family, Stayed here a week on the recommendation of a friend. Excellent location, close enough to everything but not in the middle of it. We rented bikes for the week - easily arranged by the hotel - no car needed to get around.

We had a 2BR/2BA suite, perfect size for us. Very clean and updated kitchen. They bring muffins, dove bars and chocolate every night - big hit with the kids. Nice pool, not too crowded if you want to hang at the hotel. Happy hour at the pool with wine/beer and smoothies.

Staff was very accommodating, they will go out of their way to arrange activities, very knowledgable on prices and quality of excursions, restaurants etc...only drawback is a tiny fitness center with almost no equipment. The staff gave me a heads up when i asked where it was, they sent me Island Gym on White St, an easy bike ride in the morning

Excellent value for families. We'll be back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

A week is a nice amount of time to stay in Key West and the Santa Maria Suites.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for a week, and despite the unusual and unseasonable weather during our stay, this hotel made our trip wonderful. I think I will have a hard time going back to a large hotel after this lovely experience. We had a lovely 2 br room on the ground floor, just steps away from the pool. The bedrooms were nice sized, and a big plus were the large closets. I hate when hotels don't have any storage place for your luggage and your clothes, so this was such a nice experience to be able to put everything away. The kitchen was very nice, and fully equipped (although I confess to not using more than the fridge and coffeemaker because I didn't feel like cooking). It was heavenly to have a washer and dryer - with three kids we kept those pretty busy. Of course, the kids were so excited about the dove bars and muffins. The smoothies and the happy hour was nice too, as well as free water bottles. The atmosphere is very laid back and generous - if you needed anything (like more detergent) they were always happy to provide. The size of this resort is cozy enough where you felt like you could really relax. Because the property is enclosed around the pool, it really shielded the pool from the windy days when we were there. We didn't have a problem getting chairs around the pool (no getting up at 6 am to reserve pool chairs which I absolutely DETEST) and the families that were staying there were all very well behaved and pleasant. I was concerned about a wild spring break crowd in Key West before we arrived, but was happy to see that the guests were mostly families. The location is unbeatable. We were able to walk almost everywhere. I felt that it was in the prettiest part of Key West. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank travelingfivefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

We don't allow anyone under 25 to register at the resort so very little Spring Breakers at the Santa Maria Suites...just a nice experience.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This gem if a resort is like a hidden jewel. Top notch accommodations, incredibly gracious and hospitable staff that readily go out of their way to ensure your comfort and bliss. Little extras make it boutique! Your home in Key West! This wonderful hotel is making Key West with 3 small children a dream!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinamarieDorfner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and 5 Rating. We really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

We are glad you and your family had a good time.

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a wonderful, quiet place on a very busy island! Away from the hustle of Duval Street, yet close enought to walk. The Santa Maria Suites is in the perfect location. The 2 BD/2Bth was perfect for our family. The full kitchen and the washer/dryer were a huge plus! ( there is a small market right across the street.) Not to mention the muffins and the ice cream delivered daily to your suite. The property itself is beautiful, but it is the staff that sends this place to the top of the list! Christie made us feel so at home and that we were her only concern that week. She planned each days activities and kept up with all the details so I did not have to! (which gave ME a vacation!) Christie and Nordi were planning before we even arrived to make sure our week (and our college-aged kids Spring Break)was the most enjoyable ever! Would stay there again and again. I wish all our employees were like those two! WOW! 5 stars X 10!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa-Lauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Santa Maria Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Santa Maria Suites Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Thank you for the kind words about Christie and Nordi!

The Santa Maria staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Suites Hotel

Address: 1401 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#2 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $391 - $908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the eclectic and sophisticated charm of Key West with out the hustle & bustle of a large hotel at the Santa Maria Suites Resort. Barely a block from Duval Street and the Atlantic Ocean, the Santa Maria is an elegantly refined all suites hotel designed for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Maria Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Key West
Santa Maria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing